Skip to content

Stress-induced ulcer? No kidding.

January 29, 2008

I swear I’m alive.
Well, that’s debatable.

Let me tell you about the past few days. Saturday night we performed Titanic twice, didn’t get out of there until 1am, began the cast party around 2am, and people didn’t leave until after 6am. Needless to say, Sunday was a waste of a day. However, I discovered if you put a bunch of theatre kids together who hardly know one another, add beer pong and flip cup, hilarity ensues. I’d love to tell stories, but I don’t want to embarrass anyone!


Joy, The Beau Named Joe, Lindsay, and Yours Truly in the first scene of Titanic 

Sunday night, I started getting sick. Go figure. Sore throat, cough, sinus pressure, the works. I went to bed around 1:30, only to wake up three hours later with SEVERE HEARTBURN. You guys, I’m not talking the uncomfortable “Where are my Tums?” kind of heartburn, I’m talking the excruciating “I’d go to the hospital if I could drive through these tears” kind of heartburn. Four hours, two prescription Zantacs, and five Tums later and I’ve finally dulled the pain enough to fall asleep. Nevermind class and work, it just wasn’t going to happen. It is now 20 hours later and I can still feel it.

I called my doctor who changed my prescription from Zantac to Nexium, only to discover my insurance doesn’t cover Nexium and I’m in the middle of a policy fuster cluck. Hopefully, it doesn’t flare up to the unbearable stage again before I can get some hardcore meds.

I think everyone should have a friend who is a nurse or a nursing student. Free medical advice is priceless. My dear friend Becky is a nursing student who has personally experienced an ulcer. That’s my diagnosis from her. She’s probably spot-on, as my doctor called and said, “Time to schedule an upper GI to rule out an ulcer.”

The good news, though, is the podiatrist I visited today told me that the pain in my foot ISN’T a cyst. My toes are too close together. Can you believe that?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. ~Angela~ permalink
    January 29, 2008 6:39 am

    Don’t worry, it might not be an ulcer. I have stress-induced stomach pain a lot. After a particularly bad week (I want you to imagine a stress stomachache and cramp simultaneously… One Saturday, I physically could not get out of bed). I had to go in for a scope during my senior year (the week before my comp, I believe… great timing). Turns out, I have an over-production of acid in my stomach that gets worse when I’m stressed. But no ulcer. Of course, this might be worse, as it’s more of a life-long affliction… Ah well. Anyway, I’ve been there. Hope your pain goes far, far away.

  2. Susie permalink
    January 29, 2008 7:07 am

    Eeeek, that’s no fun!!

    I love having a mom who’s a nurse and a sister who’s a PT. One to diagnose me and dispense meds and one to help heal me!

    Congrats on Titanic 🙂

  3. andrea rose permalink
    January 30, 2008 3:08 am

    I still seek free medical advice from my mom, even though she technically stopped praticing nursing five years ago. She didn’t mind until I called her at 3am because some drunk friend fell down and we weren’t sure how to tell if she had a concussion or not. She wasn’t too happy with that.

  4. Gooseberried permalink
    January 30, 2008 10:56 pm

    Ouchie! I wish I had a nurse/doctor friend!

  5. Nurse Becky permalink
    February 1, 2008 3:29 am

    I’m always up for new friends… I hope you are feeling better Renee!

Leave a Reply

