Skip to content

An Ode to Bloggers

April 16, 2008

There is nothing substantial about my blog. It’s become one of those “This Is What I Did Today” blogs. And really? Who wants to read about a weird college senior with little-to-no direction?
When I started my blog, I wrote a little more creatively. I spent time on posts. Now I update to procrastinate. I keep telling myself, Once I graduate, I’ll have more time to be creative. Honestly, when was the last time I wrote something anyone really wanted to read? How many of you read a post and thought, Wow, I’m really glad I spent the time to read and comment on that ?? Exactly.

I don’t think I’ve found my blogging niche yet. What good is this blog if not to entertain? Right now, I’m finding it hard to believe any of you are entertained. And I don’t mean to write that in order to be a Debbie Downer. No, I know my real-life friends read it just to see if there are pictures of them or mentions of them (I’m talking about you guys, Joe, Becky, and Nate!). Or there are those ex-boyfriends or ex-whatevers who like to keep tabs on me (I know you do, by the way, you might as well fess up).

This is why I’m convinced bloggy friends–freaders–are the nicest people in the world. I’m guilty of not commenting on every blog I read. In fact, I added four blogs to my reader yesterday and they probably won’t catch on for a couple more weeks. But those of you who read my trash writing and comment religiously? I freaking love you. Seriously. Knowing there are people who visit me makes my freaking DAY.

So this post is for you guys…
For Angela, who inspired me to blog, to whom I owe the word play of “Reneeborhood,” whom I admire for being so candid and so confident to post gorgeous pictures of herself all the time (I’m trying to do that more… but I feel like a dweeb when I do it.)
For Gooseberried, who would totally be my BFF if she didn’t live in AZ, whose Flicker I constantly stalk (truth comes out), who was my first freader-turned-facebook friend, who is one of those people that I just KNOW would kick someone’s ass for me in a bar fight.
For JamieLovely, who is my best commenter. Seriously, girl, how do you find the time to comment on so many blogs? I ADORE you for it. I want to be her, I want to live in Chicago and hang out with the other Chicago bloggers. (Can I take Angela’s place when she goes off to FSU?)
For Jenn, who made it okay to use silly phrases like “Super Fuck Yeah!,” who inspires me to let loose my inner-geek, who blogs PostSecret weekly thus inspiring me to find something like that (or Jamie’s ANTM posts) to commentate.
For Jessica, whose blog I fell in love with instantly, for not being embarrassed to blog sappily about the fiance, whose ring I am determined to steal the first chance I get, whose relationship makes me all warm and fuzzy on the inside because it reminds me of my own… without the video chatting.
For TraciAnne, whom I love for calling me adorable. Let’s be honest, that’s how you get on my good side. I admire her for having the guts to show her true colors by vlogging and for also hating the term “vlog” but using it anyways.
For Phil, who is endlessly patient when I don’t play our Scrabulous games for days that turn into weeks, whose roommate stories *always* make me chuckle and thank heavenly bodies that I don’t live there, who I can count on to back me and my opinions up when they’re a little too liberal for Small Town, Indiana.
For Sandy, who makes it okay to be completely real and honest, whose blog sheds light on how hard it is for a girl to be in her early 20s, who is fearless despite what she says, who makes me feel like it’s actually okay to second guess, who is just as hopeful and romantic as I am despite everything. She inspires me to be authentic.

You guys rule. End of story.
Maybe one day I’ll inspire a blogger like you all have inspired me.

38 Comments leave one →
  1. nat permalink
    April 17, 2008 12:01 am

    Yeah, I think I am in the same boat as you trying to find my blogging niche. In the meantime though I am just enjoying blogging. So its doesn’t really matter I guess. Ha ha.

  2. nat permalink
    April 17, 2008 12:01 am

    Yeah, I think I am in the same boat as you trying to find my blogging niche. In the meantime though I am just enjoying blogging. So its doesn’t really matter I guess. Ha ha.

  3. Holly permalink
    April 17, 2008 12:57 am

    I think I’m the same too. My blog is random and every post is different, lol!

  4. Holly permalink
    April 17, 2008 12:57 am

    I think I’m the same too. My blog is random and every post is different, lol!

  5. Jenn permalink
    April 17, 2008 1:42 am

    I love bloggers. I do. I find I’m inspired by so many of you and wish I wrote that post or I could describe my day and make it sound to eloquent. I love the connections and relationships I develop with people through blogging. Even if you’re not in Chicago! Though I hope one day we can hang out. We can run through the streets of Chicago screaming Super F-word Yeah! Or, we can take it up a notch and say Mega Fuck Yeah!

