Skip to content

Reason #219 Why Rome is Better Than South Bend

February 6, 2008

One good thing about the dead of winter is this: It’s citrus season!! And, best of all, it’s blood orange season!
I discovered blood oranges at Pascucci, a little cafe in the historical center of Rome, where I ate at least one meal a day when I studied abroad. (We had meal tickets there.) Between classes, it was not uncommon for me to hit up the ‘Scuch for a delicious fresh blood orange.
When I returned to the States, I searched high and low for these tasty citrus concoctions. They were too beautiful and delectable to give up! Every time I was in a produce department, I’d scan the oranges, lemons, and tangerines for my little piece of Rome… to no avail.
Then! Miraculously! Two years later! (Two months ago…) My mother calls me and says, “Renee! Martin’s has blood oranges!” GET OUTTA TOWN. My two year quest for the orange by a different color has come to an end. I am now on my second bag of these tasty jewels. They may be a different variety than those I devoured next to the Pantheon (I have the Moro variety, but the typical Italian variety is called Tarocco… thank you, Wikipedia), but they still taste as marvelous as I remember.

Bloggy friends, do YOU have a food that reminds you of something special?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. theedeeter permalink
    February 6, 2008 5:37 am

    2 words: WHICH MARTINS?!?!?!?

  2. andrea permalink
    February 6, 2008 11:03 am

    I’ve never had blood oranges, but there is a Martins in my town. I think I may hit it up.

    Food reminding me of somewhere… hmmm, good question. I’m drawing a blank at 6am. If I come up with something later after my coffee’s kicked in, I’ll let you know.

  3. Jamie Lovely permalink
    February 6, 2008 4:15 pm

    I’ve never had blood oranges eaither. They look good though!

  4. Maxie permalink
    February 6, 2008 7:29 pm

    Blood Oranges sound delish…I’m going to have to try them out.

    Waffles always remind me of disney world because I had the best ones EVER there.

  5. Katelin permalink
    February 6, 2008 9:05 pm

    I had Nutella when I was in Germany and every time I have it now it just takes me back, love it.

  6. Gooseberried permalink
    February 8, 2008 12:18 am

    Oh my gosh! I’ve never had one of those! Do they taste like oranges? Or what? I want one.

    Cantaloupe (sp?) reminds me of my family get together BBQs on 4th of July. We always have cantaloupe there. Mmmmm…

  7. magdathunder permalink
    February 8, 2008 2:40 am

    Blood oranges, one of my favorite parts of winter. I just bought a whole bag of them at trader joe’s. One of them went into a pitcher of vodka; such an awesome infusion. Highly recommended!

    Macaroni and cheese, the kind with shell-shaped pasta, totally reminds me of summers at my grandma’s house as a kid. I still make it every now and then, just to remember.

Leave a Reply

