Skip to content

Old Lady Traits

February 19, 2008

I wrote my best friend an email today, and then I realized it was full of old lady complaints. I may or may not have mentioned the election, sharing recipes, and today’s trip to the podiatrist. Wow, growing old is sweet.

Today, I did indeed go to the podiatrist. A few months ago, I discovered a soreness in the ball of my foot so I went to the doctor. He diagnosed it as a cyst. Boo. I saw a podiatrist. Apparently, my toes are too close together and a nerve was being pinched or something. So he put these little pads in my shoes and told me to come back in a few weeks. I saw him again today. He asked if it felt better and I said sure (the next step was a cortisone shot and there was no way in hell I’d be doing that). Then he poked and prodded my foot and announced, surprised, “It looks like it worked.” Ummm… wasn’t it supposed to work? I mean, isn’t that why you put the pads in? To fix it? Why did he act so surprised? Weirdo.

I returned back to my apartment and got a great phone call: I got a job after graduation! Ok ok, it’s not a REAL job. I’ll be a fine arts camp counselor this summer for 5th-9th grade girls. If that doesn’t make me age 10 years, I’ll be lucky.

And then I took a nap, because that’s just what old ladies in 21 year old bodies do. (Ok, haven’t my last 10 entries mentioned a nap? Told you I’m old.)

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Jamie Lovely permalink
    February 20, 2008 3:09 am

    Yay for jobs!

    And naps are awesome, not old ladyish!

  2. Sandy permalink
    February 20, 2008 5:43 am

    The above poster nailed what I was gonna say. Literally, I was about to write “yay for jobs!”
    And also, yay for naps! Nothing beats a nap.. so I’m with you on that one

  3. Katelin permalink
    February 21, 2008 1:25 am

    Haha, it’s okay I am definitely turning into an old lady too. 🙂

  4. magda permalink
    February 21, 2008 2:26 am

    I love it when medical professionals seem shocked at the effectiveness of their treatment. It sure lends an element of confidence, yes? 🙂

    congrats on your job! That’s excellent, and not old ladyish at all. I’m sure they’ll all want to be your best friend, and not in a grandmotherly way. I bet you’ll be the coolest person they know.

  5. theedeeter permalink
    February 21, 2008 5:32 am

    congrats.

    and there is ABSO-FREAKIN-LUTELY nothing wrong with naps. at all.

  6. Sandy permalink
    February 21, 2008 8:15 pm

    Since there seems to be so much napping support here- just wanted to let you know I’m off to take one now. Ha!

  7. Nate Ring permalink
    February 21, 2008 11:37 pm

    i wish i had this bad boy before, while you were still doing plays and such. Digital works much nicer than film in theaters

Leave a Reply

