Skip to content

Things I Can’t Stand, episode 2

December 13, 2007

Are you ready for another installment of Things I Can’t Stand? You realize I’m only doing this to procrastinate, right? It’s not like it’s finals week or anything.

Actually, this is more of a list of my BIGGEST FEARS, but since I can’t stand being scared, it counts double.

Things I Can’t Stand v2.0
4. Revolving doors. I’m convinced I’m going to get stuck in them. And then, this one time over fall break when The Beau Named Joe and I were traveling across the country, I got stuck in a revolving door at the train station in Chicago with my suitcase. He told me it looked like I thought I was going to die. That’s when I learned not to take a rolling suitcase through downtown Chicago. Or use revolving doors when there is a handicapped normal door option.

5. Cough syrup. OMG YUCK. The thought of that artificial cherry flavor coupled with the medicine-y nastiness is enough to make me gag! (Seriously, I just got the gross-chills thinking about it. I can almost taste it.) There are a lot of things I would rather put in my mouth than cough syrup (that’s what she said?). For the record, Alka-Seltzer Cold & Sinus is a good alternative to any syrup. Except maple syrup. By the way, how great is the Mr. Yuck image?

6. Broken glass. When I worked at the coffee shop, I broke a shot glass in the dishwater. When I reached in to see if it was actually broken, I sliced the shit out of my finger. I’ve stepped on broken glass, too. Basically, if you break glass in my presence, you’re cleaning it up and I’m avoiding the area for at least a week.

7. Tape worms. What the hell was God thinking?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Virginia permalink
    December 13, 2007 3:36 am

    I remember studying tape worms in high school. How the freak do they get inside a person?! I think this is knowledge I need to have, just in case, you know?

  2. Renee permalink
    December 13, 2007 3:47 am

    Totally, Virginia!!! I once heard that someone’s uncle got a tape worm because he chewed on his nails and it was underneath his nail… except I think this was just a ploy to get me to stop chewing my nails.

  3. ZenDenizen permalink
    December 13, 2007 11:47 pm

    Revolving doors and spiral staircases freak me out.

  4. Ashlie permalink
    December 14, 2007 2:43 am

    Tape worms? Yucky!

    I hate airport standby. Yick.

  5. andrea rose permalink
    December 14, 2007 3:54 am

    This is how I found out about tape worms: In my grade school reading workbooks, there would often be little stories, fiction and non, as exercises in reading comprehension and grammar understanding. And one of them in fourth grade was about tape worms and how they attach to your intestines and kill you. I’m still tramatized. Who writes that stuff??

  6. Renee permalink
    December 14, 2007 4:29 am

    zendenizen – Spiral staircases might go on my list, too…

    ashlie – I can imagine why airport standby would get on your nerves. It gets on mine, too, but I don’t spend that much time at airports!

    andrea rose – Why would they do such a thing to fourth graders?!!

Leave a Reply

