Skip to content

Things that necessitate naps

February 11, 2008

This is how the postal service is supposed to work at my school:
A package is sent to you. You receive a notification in your dorm mail box that you have received a package and are to pick it up at the campus post office. If you do not pick it up within a week or so, the post office student worker send you an email. This email includes the sentence, “If you have misplaced your pink notification slip, a student ID will suffice.” You then retrieve your package from the post office.

Easy, right?

Well, this is how the postal service at my school works for me:
I order my books online the first week of class. I wait. And wait. And wait. Four weeks later, I am still waiting for my Interpersonal Communication book even though the seller said it was shipped two weeks ago. I retrieve some other books with a pink notification slip. Finally, I receive an email informing me I have not, in fact, picked up a package and it is waiting for me at the post office. How long has it been there? Shouldn’t I have received it with my other books last week? Why didn’t they send another notification slip? You mean I could’ve had this book before my test last Friday???? So I venture to the campus post office. I DREAD this place. The postal worker is famously angry. I wait in line. The student in front of me presents her ID (note: not a pink notification slip), and says nothing. The postal worker retrieves her package and the student leaves. I walk up to the window, present my ID, and say, “I have a package.” She barks, “Where’s your notification slip?” “You didn’t send me one this time,” I shoot back. I continue, “I was here last week to pick up three other books, but you didn’t give me this one and you didn’t send me a slip for this book. And I had a test on it Friday.” She gives me all sorts of attitude. I swear, even if thousands of dollars were riding on it, this woman wouldn’t smile. She is heinously unpleasant. There is nothing I hate more than being falsely accused of something. If I have a book at the post office, I have every right to RECEIVE it by any means necessary if I present valid identification. Why did the student in front of me get waived of her lack of notification slip? I was never sent one!!!

She Who Lacks Any Sense of Customer Service finally gives me my book… it is postmarked January 18!!! Do you see why I would MUCH rather drive to the off-campus post office and wait in obscene lines instead of having to experience this woman?

Livid.

I need a nap.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Le Petit Chic permalink
    February 11, 2008 9:19 pm

    Why is it that postal workers are so often angry? Totally makes package receiving much less pleasant!

  2. ~Angela~ permalink
    February 11, 2008 9:39 pm

    She used to terrify me. But I did see her smile once.

    I got there right as she was closing up (I ran there after a class to try to make it). She said she would not retrieve my package. I would have to wait.

    But there was a man there in the back with her (old white guy… does he work there? Is he her boyfriend? No idea. I think he might have been an angel). He handed me some Hershey’s Kisses and gestured for me to bribe her with them.

    I laid them on the counter. She looked at them, looked at me, looked at the man, and smiled. She pushed the kisses back and told me to keep them, and then retrieved my package.

    It was amazing.

  3. Jamie Lovely permalink
    February 11, 2008 10:19 pm

    Lame.

    You deserve a nap!

  4. Katelin permalink
    February 11, 2008 11:02 pm

    Oh man I am not a fan of the post office, yikes.

  5. andrea permalink
    February 12, 2008 3:59 am

    I think college mail centers are meant to be horrible, disorganized messes. What a Monday.

  6. Maxie permalink
    February 13, 2008 6:34 am

    naps make everything better. for reals.

Leave a Reply

