Skip to content

Up to bat: Senioritis! Full Swing!

March 19, 2008

I’ve been on a bit of a blogging hiatus. It’s not for any apparent reason, really. It’s been a slow week in terms of school, meaning lots of extra quality time with The Beau Named Joe. And it’s the second half of my second semester of senior year. I’ve totally checked out. (Almost. I still have a thesis to finish before I can officially graduate. But, ah, the worst part of that is over. It will write itself now, right?)

I’m in a 200 level class for my major. I declared my second major really late so I didn’t take all the classes in suggested order. I started at the 300 level and worked my way back, because that’s just how it’s offered. Anywho, this class is hysterical. It consists of mostly seniors taking it as a COMM elective or as a blow off class with a fun professor. The prof canceled the first week and at least four more classes. On top of that, I’ve skipped my quota of four classes. (A couple have been legit absences, a couple were “Ugh, I hate the sound of my alarm at 9am on Mondays!” absences.) And Fridays? Movie days… that sometimes spill over into the following Monday. Oh, and I’ve forgotten to print and turn in two one page reflection papers. There go 40 points. It’s not like I had a good enough excuse to turn them in late (especially the week we were talking about excuses and justifications). But don’t worry, Prof. Fitzpatrick, despite all this, I AM learning.

My favorite part of the senior-laden sophomore-level class has got to be the lecture we received before she handed back our midterm. We had been given a multiple choice/short answer midterm with an extensive review guide the Friday before spring break. Our prof says to us upon our return, “I’m going to chalk up these scores to the fact you all had your minds on the Bahamas and Europe.” She had to curve our multiple choice/shirt answer midterm by TEN POINTS. Um, hi? Senioritis? You can stop rearing your ugly head.

I’m hoping the fact that my midterm was a 98% (thank you, curve!) and my extra credit attendance at a boring lecture last night (it was on feminism and the media– how could this issue bore me so badly?) will keep my grade stable. As in, above a B-. I need a B- to complete this major.
Otherwise, it looks as though I’m graduating with only one major. IF I pass my thesis…

Oh school, you’re hysterical. Did I mention that one in five undergrads is constantly stressed? Really, MSNBC? This is a scientific study? Since when?
Researchers ought to spend some time on my overachieving campus. Just don’t poll the seniors.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. andrea permalink
    March 20, 2008 12:12 am

    I miss college, but I don’t miss that stress. Work stress is defintely different than school stress. At least with work, once I’m done at 5pm, I’m done. School stuff follows you home.

  2. Katelin permalink
    March 20, 2008 12:57 am

    Man I loved senior year. Hope you have a most fabulous time, even with a thesis that needs to write itself đŸ™‚

  3. Phil permalink
    March 20, 2008 5:36 pm

    And the stress only compounds in grad school, unfortunately. But fortunately, grades matter a bit less and actual learning is encouraged (sort of). But heck, it’s only my first semester of grad school and already I’m ready to graduate.

  4. magda permalink
    March 21, 2008 3:50 pm

    Those were my FAVORITE classes as an underclassmen–where it was mostly seniors who didn’t care. It was so much easier to do ridiculously well, because really, I was competing against a non-present opponent.

    I’d think of slacking as practically a duty to those sophomores, who are still in their naive “do all my homework and stress all the time” phase. Enjoy it!

  5. Emma permalink
    March 25, 2008 10:19 pm

    I have senioritis like whoah. And I’m only a junior.

Leave a Reply

