Skip to content

A Year in Review

January 3, 2008

Inspired by the ever-lovely Angela, I do believe it’s past time for me to do my 2007 review… complete with pictures of stuff.

January 2007
>>> I kicked off the year watching Anderson Cooper with my mom and drinking raspberry champagne. We smoked cigars, too.
>>> ND lost to LSU in the Sugar Bowl and The Beau Named Joe almost died in Nawlins.
>>> I decided to look into law schools.
>>> I began studying yoga.
>>> I had my last bottle of blackberry merlot ever.
>>> I began my semester-long battle with History & Criticism of Public Address and the prof’s multiple choice A-Z tests.

February 2007
>>> I directed, produced, and performed in the Third Annual SMC Monologues. It’s a charity performance of monologues, based on The Vagina Monologues, written by SMC women about being a SMC woman.
>>> I was subsequently interviewed in the ND/SMC paper twice: before and after the performances.
>>> I attend my first ND Band dance! The Beau Named Joe and I wore matching green Converses.
>>> My self-designed major in Women’s Studies FINALLY passed.
>>> Roadtrip to Chicago to see Josh Groban!

March 2007
>>> Spring Break! The SMC Women’s choir toured the south, with stops in St. Louis, Kansas City, Dallas, and San Antonio.
>>> I met my god daughter, Oasis!
>>> I taught San Antonians how to be truly Irish.
>>> I was appointed Women’s Issues Commissioner of the SMC Board of Governance for the following academic year.

April 2007
>>> I turned 21. Oh dear. Look out, world!
>>> Junior Mom’s Weekend! Mom and I enjoyed our weekend making fun of all the snotty mother-daughter pairs.
>>> TBNJoe and I made a weekend trip to New Buffalo, MI and had a lovely time.
>>> The roommie and I scored one of the 24 on-campus apartments for the next fall!
>>> I interviewed for internships at the Family & Children’s Center, Planned Parenthood, and our local Congressman. I was offered all three but took the one with the Congressman.
>>> I relived high school by reapplying to my high school job for the summer. Whatever, free frozen custard is a good perk!

May 2007
>>> I got an A in History & Criticism of Public Address, boosting my GPA to the highest its been ever.
>>> I was promoted from Residential Computer Consultant to ResNet manager- woo!
>>> I helped organize and implement a protest at Commencement against the choice of Commencement speaker Supreme Court Justice Samuel Alito.
>>> I began (and fell in love with!) being a congressional intern.
>>> I donated my hair to Locks of Love.
>>> TBNJoe was in town for the summer so we spent lots of time together, including a day trip to the Field Museum in Chicago!

June 2007
>>> More of the same- internship, Ritter’s, TBNJoe.

July 2007
>>> I attended the National Women’s Studies Association Conference in Chicago where I performed at a poetry slam, witnessed the perfection that is Sandra Cisneros, and met two of my girl crushes: the snarky Jessica Valenti and the brilliant Courtney Martin.
>>> I completed my internship with honors.
>>> My family and I attended our annual Jimmy Buffett concert in Indianapolis. It was my third time. The next day, we lounged around our lake with Mom’s Jello shots and Uncle Pat’s margaritas.
>>> I began studying for the LSAT.

August 2007
>>> Before returning to campus, I visited Minneapolis and fell in love with it. We shopped at the Mall of America and took a paddle boat around all 10,000 lakes. (Kidding, but that’s what it felt like.)
>>> I visited my #1 Law School: University of St. Thomas.
>>> In order to get to Minneapolis, I took my first ride on the El in Chicago. (It goes to the airports.) This also means I flew in an airplane by myself for the first time in the States.
>>> IT training began the week before classes started and it was an absolute nightmare. However, I became really close with my coworkers!
>>> I began a semester of New Media, Organizational Communication, Staging Terror, and Gender & Crime. I began my first semester in a dozen years where I wasn’t involved in a choir of some sort.

September 2007
>>> ND began a terrible, terrible season. And I spent $300 on season tickets.
>>> I discovered the South Bend bar scene.
>>> I took the LSAT. I celebrated the end of the LSAT.

October 2007

>>> Fall break was spent in Seattle and Tacoma with TBNJoe, visiting his sister and my aunt. It was the best fall break to date. And we saw Spamalot!
>>> I am, once again, printed complaining in The Observer.
>>> I organized the super successful Love Your Body Week on campus. It featured Ditch Your Diet Day, a visit by Courtney Martin, and a free belly dancing class.
>>> Hobnobbed with aforementioned author. Loved loved loved every minute.
>>> I kicked around the idea of NOT going to law school.
>>> TBNJoe and I dressed as Mathletes for Halloween and received rave reviews.

November 2007
>>> Thank God ND football season is over and ND hockey season begins!
>>> Oasis and her mommy (my best friend Andrea) made a visit to the area. They finally met TBNJoe. Oasis proceeds to spill my pumpkin spice latte down the front of me and I can’t help but smile. How could you be mad at that kid?
>>> I decide, once and for all, that law school is an awful idea right now. I promptly begin looking into Liberal Studies, Social Work, and Creative Writing programs. I settle on Creative Writing… for now.
>>> I began blogging!!!!

December 2007
>>> Christmas festivities galore- TBNJoe’s dorm’s party and dance, the ResNet Secret Santa exchange, my apartment decorated like Tinseltown…
>>> Tran-Siberian Orchestra in Indianapolis and Phantom of the Opera in Chicago
>>> My dad informed me he’s remarrying.
>>> I begin to work on my senior thesis.
>>> I begin to work on my writing sample for grad school!

So what’s the plan for 2008?
I’ll acquire a step-family???
I’ll graduate.
I’ll move away from South Bend.
I’ll get a job?
I’ll go to grad school?
I’ll take care of myself. Let’s put it this way: When you upgrade a Windows XP computer to Service Pack 2, you have to make sure the computer is 100% clean or else it’s just going to fuck up royally. Well, I’m looking to upgrade my life to Service Pack 2 in 2008. I need to get my shit together first or else I’m going to royally fuck something up.

I’ll figure something out.

Happy 2008 to you and yours.
8 Comments leave one →
  1. ~Angela~ permalink
    January 3, 2008 4:47 pm

    Happy to be inspirational. 🙂

  2. Jamie Lovely permalink
    January 3, 2008 5:57 pm

    Sounds like a fabulous year!

  3. joe permalink
    January 3, 2008 9:00 pm

    I have faith that you won’t fuck up anything. It’s going to be a great year!

  4. ZenDenizen permalink
    January 3, 2008 9:18 pm

    Fun re-cap, happy new year!

  5. Katelin permalink
    January 3, 2008 10:53 pm

    Wow you had quite the year. Hope 2008 is even better!

  6. Nate Ring permalink
    January 4, 2008 12:42 am

    soo….gonna show me that RSS feed trick…im still baffled.

  7. andrea rose permalink
    January 4, 2008 2:20 am

    Awesome year, great recap!

  8. Becky permalink
    January 6, 2008 11:52 pm

    Love all the pictures! Especially the one from the Backer and Carroll Christmas.

Leave a Reply

