Skip to content

Millions of peaches, peaches for me.

February 18, 2008

I really ought to be in bed, but I keep thinking about this. The Beau Named Joe tends to talk in his sleep… which is really one of my favorite things ever. It’s hysterical. He once asked me about Michigan’s football coach in a tunnel. Tonight, we were cold so we curled up and accidentally fell asleep. Sleeping Joe says to me, “Love you.” I’m half-asleep, so I don’t respond. He repeats, “Love you.” Still, I sleep, though I am cognizant of the handsome young man next to me declaring his undying love in his sleep. Again he says, “Love you.” Finally, I’m awake enough to grunt back: “Gurrhnmph.” Then, my brilliant and articulate snoozing boyfriend says, “Peeeaches.”

No, this is not some cute pet name he has for me. No, this is not some obnoxious inside joke we have. Why, oh why, did this word pop into his half-conscious mind? Well, folks, I guess we’ll never know.

May you have peachy dreams tonight.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. joe permalink
    February 18, 2008 6:58 am

    HAHAHAHA

    love you!

    …sex on the beaches. huh? what?

  2. ~Angela~ permalink
    February 18, 2008 7:04 am

    Oh, I rather like that.

    But I can’t judge. Apparently, I sing in my sleep.

  3. Susie permalink
    February 18, 2008 7:38 am

    Cuuuute. I love when people talk in their sleep. It’s so entertaining 🙂

  4. James permalink
    February 18, 2008 11:20 am

    Just as long as he doesn’t have a secretary at work that has the nickname peaches

  5. joe permalink
    February 18, 2008 4:36 pm

    pretty sure having a job is a prerequisite for having a secretary….

    so no worries!

  6. Virginia permalink
    February 18, 2008 6:33 pm

    Hahaha that is awesome. Apparently I talk in my sleep if I’ve had a lot to drink, but it happens rarely. I think.

  7. Gooseberried permalink
    February 18, 2008 6:40 pm

    Haha, that’s so funny! The first time I spent the night with Nino, I realized that he very much talks in his sleep. Usually just blurbs of randomness though like, yemmmrn or seetyn. But it kinda freaked me out when at one point he said, “Oh yeah! Definitely!” Clear as a bell.

  8. ZenDenizen permalink
    February 18, 2008 10:15 pm

    Definitely better Peaches than Susan or Amy or Tina…

  9. Karmen permalink
    February 19, 2008 2:19 am

    fuck the pain away.

    ha, sleep talking is unbelievably cute. its always so random. And it gives you that same feeling in your stomach that you would get if you heard a baby speak.

    my ex girlfriend can tell you many tales of my sleep talking. one day apparently i woke her up in the middle of the night to ask if i had gotten my article handed in by the deadline (which is funny because i havent written for a magazine in almost a year). She says i sounded very concerned. She just patted me on the head and said “yes, baby, your editor loved it.”
    and i said.. “oh..good.” and started snoring.

    wow.

  10. Katelin permalink
    February 19, 2008 10:51 pm

    Haha, that’s cute. And random. But more so cute.

  11. Maxie permalink
    February 20, 2008 3:24 am

    I love that song…hilarious 🙂

Leave a Reply