    Who knows! I’m crazy like that.

  6. Jenn permalink
    April 17, 2008 1:42 am

    I love bloggers. I do. I find I’m inspired by so many of you and wish I wrote that post or I could describe my day and make it sound to eloquent. I love the connections and relationships I develop with people through blogging. Even if you’re not in Chicago! Though I hope one day we can hang out. We can run through the streets of Chicago screaming Super F-word Yeah! Or, we can take it up a notch and say Mega Fuck Yeah!

    Who knows! I’m crazy like that.

  7. margottobed permalink
    April 17, 2008 2:04 am

    🙂 I understand the sentiment. I occasionally feel under qualified even to be writing about nothing most of the time. It seems to me though that the most successful blogs are completely honest (as you were in this post).

  8. margottobed permalink
    April 17, 2008 2:04 am

    🙂 I understand the sentiment. I occasionally feel under qualified even to be writing about nothing most of the time. It seems to me though that the most successful blogs are completely honest (as you were in this post).

  9. ~Angela~ permalink
    April 17, 2008 2:06 am

    1. Thank you!

    2. You’re one of the winners of my Giveaway! So hurry up and send me your address. 🙂

  10. ~Angela~ permalink
    April 17, 2008 2:06 am

    1. Thank you!

    2. You’re one of the winners of my Giveaway! So hurry up and send me your address. 🙂

  11. jessica maria permalink
    April 17, 2008 2:36 am

    Aw! This post is so cute! Thank you!!! See, my barfiness is already rubbing off on you 😀

    And I truly enjoy your blog! You’re such a fun read, seriously.

    Also, hahahaha @ the exes. That’s so great.

  12. jessica maria permalink
    April 17, 2008 2:36 am

    Aw! This post is so cute! Thank you!!! See, my barfiness is already rubbing off on you 😀

    And I truly enjoy your blog! You’re such a fun read, seriously.

    Also, hahahaha @ the exes. That’s so great.

  13. Amanda permalink
    April 17, 2008 2:58 am

    Just wanted to let you know that I’m really enjoying your blog 🙂 It’s nice to read about someone else’s day to day issues that are kind of similar to my own just to know I’m not alone in my crazy almost post-college world.

  14. Amanda permalink
    April 17, 2008 2:58 am

    Just wanted to let you know that I’m really enjoying your blog 🙂 It’s nice to read about someone else’s day to day issues that are kind of similar to my own just to know I’m not alone in my crazy almost post-college world.

  15. Jamie Lovely permalink
    April 17, 2008 3:36 am

    I adore you! I’m really hoping one day we can hang out. I think we’d get along famously. I love your blog always as well. ❤

  16. Jamie Lovely permalink
    April 17, 2008 3:36 am

    I adore you! I’m really hoping one day we can hang out. I think we’d get along famously. I love your blog always as well. ❤

  17. Phil permalink
    April 17, 2008 6:22 am

    Thanks for the nods! I totally blog-identify with you. My blog is pretty much where I dump whatever’s on my mind, onto the screen. And hey, did I tell you? I’m totally looking for a new place. No doubt stories will keep coming… I’ve yet to break the news of this revelation to she-who-must-not-be-named. 🙂

  18. Phil permalink
    April 17, 2008 6:22 am

    Thanks for the nods! I totally blog-identify with you. My blog is pretty much where I dump whatever’s on my mind, onto the screen. And hey, did I tell you? I’m totally looking for a new place. No doubt stories will keep coming… I’ve yet to break the news of this revelation to she-who-must-not-be-named. 🙂

  19. Ashley permalink
    April 17, 2008 1:37 pm

    Hi! I just found your blog. Frankly, I’m excited to read the ramblings of a directionless college senior (that was me one year ago. now i am directionless 23 year old. sooo much better, right?!)

    Blogging rocks.

  20. Ashley permalink
    April 17, 2008 1:37 pm

    Hi! I just found your blog. Frankly, I’m excited to read the ramblings of a directionless college senior (that was me one year ago. now i am directionless 23 year old. sooo much better, right?!)

    Blogging rocks.

