Skip to content

What’s the beef?

January 16, 2008

If you would like to read what I had planned on writing about today, please see Andrea’s latest entry. She took all the words right out of my mouth. All of them. Spend some quality time ogling the MacBook Air. It’s delightful…except there’s no CD drive. I don’t know if I can trade my CD drive for a computer that’s 3/4″ thick. Conundrum.

So now let’s further discuss cloning animals solely for human consumption. How do YOU feel about this? I’m trying to sort out my feelings here. I’m not against stem cell research or cloning cells/organs for medicine. I’m not even against cloning animals for whatever scientific research is out there. But… to clone cows just so we can eat them? Firstly, this is denying cows their basic animalistic right to have sex. (Joke.) Seriously, though, the FDA has made the executive decision that meat and milk from cloned animals doesn’t have to be labeled as such. So we won’t even know if we’re drinking or eating this stuff. But… it’s just normal meat and milk, right? If you’re not vegan or vegetarian, this shouldn’t be a problem, right? What’s so wrong with it?

I am eating less and less meat with each passing day. I have a feeling becoming a pescetarian is not too far off for me. And if they start cloning fish? Well, folks, I’m just fucked.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. cassette45 permalink
    January 16, 2008 3:02 pm

    huh. wow. well, I’ve been trying out the whole vegetarian thing for the last 4ish months for a number of reasons. now I guess there’s just one more reason for me to stick with it.

    I’m not against cloning animals for medicine but really, don’t we have enough cows to go around? I don’t remember hearing about any shortages. I mean if you really want to use cloning effectively wouldn’t it be best to stick with the whole Medicinal Use Only? or maybe we could fix the problem of endangered species…?

  2. Traci Anne permalink
    January 16, 2008 4:39 pm

    Maybe they’ll stop cruel breeding practices if there’s cloning? I doubt it, because the factory farms will just want to make more money. Yet another reason why I’m a vegetarian 🙂

  3. Virginia permalink
    January 17, 2008 12:30 am

    Oh my gosh I WANT THAT COMPUTER!! But you’re right, no CD drive? What happens when the next operating system comes out, how do you download it? Perplexing.

    I’ve also thought a lot about giving up meat. I don’t eat much of it anyway, and the more I learn about the way they treat animals and all the chemicals and all that, I definitely think I might give it a try.

  4. andrea rose permalink
    January 17, 2008 4:25 am

    Sad fact? I was so blindsided by the MacBook Air’s awesomeness that I didn’t even realize that it doesn’t have a CD drive. This does possess a potential problem… hmmm.

Leave a Reply

