Skip to content

Would you rather?

December 14, 2007

I make timelines for myself but I never stick to them. Ever. Imagine my surprise when the clock hits 9:00pm and I’M AHEAD OF SCHEDULE. In terms of finals, I have two papers due Friday and an exam on Saturday morning. It’s Thursday night and I’ve written both papers. I know, you guys, I’m really impressed, too. But I’m still cooped up in the student government office for another hour (doin’ time, yo).
Thus, I shall regale you with a list of Things I’d Rather Be Doing Than Slacking Off in the Student Government Office.

I’d rather be on our paddle boat on our lake in the summer with a wine cooler and Jimmy Buffett tunes.

I’d rather be on my couch at home with my cat, my big fuzzy Korean blanket, and a never-ending cup of green tea, watching a Scrubs marathon.

I’d rather be drinking. Rum. Or wine. Or long islands. Or margaritas. Or expensive beer. Or anything, really. Just not cheap imitation dining hall orange juice anymore.

I’d rather be eating frutti di bosco gelato on my way to the Trevi Fountain in Rome. I’d even rather be fighting off the oh-so-persistent rose sellers at the Trevi.

I’d rather be in yoga class… specifically an aromatherapy yoga class.

I’d rather be in an airport with The Beau Named Joe traveling Anywhere That’s Not Here.

Instead I’m here, looking all bored n shit. See photo on right —>

[Mental Tangent]
I came down with this weird throat thing. I was sick from mid-October to Thanksgiving. Apparently, two weeks of good health is all my body can take. Now my body’s like, FUCK YOU, GERMAPHOBE! Yeah, I’m the girl who washes her hands compulsively if she even hears someone cough. Doesn’t work, I’m living proof. So yeah, my throat has hurt the past couple of days. I’ve had a cough, but today it doesn’t hurt so much… but my voice sounds all raspy and low and uneven and squeeky. My friends have asked, “Are you getting sick?” “No, I’m actually a 12 year old boy. SURPRISE!” Psh.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. brandy permalink
    December 14, 2007 6:57 am

    I love this!! Things I’d rather be doing… oh man. I foresee me stealing this idea from you. It’s always so much fun to think of all the great things I could be doing instead of what I actually AM doing. (And slightly depressing at the same time, no?)

  2. Jamie Lovely permalink
    December 14, 2007 2:19 pm

    I want to take a yoga class.

  3. ZenDenizen permalink
    December 14, 2007 4:15 pm

    I’ve had the sore throat from hell for about 8 weeks now, too.

  4. allie permalink
    December 14, 2007 10:21 pm

    Green tea + couch + Scrubs = heaven!

  5. Renee permalink
    December 14, 2007 10:23 pm

    brandy – steal away!! it definitely is a little depressing, but don’t let it get to you!

    jamie – sign up for one. you’ll love it.

    zendenizen – get better!! i sure hope mine doesn’t last 8 weeks…

  6. Renee permalink
    December 15, 2007 4:17 am

    allie – there’s truly nothing better, is there?

  7. Virginia permalink
    December 15, 2007 7:39 pm

    I love playing Would You Rather! It is so fun trying to decide between the two options, though in your case, there isn’t much to decide. I think anything is better than finals. I wonder if there is a way to turn Would You Rather into a drinking game?

    Hope you feel better! Or accept your life as a 12 year old boy. Whichever.

  8. andrea rose permalink
    December 17, 2007 2:55 am

    Ohh, Things I’d Rather Be Doing, I play this all the time! Kinda sad, but true.

    Our dining hall at school had cheap imitation orange juice too. I swore it was like Tang gone bad.

  9. The former Andrea Logan permalink
    December 17, 2007 10:00 pm

    My throat started hurting just reading that. At least you have snow bitch! I miss you!

Leave a Reply

