Skip to content

Things I Can’t Stand, episode 4

February 27, 2008

It’s been awhile since my latest list of Things I Can’t Stand, so here we go!

1) Paying full price for anything. Let me further elaborate by singing the praises of retail therapy. Example of both: Tonight, I went to White House Black Market with some coworkers. WHBM does a Girls Night Out deal, where they keep the store open after hours for a private party, provide snacks, and a 10% discount for all involved…. for free! On top of it, we all printed out coupons since we’re all on their emailing list. I bought nice white pants, a beautiful v-neck shirt for work, and a big, floppy hat (I need a yacht in order to wear this)… all for under $100. Originally, the pants were $88, shirt was $58, and the hat was also $58!!

2) Not being able to sleep (aka insomnia). Every night, I lay in bed for HOURS before falling asleep. My mind races. I go over conversations in my head, correcting what I should have said, I make lists of what I need to do tomorrow, I worry about that paper I haven’t started and my thesis that won’t be finished until April and my layover in Detroit on Sunday… This lack of sleep makes #3 on this list even worse…

3) Waking up before my alarm. Every morning, I wake up at least half an hour before my alarm, often earlier. I hate apartment-style dorms. Why are all these walls paper thin? Why does a latching door wake me up? Or even a spoon hitting a bowl? Why do I sleep SO lightly?

4) Ambiguity. Ya know?

the pants I bought with the shirt I’m waiting to buy on sale…
7 Comments leave one →
  1. wishcake permalink
    February 27, 2008 6:27 am

    Um, adorable much lately?

    And I so agree with #3. Especially on the weekends when I open at work, and have to wake up at 4:50am. When I wake up and roll over to see the time and it reads 4:30am, I’m all, “Eff! Why did I have to look at the clock! Bastards!”

    It’s fun. 🙂

  2. Maxie permalink
    February 27, 2008 4:55 pm

    Adorable pants. Seriously, I love them. You look tres chic.

  3. February 27, 2008 6:47 pm

    Looks like you made out pretty well at White House Black Market. I’d never heard of that before — I’m going to pitch it to some of my friends. I could use some more work clothes.

    And I totally agree with #3. It happens to me ALL THE TIME and drives me crazy.

  4. Gooseberried permalink
    February 27, 2008 8:02 pm

    That WHBM thing makes me want to live in an actual city with like, um…stores in it. I need new work clothes but there’s no way I’m driving down to Phoenix to get them. Sweet deal though!

    I laughed so hard at your kissing comment! Haha!

  5. Katelin permalink
    February 27, 2008 11:00 pm

    I absolutely love sales, they are fantastic.

  6. Sandy permalink
    February 28, 2008 5:27 am

    Cute outfit!
    I’m with you on the insomnia thing- even if I get in bed at 11, I won’t be out until at least 2.

  7. Katrin permalink
    February 28, 2008 6:35 pm

    Gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

