Skip to content

When I grow up, I want to be a neurophysicist. Not.

February 23, 2008

Careers I’ve considered in the last 18 months:
-flight attendant
-lawyer
-children’s book author
-government case worker
-chef
-barista
-press secretary
-professor
-journalist
-comprehensive sex educator
-IT manager
-lobbyist
-social worker
-senator
-publishing editor
-legislative assistant
-concierge
-hostel manager
-campaign manager
-yoga instructor
-secretary
-television host
-canvasser
-personal trainer
-nursing assistant
-professional eBay seller

I’m certain this list is actually supposed to be longer, but I can’t remember all the jobs and potential career paths I’ve considered while surfing Craigslist. Even today, I considered and reconsidered at least 6 of the aforementioned careers. And “PTA mom” is always in the back of my mind… as in, what if all those careers SUCK and I just want to bake cookies all day? Seriously, how great would it be to have the freedom to cook and bake allll day for people you love? I know that doesn’t sound real feminist-y, but it’s my choice, right? I understand that I can do nearly anything with a double major in Communications and Women’s Studies from an excellent school… but where do I find “anything”? And how will I know it’s right? I feel like, given the opportunity to do any of the above, I SO would… but it would have to fall in my lap. I don’t want to take the initiative to seek out these careers. That’s just scary. I’m searching government and non-profit job listings weekly, even though I can’t apply until probably July. (Same goes for apartments and my penchant for browsing Craigslist.) Some sound pretty good, but most entry-level positions suck. I don’t want to be the coffee-gopher for years before I can actually do something I enjoy. And sometimes? The non-profits I look at DO NOT interest me. I’m sorry if I’d rather work for domestic violence survivors than sick people with cystic fibrosis. And it’s not that I don’t like old people with lung cancer, I’d just rather work with self-esteem issues in junior high girls. When I come across a foundation I’m not interested in applying to, I feel guilty. I feel like I’m letting down that population. I just can’t get excited about Burmese refugees like I can reproductive freedom (and oatmeal raisin cookies). Does that make me a bad person?

Who wants to give me a good job? Seriously. Twin Cities area would be preferable.

Readers, go re-read that list. It’s actually pretty hysterical how different all of those career paths are. If you can find any sort of pattern or common denominator, I’ll send you a prize.

What do you want to be when you grow up?

13 Comments leave one →
  1. James permalink
    February 23, 2008 12:51 pm

    TV host made me laugh the most don’t know why.

    Comprehensive sex educator sound like someone who works in the adult entertainment industry. Someone who has a comprehensive knowledge of all the… you know what I mean.

  2. Nate Ring permalink
    February 23, 2008 2:44 pm

    You know. You mention helping people, shaping the lives of others, and generally being a positive force. Why not become a professor and try to do some pro-bono work in public schools *its pro-bono and you can tell them to fuck off at any time*. I think you’d make an good prof if your goals are lined up. Not to mention most kids hang on to your every word, and damn well have to when your a prof.

    Just don’t turn them into your personal cult.

    In regard to your post on my page:
    Is that an option in life?! Because I’m so down. I can think of a couple sunny beaches where I can do research and have a fruity drink.

  3. Gooseberried permalink
    February 23, 2008 5:49 pm

    I know; it’s hard these days because on one hand, there are so many options. On the other, there kind of isn’t. I for sure want to write for Glamour magazine, but I have no idea how to get there. They don’t even have any information on their website regarding careers at Glamour.

    And about the eyes, they’re deceiving. While they are a pretty green hue, the only time my pupils are actually that small is when a whole bunch of light is shining on them. Other times, my pupils look like they are consistently dilated and so, most people think my eyes are brown. Hrmph.

  4. A K permalink
    February 23, 2008 7:23 pm

    Haha, I love how random your choices are! I don’t notice any common demoniator except some of the choices is for the love not the money, huh? What about a photo journalist for National Geographic Channel? That would be my dream job.

  5. Sandy permalink
    February 23, 2008 8:45 pm

    15. That’s the number of careers that you have listed that I, too, have chosen in the last year. We? Are hilarious. The common factor between them? I don’t think there is one within the jobs. I think it’s the fact that you’re a communication major. I’m also a communication major, and the idea that I can do pretty much anything with it is so exciting- but so confusing, because I kind of just want to do everything for a little bit. I read somewhere that our generation will probably end up having about 8 careers in their lifetime, and I don’t know about you- but that makes me kind of giddy. Getting to do 8+ different things sounds more fun to me than being a professor for the next 50 years. Maybe that’s just me though.

  6. nicoleantoinette permalink
    February 24, 2008 1:16 am

    Indecision makes me crazy too. Actually, it’s more than indecision, it’s the overwhelming possibilities that gets me. The fact that I could (because of my education and experience and the feminist-y wonders) be doing ANYTHING. It’s all too much to sift through sometimes.

    Maybe take a break from the serious side of Craigslist and read some of the missed connections. Those always make me laugh.

  7. Jamie Lovely permalink
    February 24, 2008 6:50 am

    I have no idea.

    I think I’ll just be a princess when I grow up.

  8. Phil permalink
    February 24, 2008 6:37 pm

    Re: those foundations you look at, I say go with what interests you. You’ll never be at the top of your form unless you feel like you can really invest yourself in what you’re doing. People’s interests differ greatly, and chances are there are other people out there would love the refugee foundation and hate the idea of working on self-esteem issues. Just whatever you do… go get ’em.

    And a common theme… hmm… well, NONE of them have anything to do with fast food. Does that count?

  9. Katelin permalink
    February 25, 2008 10:32 pm

    Haha I loved the ‘comprehensive sex educator’ option. Reminds me of “Meet the Fockers”.

    But hey at least you’re keeping your options open and can basically do any job, always a plus 🙂

  10. brandy permalink
    February 26, 2008 5:26 am

    It’s funny, my list changes based on what I’m reading/watching in the most obvious ways. I remember being 15 and watching Backdraft and telling my parents I seriously wanted to be a firefighter.

    I’m pretty sure at 15 I struggled managing the garden hose. Thankfully, my parents didn’t laugh. But forbid me to watch movies involving serial killers.

  11. devon permalink
    February 27, 2008 6:03 am

    As a side note to one of your career choices: if you go to law school, you get three more years of spring breaks and a life time of student loans (and regret)! I highly recommend law school if you don’t know what you want to be. There is nothing like misery to make you realize your true dreams. 🙂

    This ray of sunshine has been brought you by your very own third year disgruntled law student.

  12. Maxie permalink
    February 27, 2008 5:22 pm

    A doctor. Even though I heard somewhere that requires some kind of special schooling? Silly rumors.

  13. Traci Anne permalink
    February 28, 2008 1:59 am

    Right there with ya, kiddo. I think I’ll just be a trophy wife.

Leave a Reply

