Skip to content

Scintilla ’13: Horizons

March 19, 2013
The Scintilla ProjectToday’s prompt:
What have been the event horizons of your life – the moments from which there is no turning back?

My junior year English teacher shot down all my research project proposals. She said, “Renee, I really think you should do body image and the media.”

I did. I’ve been studying some form of it since then.

It was time to consider colleges. I spent countless hours on CollegeBoard.com thinking about the decision. Butler? Bradley? Washington? American? Roosevelt? DePaul?

I took a tour of Saint Mary’s. I applied early decision.

I needed a summer internship. Everyone else was getting one. I decided to see if the local Congressman took interns.

He did. He catapulted my career in politics.

I developed a crush on Joe. I told myself I wasn’t going to hold back. No more walls. No more games. He deserved more. All or nothing. He got all.

We’ve been married almost four years.

I hated my job. I hated my boss. I hated my coworkers. I wanted to be a teacher. I was told it would take me 6 years part-time to be a high school social studies teacher.

I decided to apply to a Masters program instead.

I got in.

And then I got into a Ph.D. program.

And here I am. A feminist. Saint Mary’s alum. Political junkie. Married. Professor in training.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 20, 2013 6:27 am

    I love the horizons you shared. What I really loved about this post specifically is how you structured the boundary between each horizon. It was 11/10.

  2. March 20, 2013 10:14 am

    Would it be amiss to fist pump this entire post? I fucking think not ♥

  3. March 20, 2013 1:59 pm

    I love this. Amazing.

  4. May 2, 2013 5:23 am

    My goodness, I love this! I don’t think my “horizons” are as clear to me as yours seem to be, even in retrospect. It’s amazing that you can pinpoint those defining moments so well – and what lovely, impressive things they have led to. :-)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

