Skip to content

Spring Break recap

March 9, 2008

Firstly, THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU to Jamie, Maxie, and Angela for guest blogging while I was gone. Your posts were absolutely delightful… and I’m thinking you should just write for my blog from now on, because this past week was way funnier and more
interesting than the stuff I usually write! Jamie, I’ll bet you were the best Jet Chicago’s south side had every seen. And Maxie: compulsive air guitarist and the King’s face. For obvious reasons. And, Angela? That’s the best eavesdropping episode I have ever heard. You win at being awesome.

Secondly, I promise to get back to commenting regularly. I tried while I was away, as I came into some unpredictable wireless access at my friend’s house. I’ve added lots of fun new blogs to my reader and will try to catch up when possible.

Thirdly, the night before I left for TX, I tripped over my iBook’s ethernet cord and screwed up the port. The worst part? I need that quick ethernet connection for my senior thesis, to do my “in world” research in SecondLife. So? I hit up Apple’s refurbished website and purchased a GORGEOUS “new” MacBook Pro. I’m using it now and adoring it.

Fourthly, MY SPRING BREAK WAS AWESOME. Andrea, my best friend since high school, lives in San Antonio with her beautiful 16 month old daughter Oasis, and her doting,amazing husband Dustin, and her snuggly mutt Shiner. We didn’t do any sight-seeing, as I had seen the city when I visited last March. We woke up early, drank tea on the porch while Oasis played in the yard, challenged each other in Monopoly, Scrabble, Life, and Scrabbulous during Oasis’s naps, caucused!, went grocery shopping and out for coffee, and took down a bottle of raspberry rum after Oasis went to bed.

What I love most about Andrea is, though we’ve only seen each other three times in the past three years, we can always pick up right where we left off. We email each other a couple times a week. And, even with all its pitfalls, Facebook has been a godsend for keeping in touch. (Especially when she gets me addicted to applications like Scrabbulous!) Andrea is the only female I’ve ever met who can keep up with my fast-paced conversations that go in 300 different directions. At this time in my life where I’ve been trying to cut out all the negative energy from others, she’s been a guiding light. I’m an only child, but after this week, I know that’s not entirely true. Andrea is my sister… and she always will be.

Oasis, looking too cute for words 
“Mother, I would be very grateful if you gave me a morsel of that doughnut.”I think I heard my biological clock tick for the first time…

Last hurrah before I’m forced to go back to the tundra

 

Stories to tell in future blog postings:
>> Oasis is a gerbil
>> Oasis’s vocabulary
>> Caucusing Republicans
>> Flying from San Antonio to Detroit to South Bend
>> Spooning with Shiner
8 Comments leave one →
  1. Jamie Lovely permalink
    March 9, 2008 4:01 am

    You are so very welcome! It was very fun taking over someone else’s blog for a day haha

    Sounds like you had a blast too!

  2. andrea permalink
    March 9, 2008 4:31 am

    I love those friendships where you can just pick up like nothing happened, even if there is a big span of time between visits. Glad you had a good time!

  3. March 9, 2008 6:53 am

    It sounds like you had a LOVELY time. Exciting about the new computer. And I’m excited to read about the happenings of spring break.

    Welcome back!

  4. Phil permalink
    March 9, 2008 8:01 am

    Nice! My website was down for about two days this week, and I was like, “I should have guest-blogged for Renee!” But alas, I didn’t.

    You’re into Scrabbulous? Me too! We should totally facebook it up and start Scrabbling. πŸ™‚

  5. ~Angela~ permalink
    March 9, 2008 7:21 pm

    Happy to help.

    And your god-daughter is precious.

  6. magda permalink
    March 10, 2008 3:12 am

    It sounds like you had a positively marvelous break! That’s one of the things I miss most about school–no organized time off, no fixed vacations and excuses to do something fun like visit dear friends.

    My two best friends in the world are of the pick-right-up-where-we-left-off variety, and really, it’s the greatest gift.

    OH, and on the vodka … I made it. Super easy: just buy plain vodka (I go for middle-of-the-road, Smirnoff this time I think), pour it into an airtight container, then add your fruits. I put blackberries in first (probably about a cup; I used frozen since they aren’t exactly in season). Keep it in the fridge, and shake it every day or so. After three days I added a plum; after a week it was done. Strain the fruit out and you’re all set. Pretty AND tasty πŸ™‚

  7. Candace permalink
    March 10, 2008 4:35 pm

    Oasis is the cutest thing I ever did see. And what a beautiful name! Lordy. I love it.

    Another thing I love, which is old news to you I’m sure, the name of your blog. How witty!

    Have a good day!

    πŸ˜€

  8. Katelin permalink
    March 10, 2008 9:48 pm

    Aw sounds like a fabulous Spring Break and Oasis is precious!

Leave a Reply

