Skip to content

The end of my week with the Clintons

March 31, 2008

I let the last post sit there for awhile because I thought, really, what could I ever write that would top being Chelsea Clinton’s personal driver? I mean, the Clintons are like American royalty! I don’t care what side of the fence you’re on, that’s cool.

But then Senator Hillary Clinton announced she’d be doing a rally at my old high school. Seriously? Sen. Clinton was coming to my middle class public high school where I spent four shitacular years? Un. Be. Lievable.

And THEN, I get a call to be Sean Astin’s driver for that day because, you know, he’s going to be introducing Sen. Clinton at the rally at my high school. Shut. Up. Oh, and he has to be there at 6:00am. Gag.

Soooo Friday morning rolled around and my alarm goes off at 4:00am. This was after I’d been woken up almost every hour. (Remember how I’m the world’s lightest sleeper?) Beautiful. But a to-go mug of coffee and a thermos of coffee later, I’m on the road by 5:15am heading to pick up Rudy. I mean Sean Astin.

He’s a great guy. In the car, he tried out his talking points on me, we discussed our shared obsession with 24 hour news networks, he made me feel like an ass when I didn’t believe he was in the movie Encino Man (“Really?! I used to love that movie!!” “Yeah, I was the main guy.” “Oh… I guess I should’ve looked you up on IMDB first, huh?”), he showed me pictures of his wife and kids (gorgeous family), and I told him, “Today’s event is at my alma mater. You better believe I know all the shortcuts to get there!”

We arrive at good ol’ MHS before dawn. News media is already there and Sean is scheduled to do interviews (which is why we were both up at such an ungodly hour). So I got to hang out with the press and Secret Service and my favorite former teachers. Finally, after some text messages with Sean to get things figured out (he uses emoticons!), around 10:30, things start to happen and by 11:15, Sen. Clinton has taken the stage.


She’s stunning in person. And I don’t care who you are, a political rally is an AMAZING experience. If you ever have the opportunity to hear ANY of the presidential candidates speak, by all means, GO. It’s invigorating and deeply patriotic. I’m a big believer in advanced democracy… as citizens, we have to be involved in the electoral process -all stages of it- in order for this country to be a true democracy. And that’s a pretty important and AWESOME thing.

I didn’t get to meet this former First Lady, current US Senator, and Presidential Candidate. I didn’t get to meet Living History (Herstory?). But I’ve been told that arrangements will be made so that can happen. And that’s why I’m staying with my internship until July.

Furthermore, I’ve decided that I’d like to see where these wonderful Indiana ties I’ve made will take me. I’d like to stay in the Hoosier state, if possible, at least for a couple years. And maybe one day, I’ll be the one running for office.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. andrea permalink
    March 31, 2008 12:49 pm

    How cool! I had a dream last night that Sen. Clinton was kicking back in a local bar, but there was no Sean Astin.

  2. Gooseberried permalink
    March 31, 2008 8:59 pm

    I hope you met my friend, Dan! He works on the campaign. He’s been EVERYWHERE in the past three months with this lady.

  3. Katelin permalink
    March 31, 2008 10:02 pm

    oh man that is awesome! sounds like such a great experience.

  4. brandy permalink
    April 1, 2008 1:23 am

    If you run for office, can I be in charge of designing the buttons?

    Think about it.

  5. jessica maria permalink
    April 1, 2008 2:08 pm

    “he uses emoticons!”

    HAHAH LOVE IT!

    Awesome story 🙂

  6. magda permalink
    April 2, 2008 3:51 am

    What an amazing experience! I’ve never had the fortune of meeting any candidates in person (especially not the Clintons–lucky girl!). I think you’re totally right, though, that something about being there at the front lines is just hands-down awesome, no matter where you stand.

    And I do hope that one day it’ll be you up there. Hold onto that dream!

  7. Ashley permalink
    April 18, 2008 1:54 pm

    That’s funny! I randomly met Hillary Clinton on Valentine’s Day in Ohio (along with 10 kids from my afterschool program.) It was hilarious, they thought she was from the Soulja Boy video!! It was great. 🙂

Leave a Reply

