Skip to content

Weird day.

January 23, 2008

This is fucking shallow, and I’m aware of that. It is national Blog for Choice day, but the time I had set aside to blog about the anniversary of Roe v. Wade, I have spent following the coverage of Heath Ledger’s death. I had pictures of him cut out of Seventeen magazines when I was younger. The Patriot is still one of my favorite movies. And there was Brokeback Mountain… which speaks for itself. This is definitely an unsuspecting death. I hope it was an accident…

As for Blog for Choice day, yes, it’s shallow of me to blog about a celebrity instead of reproductive freedom. However, I WILL say this: Being pro-choice on a conservative Catholic campus is quite the experience. I don’t advertise it. But last semester we saw quite the break through. One of our students gathered signatures to support the reversal of the partial-birth abortion ban. This was, of course, met with lots of hostility in the SMC/ND campus newspapers, but I was told by my adviser that the student received good feedback from many she met. Some students even bought her hot chocolate because they said she looked cold. (The picture that was printed alongside the article isn’t on the site but it depicts her bundled up outside with a sign that reads, “Cold and Alone.”) Then, there is the usual Letter to the Editor that states Plan B is an abortion pill, and I feel like I’m the only one who has the guts to lay down the facts. So, maybe I AM “out” as pro-choice on this campus, but I don’t often bring it up. That’s something I’ll do when I’m senator.

Why am I pro-choice?
Why wouldn’t I be?

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Katelin permalink
    January 23, 2008 12:41 am

    One. I do not think it’s shallow to talk about Heath Ledger. He’s basically been an icon to our age since he hit the big screen in ’99. And it was so unexpected.

    Two. I can only imagine how hard it is to be pro-choice on a Catholic campus. I’m pro choice and Catholic and ya that right there is an argument in itself, haha. I had no idea that today was Roe vs. Wade anniversary, but thank you for your post.

  2. Chelsea Talks Smack permalink
    January 23, 2008 12:58 am

    Not shallow at all. I think its justified, its a complete tragedy.

  3. daria-4 permalink
    January 23, 2008 1:14 am

    Wishing you strength as an “out” choicer on your campus.

    -a fellow Blogger for Choice

  4. ~Angela~ permalink
    January 23, 2008 1:53 am

    The news of Heath’s death rocked my world. Rocked it. Seriously. It stopped the flow of progress in my workplace completely this afternoon. The gossips, the gay, the actor, and the director all gathered around a computer hitting “refresh” for updates.

    I’m wouldn’t say I’m pro-choice (I am Catholic, after all), but I’m too liberal to be truly pro-life either. I’m not against Plan B, for example. What it comes down to is that I’m against people using abortion as a form of birth control, when that’s clearly not what it’s for.

    I recently read a statistic that one in three women will have an abortion before she turns 40. If that’s for real, that’s insane.

    Here’s my “modest proposal”, if you will: upon a second abortion, a woman should automatically have her tubes tied.

  5. andrea rose permalink
    January 23, 2008 2:41 am

    I totally didn’t believe my friend when she texted me that Heath died. He was one of the talented ones, and the fact he has a young daughter makes its even more heart breaking.

    I’m pro-choice too, but its something I can’t proclaim in my house, considering my mother and sister are currently on their way back from the March for Life as I type. It’s one of those things that I keep to myself as long as I’m living rent-free, though they know how I feel about it.

  6. theedeeter permalink
    January 23, 2008 3:34 am

    i think there are better ways to classify one’s self besides “pro choice” and “pro life”. for example, i do think that women should have the right to choose what is done to themselves and their bodies-although i personally wouldn’t choose abortion–rather than have it dictated to them by mostly males sitting in washington. so while i guess i fall in that “pro-life” category, i think people should be ale to choose, ya know? just like i dont think a group of heterosexual men should decide whether or not homosexuals can get married–what the hell do they know about it. sorry for the off-topic-ness. But i completely respect your position in this whole thing. also,keep breaking the proverbial leg with titanic!

  7. theedeeter permalink
    January 23, 2008 3:36 am

    also, i didn’t mean for that to sound preachy…my intention was to get across the point that theres someone else with a non mainstream idea here, and that i respect how you feel and all…ok deeter-foot out of mouth. sorry

  8. Renee permalink
    January 23, 2008 4:41 am

    Wow, guys, this opened an awesome conversation. Thanks so much for your comments so far!!

    Katelin- Good point. It just seemed weird writing about a celebrity when I’d spent most of the day composing an entry for Blog for Choice day.

    Chelsea- Agreed.

    Daria- Thanks for stopping by!

    Angela- I think it’s possible to be pro-choice and Catholic. I identify as both. You’d be surprised how FEW women actually use abortion as birth control. That’s a pretty surprising stat, though, 1 in 3 before the age of 40… I’d check out the Guttmacher Institute website for a better stat on that (and all birth control/women’s rights related stats).

    Andrea Rose- I swear half my school went to that march… sigh.

    Deeter- I also would never ever consider an abortion, but I have options and a supportive family. I’m pro-choice for the women who DON’T have those options and who don’t have access to affordable birth control. So, yeah, I’m right with ya! I don’t think your comment was preachy at all. I’ll bet most of us who identify as pro-choice would say EXACTLY what you just said. Just because pro-choice doesn’t mean I’m going to run right out when I get pregnant and get rid of it!

  9. Virginia permalink
    January 23, 2008 6:49 pm

    Don’t feel guilty talking about Heath Ledger on Blog for Choice day. If something affects you, you should write about it regardless of what day it is. And thanks for being pro-choice and for standing up for what you believe in!

  10. Maxie permalink
    January 24, 2008 1:28 am

    I don’t blame you… I think the heath thing shook up a lot of us.

  11. Renee permalink
    January 24, 2008 7:02 am

    Virginia- Thank YOU for standing up for women’s rights!

    Maxie- I wonder why it shook so many of us so dramatically…

  12. theedeeter permalink
    January 24, 2008 6:18 pm

    in response to that^^response. I posted a (not so eloquent, and very basic-forgive me) post the other day kind of exactly on that subject–how it feels to be upset over this whole Heath thing. http://cdeet.blogspot.com/2008/01/picture-yourself-in-boat-on-river.html

Leave a Reply

