Skip to content

ocean liners and gang bangers

March 3, 2008

Renee, that silly Renee. She left me in control of the blog today! Me, being Jamie from Oh! How Lovely! This is actually my second time guest blogging in the past three days. For some reason, people turn over their blogs to me for a day or so and I hope I don’t write “(insert blogger name) loves Jamie 4Eva!” all over it and consider that my guest post! It will be hard, but I suppose I will restrain myself from doing so.

One of the things that always sticks out in my head about Renee is theater. That and she lives in the next state over. I figured today I would talk about my own personal foray into theater. Musical theater, no less. Now if you remember, Renee just did Titanic, her and A Beau Named Joe, were on that fateful ship. And you wouldn’t remember because I barely tell anyone this, that I was in a brawling street gang in NYC once. Yeah, that’s right. Me. Jamie. In a brawling street gang. I’d be nice to me if I were you.

In high school, I was in some stupid program freshman through junior year, so I had already knocked out all my credits. Senior year was a complete joke for me. I took gym (first period, never went), some careers class (obviously didn’t help me too much) and drama. My teacher was kind of nutty, but we loved her. For some ridiculous reason, she decided she wanted to make us do a play. She knew we all signed up for a bullshit class and was okay with that. Most of the time we didn’t do anything anyway. Except now she wanted to make us do something.

That something ended up being West Side Story.

My high school is on the south side of Chicago. It was a public school. I went there for International Baccalaureate Program, I only went there because of that program or I would have been at a Catholic high school. The school was majority hispanic, then black and then white. There were gangs and fights. You know in movies at “ghetto” high schools when you walk in and there is all kinds of security, metal detectors and searches? Well, that was my school. It wasn’t all gangs and violence, don’t get me wrong. It just was what it was. Having to do a play about street gangs when some of your classmates are in gangs? Kind of funny, no?

Anyway, I’m painfully shy. I don’t really enjoy talking in front of people. When Mrs. Teacher was casting, she wanted all of us girls to try out for Maria. I flat out refused and ended up as Baby John. I was a Jet! We had tees made for our costumes. Jets were red and Sharks were blue. I threw on some fitted black Dickies (a staple in my emo wardrobe), put a red bandanna in my back pocket and threw on my brothers wallet chain with my black Chucks. Perfect gang banger right there. I mainly hung out toward the back of the crowd when on stage, hoping no one would notice me and drag me to the front.

We sang. We danced. We ran around acting like fools. People laughed and laughed. My friends didn’t do musical theater. I never lived it down. Baby John. That was me. I heard my one single line for weeks after in the hallway.

“Who wouldn’t want to be a Jet?!” followed by some stupid hand punch to the sky or something.

And that was my first and last time on the stage.

I’ll leave the acting to Renee and I’ll stick to writing equally nonsensical posts like this one over on my blog.

No auditions necessary.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. cdp permalink
    March 3, 2008 4:07 pm

    Too funny.

    Although,I must admit I have a hard time picturing you as painfully shy. 😉

    oh, and DUDE. sorry, almost forgot.

  2. Jenn permalink
    March 3, 2008 4:14 pm

    All drama teachers seem nutty 🙂

    I’ve always wanted to perform in a play. I’m much too shy though. I don’t think I’d ever try out.

    My English teacher freshman year made me be Romeo in our class’ production of Romeo & Juliet. I was the best Romeo that ever was!

  3. survivingmyself permalink
    March 3, 2008 4:47 pm

    there is nothing tougher than a gang that sings.

  4. Gretchen permalink
    March 3, 2008 5:45 pm

    Jamie, this is crazy scary because I was a Jet too! My srage name was Big Deal! This rocks.

  5. March 3, 2008 6:20 pm

    It sounds like we went to the same school, even though mine was a ghetto public school. *shrugs*

    I would have been a Jet, but our school didn’t have enough money (or enough male actors/singers/dancers) to do ‘West Side Story.’ We had to settle for ‘Leader of the Pack: the Elle Greenwich Musical.’ Yeah…

  6. Nate Ring permalink
    March 3, 2008 6:29 pm

    Well, we have something in common–we both don’t do theatre well. We don’t have one thing in common, I would have never got up on that stage. You’ve got bigger balls than me.

  7. ~Angela~ permalink
    March 3, 2008 8:28 pm

    This reminds me…

    I started a 20SB group for theatre people. Just in case anyone is interested.

  8. Heather permalink
    March 3, 2008 9:04 pm

    What really makes that entire post for me is the hand punch to the sky. I want to end all of my sentences that way from now on. 🙂

  9. Katelin permalink
    March 4, 2008 1:43 am

    Haha, that’s great.

  10. Maxie permalink
    March 4, 2008 2:08 am

    haha- i was horribleeee at theatre. Like… ridiculously bad.

Leave a Reply

