Skip to content

The email I sent my mom

January 14, 2008

Nay Says: Because I’m too frazzled to write anything in my blog. Here is my kick-in-the-pants beginning to my semester… and I didn’t even have class today!!
Note: For some reason, my registration got totally FUCKED this semester and I came to school only registered for 3 credit hours… and they threatened to kick me off campus because I’m not technically a full-time student. Kiss my ass.

Mom,
Since I probably won’t talk to you today (rehearsal til 10), let me tell you a little about my day.
I worked 11-1 and saw 6? computers. This means I was working on multiple computers at a time. I didn’t have time to check my 40+ emails that I’d acquired overnight. Welcome back!
I went straight to the Comm. secretary to straighten out my schedule. She could only sign me up for one class, because I have to fill out special forms with supervisors for my independent studies and internships. Fine. So I take the Add Class slip to the Registrar’s office to register. The Registrar told me I had a hold on my student account… because I’m a part-time student… so they couldn’t register me. Riddle me this: How is a part-time student supposed to become a full-time student when they can’t register for classes?!?!?!! Soooo I went to the director of student accounts and explained the situation. She took the hold off my account, but insisted the tuition be paid ASAP (FYI). I go back to the Registrar’s office to register… and they tell me I have to now enroll online before I can register. WHATEVER. So I head to the basement to find a computer. I enroll online, check my 2 zillion emails, set up an appointment with the supervisor of ONE independent study, and head back to the Registrar’s. I finally have 6 credits at this point. I then head to my prof’s office to fill out forms for my political comm. independent study. He and I decide that the class will officially be called “Women in Politics” and I’ll read two books, write a book report, then write an analysis of Hillary’s campaign. (awesome!) We fill out the necessary forms and I head back to the Registrar’s office, stopping first at the Comm. secretary’s office to let her know “I’m going to be a full-time student by the end of the day, come hell or high water!” The Registrar (those fuckers) tell me that I’ve been unenrolled from this independent study, so I explain to her, yes, I was, indeed, unenrolled, because you fuckers told me I had to fill out and submit this stupid learning contract before I could actually enroll in this class. No no, she insists, that is not so. Whatever, just put me in this class, lady!!! I finally knock some sense into her (who cares if I’ve been unenrolled, just enroll me!) and I’m currently sitting at 9 credits… four hours after I started this debacle.

I hate Mondays.
How was yours?

Nay Says: Also… last night I was cast as Kate McGowan in Titanic the musical opposite The Beau Named Joe. The director later sent me an email saying “We seriously didn’t intentionally cast you opposite your boyfriend, but funny how things work out.” Isn’t it, though?
Everyone drink for my first musical in 3 1/2 years!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Katelin permalink
    January 14, 2008 11:00 pm

    Oh man. I remember those days of registering. Hell. Pure hell. Hope the rest of your registering goes better.

  2. Jamie Lovely permalink
    January 14, 2008 11:15 pm

    Oh good lord. That is ridiculous.

    I’m currently at almost 2 hours into my 6 1/2 hour class. It is our 45 minute dinner break. I’m irritated and want to go to sleep.

    Blah. Boo Monday.

  3. theedeeter permalink
    January 15, 2008 3:12 am

    Stupid Registrar. I’ve never EVER had a nice experience with them here. That’s got to be a sign, hasn’t it?

  4. Susie permalink
    January 15, 2008 3:37 am

    I would get thoroughly stressed out every single time I had to register in grad school. It was NEVER easy!

    Glad you finally did it!

    Congrats on your musical and sooo cute it’s opposite your bf. Does he look like Leo??? 🙂

Leave a Reply