  21. sandy permalink
    April 17, 2008 7:14 pm

    First of all, you totally underestimate yourself. I’ve read blogs that are basically just “this is what I did today, here ya go..”, and then I’ve stopped reading them. Yours is much more entertaining than that, obviously, because it keeps people coming back. (I know I do!) I love the fact that you’re so real, and that I can really empathize with a lot of what you talk about- um, did you say directionless? Yeah.
    So, seriously, thank you for the sweet words- but give yourself credit too. We all come here for a reason 🙂

  22. sandy permalink
    April 17, 2008 7:14 pm

    First of all, you totally underestimate yourself. I’ve read blogs that are basically just “this is what I did today, here ya go..”, and then I’ve stopped reading them. Yours is much more entertaining than that, obviously, because it keeps people coming back. (I know I do!) I love the fact that you’re so real, and that I can really empathize with a lot of what you talk about- um, did you say directionless? Yeah.
    So, seriously, thank you for the sweet words- but give yourself credit too. We all come here for a reason 🙂

  23. Ashley permalink
    April 17, 2008 8:26 pm

    i recently had someone tell me i inspired them to blog and it was very sweet. i dont know what i’d do without blogging….sometimes i feel frustrated by it, but it keeps me sane, i think.

  24. Ashley permalink
    April 17, 2008 8:26 pm

    i recently had someone tell me i inspired them to blog and it was very sweet. i dont know what i’d do without blogging….sometimes i feel frustrated by it, but it keeps me sane, i think.

  25. Megan permalink
    April 17, 2008 9:43 pm

    I love this post– I completely know what you’re talking about, not feeling like I’m “entertaining” all the time.

    Oh, and I have tagged you! This probably means you’re it… 🙂

  26. Megan permalink
    April 17, 2008 9:43 pm

    I love this post– I completely know what you’re talking about, not feeling like I’m “entertaining” all the time.

    Oh, and I have tagged you! This probably means you’re it… 🙂

  27. Kiera permalink
    April 17, 2008 11:38 pm

    Hey, I’m new your blog.

    I can certainly relate some of things you’ve mentioned. I don’t think I’ve found my blogging niche either. Which may or may not be a good thing.

  28. Kiera permalink
    April 17, 2008 11:38 pm

    Hey, I’m new your blog.

    I can certainly relate some of things you’ve mentioned. I don’t think I’ve found my blogging niche either. Which may or may not be a good thing.

  29. Becky permalink
    April 18, 2008 4:03 pm

    I love that you called me out on reading it for the sake of finding my name/pictures of me. Might be true…

  30. Becky permalink
    April 18, 2008 4:03 pm

    I love that you called me out on reading it for the sake of finding my name/pictures of me. Might be true…

  31. Gooseberried permalink
    April 19, 2008 6:59 pm

    Thanks so much for the shout out! I have no idea how I found you, but I’m glad you did. Totally with you on the BFF thing. Man, I gotta go visit you! Maybe after the camp thing.

    Also, I would totally punch someone in the face if you asked me to! 😉

  32. Gooseberried permalink
    April 19, 2008 6:59 pm

    Thanks so much for the shout out! I have no idea how I found you, but I’m glad you did. Totally with you on the BFF thing. Man, I gotta go visit you! Maybe after the camp thing.

    Also, I would totally punch someone in the face if you asked me to! 😉

  33. Nate Ring permalink
    April 21, 2008 1:36 pm

    I have no solid comment to leave, that I couldn’t say in person.

    Needless to say, your blog is alway entertaining to read–with or without mention of myself.

  34. Nate Ring permalink
    April 21, 2008 1:36 pm

    I have no solid comment to leave, that I couldn’t say in person.

    Needless to say, your blog is alway entertaining to read–with or without mention of myself.

  35. The Underdog permalink
    April 21, 2008 4:00 pm

    You know, I just recently discovered your blog here and will be sad if you don’t write so that I too can keep tabs on you. 🙂

    Don’t stop!

    -Miranda

  36. The Underdog permalink
    April 21, 2008 4:00 pm

    You know, I just recently discovered your blog here and will be sad if you don’t write so that I too can keep tabs on you. 🙂

    Don’t stop!

    -Miranda

  37. Traci Anne permalink
    April 28, 2008 6:54 pm

    Clearly I’m an asshole and haven’t checked my Google Reader in fo-eh-var… thanks for the namecheck! And for the record, you ARE adorable.

    I think it’s time for a new vlog…

  38. Traci Anne permalink
    April 28, 2008 6:54 pm

    Clearly I’m an asshole and haven’t checked my Google Reader in fo-eh-var… thanks for the namecheck! And for the record, you ARE adorable.

    I think it’s time for a new vlog…

Leave a Reply

