Skip to content

Neither here nor there

December 30, 2007

Hi folks, sorry I haven’t been in a mood to update lately. I got some not-so-surprising but still overwhelming news recently, leading to quite the flood of emotions. (No, no one died.) Anyways, I thought I’d throw together a few bullet points of my good thoughts!

* After Christmas sales are awesome. I just want to take a moment to brag about my $4 skirt… originally $45. I’d been eying it since springtime. It’s perfect “Senator’s Office” attire.
      o Also, I got Bath & Body’s Wallflower refills for $5 each
o And black patent leather peep-toe heels for $6

* Oh yeah, totally psyched to be working for a fantabulous Senator next semester. I’ve learned that district politics/Democrats are close-knit families.

* I’ve developed an unfortunate obsession with the Legally Blonde musical cast recording. It’s just so. fucking. cute.

* Three pages of my 20-page grad school creative writing sample complete!

* Shout out to The Beau Named Joe, simply for being absolutely wonderful all the damn time.

* Apparently, this apartment comes with free puppies. See pics.

* Quote of the Moment: “I’m looking forward to looking back on these days.” Me too, Mandy Moore.

* Things I’ve Found Under My Bed During the First Deep Clean in 10 Years:
       o $35
o a jean skirt I’ve been searching for 3+ years
o a Phantom of the Opera music box
o a telephone shaped like an orca whale
o a whoopie cushion
o World Book Encyclopedia, volume B (was I looking up “booze”, “boys”, or “beer”?)
o enough cat hair to stuff a quilt (yes, I found where they’ve been sleeping.)

I shall leave you all with a dose of adorable. Gaze, ye all, on my gorgeous goddaughter, Oasis.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. nicoleantoinette permalink
    December 30, 2007 3:48 pm

    I’m applying for MFA programs for Creative Writing right now too!

    Oh, and I admire the deep clean. There are nooks and corners of my apt. that haven’t been touched in, well, too long.

  2. Jamie permalink
    December 30, 2007 4:14 pm

    I want an apartment with free puppies!

    Seriously though? Isn’t it awesome finding money where you least expect it?!

  3. wishcake permalink
    December 30, 2007 4:22 pm

    First of all: That photo is adorable. Is her name really Oasis? Love love love.

    Second of all: I live for clearance sales. $4 skirt? Heck, yeah. 🙂

    Third of all: I appreciate your feedback on my last post. You’re a gem! I’m always eager to hear other opinions and learn from others’ experiences – I know I tend to live in a bubble, at times. I think my biggest beef with the article was all the cynicism and generalizations. I do understand that people can become single by default, though, not by choice. Perhaps I failed to mention that…meh…

    What a great place you are at in life – you have what it takes to create your OWN relationship. No matter what you’ve been through or seen. It’s so great that you have such a good catch in The Beau Named Joe. 🙂

  4. joe permalink
    December 30, 2007 6:43 pm

    Just as an FYI, she’s pretty damn wonderful herself!

  5. Maxie permalink
    December 31, 2007 1:47 am

    I want to find $35 in my room! Crazy!

  6. Renee permalink
    December 31, 2007 4:34 am

    nicoleantoinette- It’s a pain, isn’t it! Where are you applying?

    jamie- finding money may or may not be my motivation to continue cleaning

    wishcake- Yes her name is really Oasis which is perfect for her. And thanks for all your kind words!

    joe- you’re on crack.

    maxie- if you don’t clean under your bed for 10 years, you might acquire some loose change!

  7. Phil permalink
    December 31, 2007 4:19 pm

    You’re the first person outside of me (and my partner) who I’ve encountered who has even heard (and heard of) Legally Blonde the Musical. It does rule, I heartily agree. I’m itching to drop everything and go see it on Broadway, like, RIGHT NOW.

  8. ZenDenizen permalink
    January 2, 2008 4:20 pm

    Oasis looks a little like Shiloh.

Leave a Reply

