Skip to content

I swear I’m not full of myself.

January 21, 2008

So I have, like, lines to memorize and stuff. WHAT IS THAT ABOUT?!
Kidding. Sorta.

I never really explained the show I’m in. Seeing as I’m halfway through the production, I might take some time to do that. Notre Dame is trying a new program that encourages students to throw some sort of production together in two weeks. It’s actually pretty cool because this allows those of us with ridiculous schedules to participate. However, it’s also incredibly scary because it’s ONLY TWO WEEKS. So a week ago, I auditioned for Titanic the musical. It will be performed on Saturday. Yes, this Saturday. No, this is not the story of Jack and Rose. It actually tells the stories of a lot of the real passengers on the ship. I have been cast as Kate McGowan, a young Irish woman with big hopes who seeks America to “start anew.” She’s also pregnant with a married man’s baby and seeks out fellow passenger Jim Farrell (played fantastically by The Beau Named Joe) as a potential step-father. And, SPOILER, she proposes to him. She also won’t let him say no to anything. Welcome to our relationship.

This YouTube clip is some random production of Titanic… but it’s my song. Kate McGowan begins the song after Jim Farrell hassles her about fine cloth and electric lighting. In this clip, she places her hand on her stomach on the line, “Better place for the baby that I hold.” Is that totally cliche? I’ve been considering it, but I’m afraid it’ll look too trite. Thoughts?

If there’s a need for cast biographies, mine will say this:
Renee was born exactly 74 years after the day the Titanic hit the iceberg. This is why she got the part. That, and she went to high school with the director. Don’t judge.

I think it would be pretentious to add something about my eight years of voice lessons and seven years of being on stage, right? Not like I’m a former theatre major or anything… “She was last seen on stage in MacBeth.” Ha, whatever, no one wants to hear my resume.

Okay, let’s do a total 180 here and discuss my future plans for a bit. I’m 15 pages into my 20 page creative writing sample for my MFA application. See, I’m applying to a creative writing program. Yes, only one. I didn’t take the GRE so this one lets me apply without it. But, here’s a kicker: I’ve never taken a writing class. I don’t actually write creatively. So why am I applying? Two reasons. 1) I want a terminal degree in case the opportunity to teach would ever arise. 2) I think I’d make an excellent children’s author. I really enjoy writing, but I really don’t think my sample will get me past the first cut.

You know how people have backup schools when applying to colleges? I think I’m going to have a backup career. Tonight I started looking into culinary schools. Even though I burnt pancakes this morning, I think I’m a pretty decent cook. I enjoy it, at least. So would an Associate degree in culinary arts be a huge step down from Bachelor degrees in Communications and Women’s Studies? Does it matter?

Ok, let’s be honest, I have about two trillion backup careers… culinary school is just my latest one. Damned indecision.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Susie permalink
    January 21, 2008 5:21 pm

    I sooo want to go to culinary school! And I don’t think a culinary degree would ever be a step down from anything.

    Hope the line memorizing is going well!

  2. Maxie permalink
    January 21, 2008 10:59 pm

    I love the bio you wrote… that cracks me up

    yay for culinary school. I’ve always wanted to go.

  3. Virginia permalink
    January 22, 2008 3:40 am

    Hahaha I love your bio! You are so fierce. And culinary school! That sounds amazing. I say go for it, or at least keep it as one of your many backups. You never know whether or not you’ll be good at something until you give it a go.

Leave a Reply

