Skip to content

Barenaked for the Holidays

December 19, 2007

Before I mention anything else, I must urge you all to do something. If you have the chance to see the Transiberian Orchestra in concert, by all means, DO IT. I surprised The Beau Named Joe with concert tickets last night in Indy (he didn’t know what we were doing until we were halfway there… it’s a 3 hour drive). It was unbelievable. There are pyrotechnics and stuff and the violinist is out of control. And they said the narrator has the greatest voice ever, but I think the guy who does the Allstate commercials has the greatest voice ever (I want to fall asleep to a recording of him reading Robert Frost poems). Just go see them. Even the nose bleed seats are good.

Okay, onto the other stuff. I want to share my very humble and very accurate opinion about holiday tunes with you guys. Barenaked Ladies’ “Barenaked for the Holidays” is the best holiday music collection ever made. Don’t question this statement; it is 100% valid. Remember, these are the guys who brought you lyrics like, “I could hide out under there. I just made you say underwear.” and “Another postcard with chimpanzees and every one is addressed to me.” If you are like me and you get tired of the very sacred Christian-centric music and terrible, terrible pop ballads like that heinous “Christmas Shoes” song, this is a CD for you. If you’re not a Christmas-believer, don’t worry. There are a handful of Hanukkah songs on it… plus the “sacred” music is done in your typical Barenaked Ladies style. (Hint: “O, Holy Night” is an accordian solo.) In addition, there are cameos by Sarah McLachlan and Michael freaking Buble. How are you not excited yet? I’ll have to tell you more. There’s this one song, called “Footprints”, which is basically the cutest song ever. It’s about a guy following this girl’s footprints in the snow and to everyone else, it looks like they must have been walking hand-in-hand. And there’s your not-so-traditional Frosty song about unrequited snowman love. And “Happy birthday dear Jesus.”
Have you clicked “Purchase” yet???

Listen to me and take my opinion very seriously. I have amazing Christmas music credentials… I’ve performed every Christmas carol ever composed in my 13 year long choir career.
So seriously, do yourself a favor and buy it.

Other Barenaked Ladies songs to purchase with the iTunes giftcard you got in your stocking:
“Bank Job” (about robbing a bank full of nuns)
“The Old Apartment” (about breaking into the old apartment)
“Aluminum” (“Aluminum” to you, “al-min-i-um” for some)
“If I Had $1,000,000” (I’d buy you a fur coat, but not a real fur coat, that’s cruel)
“Alcohol” (I love you more than I did a week before I discovered alcohol)

One Comment leave one →
  1. une fille permalink
    December 20, 2007 12:14 am

    ooh i’m glad other people appreciate the barenaked ladies in all their glory! i always sing “green christmas” more than the other traditional songs…

Leave a Reply

