Skip to content

Texas Tale #2: Spooning With Shiner

March 12, 2008

You know you’re obsessed with current events when you receive CNN Breaking News emails. And you know you’re really obsessed with current events when you can guess EXACTLY what it says: That New York douchebag resigned. (No kidding.)

Time for Texas Tale: Spooning With Shiner
Shiner is pictured to the right. She’s a mutt of some sort, we’re thinking half beagle, half pittbull. Beagbull? Pitgle? Whatever. She’s still a puppy and she LOVES to cuddle.
Apparently, the guest bed at Andrea’s house is frequently occupied by said pup. I grew up with a dog so I was used to sharing a bed. However, my old dog was only 5 lbs. Shiner is HUGE. But, every night, we snuggled. And I don’t mean “snuggle” as in “she slept at my feet.” I mean “snuggle” as in “we totally spooned.” I’ll get to that.
The first night, Shiner came into the guest room, licked my hands, licked my feet, and proceeded to curl up next to me. Cute.
The second night, Shiner decided to sleep in the CENTER of the bed. And when she sleeps, she’s not budging. Thus, I slept sideways. Not so cute.
The third night, Shiner had gas. And she fell asleep with her ass in my face. Lovely. And, as I mentioned before, when she sleeps, she doesn’t budge. I had to roll her over then pick her up by her legs like a roast pig. She barely woke up. But no more fart-y dog.
The fourth night, I wanted to make the bed. Unfortunately, Shiner was already asleep in it. I decided to make the bed with her in it. Ah-HA! I figured out how to make Shiner move! As soon as the blankets were over her head, she crawled up to the top of the bed and stuck her head out. This means she was still under the covers, with her head on my pillow in the center of the bed. Like a freaking person. So cute. I fell asleep next to her, only to wake up an hour or so later to poor Shiner having nightmares. I put my arm around her to calm her (it worked), and we fell asleep like that: Spooning.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. theedeeter permalink
    March 13, 2008 1:08 am

    At home, my bed (which happens to be the most comfy bed in the history of the world, if I do say so myself) is no longer called “carole’s bed”. My dad tells me whenever I’m leaving home to come back to south bend and I ask him if he thinks our 2 dogs will miss me “Nope, Maggie gets her bed back now”. so i feel ya.

  2. Susie permalink
    March 13, 2008 3:49 pm

    Aww I spent all weekend spooning with 2 dogs. I pretended to be annoyed but now that I’m hope, I miss having my arm around a cute little pup!

  3. Gooseberried permalink
    March 13, 2008 9:43 pm

    Hahahahahaha!

  4. stylishhandwriting permalink
    March 14, 2008 3:04 pm

    Haha. Oh, wow. That sounds like my dog back home, Callie. She takes over the ENTIRE bed, and I have to sleep whichever way I can fit my legs onto the bed. Callie doesn’t spoon, though.

    Sounds like an interesting time. (:

Leave a Reply

