Skip to content

I never said I was normal

January 10, 2008

Reasons why I’m falling even more in love with Minnesota:
– Minnesota Science Museum
– German food/beer
– It’s not Indiana
– Flying to Minnesota means I get to read SkyMall
– Not feeling judged when I tuck my jeans in my boots
– Ridiculously liberal bumper stickers
– The Beau Named Joe and his lovely family
– The Beau Named Joe’s dad’s vast knowledge of dessert-concocting (TRIFLE.)
– Mall of America
— Ikea across the street from Mall of America
— Ikea.

You guys, I’ve never been to an Ikea before yesterday, but if a store can make me forget the phone call from my mother, informing me that my house in Indiana has flooded and nothing in the basement is salvageable, then THIS PLACE IS HEAVEN.

Seriously, I tried to find a picture of something I liked on their website, but it was just too much for me. I love it all. I must furnish my next living quarters with this trendy, cheap stuff.

The only thing Ikea does not have is my KitchenAid mixer. I have been known to mention that the only reason I’ll be getting married in the next 5 years is to get this mixer. How exciting must registering for your wedding or baby shower be? I know I’m going to be like one of those greedy kids in Charlie and the Chocolate Factory who just starts putting everything in sight on my registry… “Oh, I never knew I always wanted creme brulee torch! Look, they have it in robin’s egg blue!” Regardless, that freakin’ mixer is reason enough to get hitched… even if it’s someone you don’t really know who may or may not smell like parsley and has a subscription to AsianBrides.com… you’re getting an orange KitchenAid mixer, you crazy! Suck it up and start mixing!

The Beau Named Joe’s father taught us how to make his world famous pies. I’m going to become a pie-making FIEND. His mom bought us a joint Christmas present- Kissing in the Kitchen. This book is freakin’ cute, you guys. Buy it if you want to impress a date. Or if you want to become more domestic as a partnership. Or bank on receiving it as a gift from one of your mothers as an urge to learn to cook so someone can cater the Thanksgivings of years to come. Ah, dammit!

(hahaha I love texts like the one I just received: “CALL ME ASAP.” and I totally already know the gossip.)

Anyways, yes, I’ve returned safely from Minnesota. Classes start Monday (except mine was canceled). My house is, indeed, flooded. No heat, no hot water… lots of stuff ruined. But we’re in good spirits. Life is actually alright for now.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. joe permalink
    January 10, 2008 8:04 am

    So I couldn’t choose between the two comments that I wanted to leave for this post….

    1. I hope you’re not going to get married just for the KitchenAid….

    and

    2. SOMEONE THAT SMELLS LIKE PARSLEY IS GETTING MY KITCHENAID?!?!?!?!?

  2. Feminist Gal permalink
    January 10, 2008 2:17 pm

    i ❤ skymall 🙂

  3. Jamie Lovely permalink
    January 10, 2008 4:09 pm

    I’ve never been to an Ikea either. I’m not even gonna lie, and I apologize, I really don’t like Indiana. It’s just kind of there next to Illinois. haha, that doesn’t mean I don’t like those who reside there but, Indiana is just so blah. I can walk to the border from my house. 🙂

    Anway, I really wanted to say thanks for the comment you left on my last post. It’s nice to know someone is kind of dealing with what I’m kind of dealing with too. Feel free to email me if you ever need to talk or vent.

  4. ZenDenizen permalink
    January 10, 2008 4:13 pm

    What’s not to like about a state with a place called Minnehaha Falls?

  5. Katelin permalink
    January 10, 2008 7:52 pm

    IKEA is truly heaven in furnishing form. I literally just wrote about my love it yesterday…er two days ago. It’s amazing.

  6. Maxie permalink
    January 11, 2008 12:27 am

    Ikea is amazing!

  7. Gooseberried permalink
    January 11, 2008 9:55 pm

    FYI about Ikea…things fall apart really quickly. Everything is so cute and trendy. But it sucks when you move ONCE and everything breaks. Not so cute anymore.

    Heh.

    Sorry to be bitter. 🙂

  8. Traci Anne permalink
    January 12, 2008 12:59 am

    OMG. Boyfriend and I are equally in love with SkyMall and IKEA. Unfortunately, we have to take a bus to effing Jersey to get to paradise. Who knew?

  9. PrincessPolly permalink
    January 12, 2008 11:38 pm

    Ikea is incredible. I went to my local one a couple of months back and only spent seventeen pounds – and for that price I got two lamps (nice ones), a couple of boxes of bulbs, three big scented candles, two cushions and a fleecy throw! as well as a reusable carrier bag. I was pretty impressed with that!

Leave a Reply

