Skip to content

What I think about during my lunch break

January 4, 2008

First. FIRST! I must tell you something URGENT. My Pandora radio station KNOWS ME TOO WELL. I think it’s SPYING on my iTunes on my OTHER computer. I created a station that started off with jazzy women (Norah Jones and the like), added some John Mayer, Ani DiFranco, and Jack Johnson… and all the sudden, IT’S PLAYING JOSH GROBAN INEXPLICABLY. If you don’t know me in real life, let me inform of you of something important: I freaking love Josh Groban like whoa. His voice is perfection. But I wasn’t going for perfect voices when I was concocting my new radio station. I wanted sassy, jazzy, acoustic stuff. (I named the station “SassyTunes” for heaven’s sake!) But I think Pandora sensed my huge crush on Josh. I can’t believe it. What a pleasant surprise. How did it know??
Shout out to Nate for exposing me to Pandora AND waking me up for work after having slept through my alarm this morning.

On the subject of sleeping through my alarm, I was running late for work. This means I didn’t have the chance to eat breakfast (and by “eat breakfast” you know I mean “get my tall-non-fat-no-whip-pumpkin-spice-latte”). A word from the wise, vending machine Dr. Pepper and animal crackers is NOT a good replacement for aforementioned latte. Not at all.

On the subject of espresso, I ended up getting my tall-non-fat-no-whip-pumpkin-spice-latte during my lunch break. (Mmm, deli salad and latte!) I walked out of the supermarket, smelling my espresso, smelling the damp pavement, smelling the pollution. That’s a triple threat odor combination that reminds me of that time I lived in the center of Rome. Ah, great memories. I’ll discuss more about my time in Rome at a later date. Expect an entry around Valentine’s Day. That’s when I reminisce about Rome the most. And not for romantic reasons.

On the subject of my lunch break, let me discuss bathroom stall etiquette and anomalies for a moment. The bathroom in this building has four regular stalls and one handicapped stall. I usually take the second stall out of habit. However, this week I’ve changed it up a bit and occupied the third stall. Widely-accepted Bathroom Etiquette states one should never occupy a stall next to another occupied stall if at all avoidable, right? Right. And it also states that an able-bodied person should never use the handicapped stall if at all avoidable, right? Right. Twice this week, an other has used the handicapped stall while I am in the third stall. Why not use the first stall? Riddle me that, readers. Discuss.

This will probably be my last post for awhile (unless I get a sudden urge tonight). I’m visiting The Beau Named Joe in Minnesota tomorrow! So excited!

Ah, Pandora also inferred my love of Cat Stevens:
“I’ve been crying lately, thinking about the world we live in. Why must we go on hating? Why can’t we live in bliss?” -“Peace Train”

[Edited to add: I take back all the good things I said about Pandora. It just played Jessica Fucking Simpson. Shoot me.]

8 Comments leave one →
  1. brandy permalink
    January 4, 2008 10:18 pm

    I used to be able to listen to Pandora, and now it won’t play in Canada. It’s almost enough to make me move to the States, but I do like my free health care. Also- Josh Groban? I adore. His Christmas CD was in heavy rotation at my house this holiday season.

  2. Katelin permalink
    January 4, 2008 10:27 pm

    I always resort to Pandora when I forget my ipod at home, love it.

  3. andrea rose permalink
    January 5, 2008 1:06 am

    I am definitely a big believer in the stall-in-between rule.

  4. Maxie permalink
    January 5, 2008 1:11 am

    I always use the first stall… no matter what. well i mean if it’s dirty I don’t use it, but even if someone is in the 2nd stall I use it.

  5. ~Angela~ permalink
    January 5, 2008 7:57 pm

    I just nominated both of us for a bunch of 20-something blogger awards. Why? Because I don’t read any of the other 20-something bloggers’ blogs.

  6. Maurey Pierce permalink
    January 7, 2008 8:42 pm

    Hi, and welcome to Minnesota! Let me know if I can provide any guidance.

  7. Virginia permalink
    January 8, 2008 12:53 am

    I am a sucker for Cat Stevens. I’m going to have to check out Pandora…apparently I have been living under a rock!

    Have fun with the boy!

  8. Ashlie permalink
    January 9, 2008 2:40 am

    I just started listening to Josh Groban last month with the infamous holiday cd. I have to agree- love!

Leave a Reply

