Skip to content

Prominent Buttocks.

April 3, 2008

Well, my life is back to normal. No more driving around the rich and famous. I have, however, gone balls to the walls on my senior thesis. (‘Round these here parts, we call ’em “comps,” short fer “senior comprehensive projects,” heeyuk!)

You see, my first draft is due Friday. And, though I’ve been working on it all semester, this is supposed to be a two-semester project. Buuuuut this self-designed major fell through the cracks a bit… as usual. So I started a couple weeks into THIS semester. And yes, I wrote a 15 page literature review in two weeks. And yes, I am currently at 80 total pages. And yes, I foresee it hitting the triple digit mark by the time I present it at the end of the month. (And it may or may not be revenge for the book and a half per week I used to have to read for class. Your turn, academic advisers!)

I feel like I should be more freaked out about it. But, honestly? I know it’s good. And it’s nearly finished. I put myself on an awesome time line this week. Ok, Self, Monday you’ll write conclusions to sub-questions one and two. Tuesday you’ll write conclusions to sub-question three and your research question and your overall reflections. Wednesday you’ll fill in the gaps of your literature review. Thursday you’ll perfect what seems to be missing or needs work. Are you ready for this, Self? Guess what. I’m totally on schedule. Totally. (OMG liek totes!) This getting-things-done-in-a-timely-manner-thing is really really out of character for me. But it feels sooooo great, it might become “in character” for me. Haha, j/k. My heart is truly a procrastinator. (Seriously, my heart literally skips beats sometimes. I think it takes cues from my mind, “Oh it’s okay, I’ll just beat later, no big deal.”) I was meant to procrastinate. My best work is done under stress. The Crazy is awful when I’m stressed, but the shit I produce? Stellar. Just don’t get in my way. I’ll make you cry. Rather, The Crazy will make you cry.

[[mental tangent: I love capitalizing words or phrases that I think are important. For instance, The Crazy deserves to be a proper noun. So does The Future. When I speak of these things aloud, in my head I make the note that they are capitalized.]]

So. Wish me luck as I battle through tomorrow’s comp work. Oh, and for the record, I’ve been studying hegemonic hypersexuality in virtual worlds for the last three months. I’ve written the word “sex” more times than I’ve ever even THOUGHT about sex in my previous 21 years. And, really, is there a classier, more academic way to say “perky ass”??? Because “prominent buttocks” just sounds ridiculous.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Nate Ring permalink
    April 3, 2008 1:57 pm

    it too put caps on important words.

    oh and good luck on your comp!

  2. theedeeter permalink
    April 3, 2008 2:47 pm

    hello fellow procrastinator. who’s comp performance was feb 27 and she hasnt written her reflection yet? of course, at her defense, a certain female theatre professor who is her advisor didnt bother to give her the format/assignment for the reflection til easter….

    GOOD LUCK!

  3. stylishhandwriting permalink
    April 3, 2008 4:57 pm

    It’s awesome that you are on task and that you followed your check list for the week.

    I’m kind of like you — I do work at the last minute all the time. I mean, I’m a journalism student. I THRIVE on deadlines and think it’s stupid when teachers give me three weeks to write an article.

    Kudos! And the very best of luck! I cannot wait to hear how it goes.

  4. Katelin permalink
    April 3, 2008 7:39 pm

    good luck!!

  5. ZenDenizen permalink
    April 5, 2008 4:12 pm

    Sublime derriere?

Leave a Reply

