Skip to content

Who says nothing cool happens in Indiana?

April 22, 2008

I’m alive, I promise.

This week and next are kind of nuts. All of the activities I’m in want to have their final send-off dinners, presentations, convocations, hoodings, parties, receptions, cookouts, etc in the next 14 days. Which is totally cool… if I didn’t have a paper and two projects due, and my senior thesis to revise and present. I digress. Really. Eight days of classes left. I can quit complaining.

So there was an earthquake in Indiana last week. I woke up at 5:45 to my bed shaking. My thoughts went in this order:
What the fuck?
Where am I? Is this dorm haunted? No, it’s only four years old.
What did I do last night? Did I drink? No, totally sober.
Wait, isn’t there a fault line in the midwest? Whatever, I’m really tired.
ZZZzzzzzzzz…

So yes, “earthquake” did cross my mind in my hardly conscious state. I woke up to my alarm, flipped on the news, and heard “earthquake” and thought, Yesssssss, I was totally right!!! Because, let’s face it, I’m full of myself and LOVE when I’m right, even when no one was around to disagree.

This is the one time I’m grateful I’m the World’s Lightest Sleeper. I woke up for an event that happens once in every few decades. And my butt shook for it. (Seriously, it was my ass shaking that woke me up.)

And now for something completely different…
Regarding Twitter, what is the past tense of “tweet?” It’s probably “tweeted,” right? I guess one might say “twitted,” in regards to the site in question… but I kinda like the idea of using “twat” instead. And by “kinda like the idea,” I mean to say that I think it’s hysterically vulgar and delightfully inappropriate.

Mental tangent:
Screw you, Jim and Pam. Joe and I have been together longer. Jerks.
(WTF EVERYONE’S GETTING ENGAGED)

22 Comments leave one →
  1. ~Angela~ permalink
    April 22, 2008 12:26 pm

    Prepare yourself: the next several years of your life will be marked by people getting engaged/married/pregnant everywhere. Don’t let it freak you out.

    For the record, I dated Jake for over 2 years, and we never ONCE talked about marriage.

    That, said, I love Jim and Pam. No matter how wholly unbelievable their timeline may be (a ring after a week of dating? HA!).

  2. ~Angela~ permalink
    April 22, 2008 12:26 pm

    Prepare yourself: the next several years of your life will be marked by people getting engaged/married/pregnant everywhere. Don’t let it freak you out.

    For the record, I dated Jake for over 2 years, and we never ONCE talked about marriage.

    That, said, I love Jim and Pam. No matter how wholly unbelievable their timeline may be (a ring after a week of dating? HA!).

  3. Ashley permalink
    April 22, 2008 4:41 pm

    Haha! Yes, Angela is right – in the year since I’ve graduated, 1 friend got married and THREE of my closest friends got engaged. I now only have a few close friends who are not engaged. It’s crazy. (Not like I’m any different!)

    Okay, so I don’t think PB&J are gonna get engaged. In fact, I think that’d be way too Friends-y of them. The Office works differently, I think…maybe not.

    (Isn’t PB&J a fun nickname for them!? I saw someone else use it and loved it!)

  4. Ashley permalink
    April 22, 2008 4:41 pm

    Haha! Yes, Angela is right – in the year since I’ve graduated, 1 friend got married and THREE of my closest friends got engaged. I now only have a few close friends who are not engaged. It’s crazy. (Not like I’m any different!)

    Okay, so I don’t think PB&J are gonna get engaged. In fact, I think that’d be way too Friends-y of them. The Office works differently, I think…maybe not.

    (Isn’t PB&J a fun nickname for them!? I saw someone else use it and loved it!)

  5. Jenn permalink
    April 22, 2008 4:52 pm

    If it makes you feel any better, I’m not getting engaged.

    I’m so bummed that I missed the earthquake. I could sleep through anything 😦

  6. Jenn permalink
    April 22, 2008 4:52 pm

    If it makes you feel any better, I’m not getting engaged.

    I’m so bummed that I missed the earthquake. I could sleep through anything 😦

  7. Katelin permalink
    April 22, 2008 10:22 pm

    I’m always glad to hear that earthquakes happen somewhere other than California, haha. But glad it wasn’t a bad one.

  8. Katelin permalink
    April 22, 2008 10:22 pm

    I’m always glad to hear that earthquakes happen somewhere other than California, haha. But glad it wasn’t a bad one.

  9. jessica maria permalink
    April 23, 2008 2:19 am

    NO, really, everyone is getting engaged. It’s SO weird.

  10. jessica maria permalink
    April 23, 2008 2:19 am

    NO, really, everyone is getting engaged. It’s SO weird.

  11. rachel elizabeth permalink
    April 23, 2008 7:13 pm

    i so hear you on the friends getting engaged / pregnant. my friends have been dropping like flies and i’m left staring at my bf of almost FOUR YEARS like…”hello!!!”

    and

    i could totally sleep through an earthquake. i’ve made it through a hurricane, which you know… FEELS like an earthquake.

    xoxox

  12. rachel elizabeth permalink
    April 23, 2008 7:13 pm

    i so hear you on the friends getting engaged / pregnant. my friends have been dropping like flies and i’m left staring at my bf of almost FOUR YEARS like…”hello!!!”

    and

    i could totally sleep through an earthquake. i’ve made it through a hurricane, which you know… FEELS like an earthquake.

    xoxox

  13. April 23, 2008 7:36 pm

    Crazy about the earthquake. I didn’t even know about it until I signed onto Twitter that day and saw everyone talking about it. Sad? I think so.

    The whole engagement/marriage/baby thing is definitely in the water now. It’s kind of scary, no? And no matter how ridiculous their timeline, I will always love Jim and Pam…

  14. April 23, 2008 7:36 pm

    Crazy about the earthquake. I didn’t even know about it until I signed onto Twitter that day and saw everyone talking about it. Sad? I think so.

    The whole engagement/marriage/baby thing is definitely in the water now. It’s kind of scary, no? And no matter how ridiculous their timeline, I will always love Jim and Pam…

  15. amanda rae permalink
    April 24, 2008 3:00 pm

    so i’m completely retarded and didn’t even realize that you live in the south bend-ish area, because i live about a half hour away from there in michigan! who knew?

  16. amanda rae permalink
    April 24, 2008 3:00 pm

    so i’m completely retarded and didn’t even realize that you live in the south bend-ish area, because i live about a half hour away from there in michigan! who knew?

  17. amanda rae permalink
    April 24, 2008 3:01 pm

    oh yeah, i’m totally pissed that i missed that earthquake AND i’m the only one out of my friends what isn’t married or getting married this summer.

  18. amanda rae permalink
    April 24, 2008 3:01 pm

    oh yeah, i’m totally pissed that i missed that earthquake AND i’m the only one out of my friends what isn’t married or getting married this summer.

  19. Ashley permalink
    April 24, 2008 7:16 pm

    i think it is tweeted. but somehow that sounds….dirty.

    I LOVE JIM & PAM! love love love.

  20. Ashley permalink
    April 24, 2008 7:16 pm

    i think it is tweeted. but somehow that sounds….dirty.

    I LOVE JIM & PAM! love love love.

  21. sandy permalink
    April 24, 2008 7:53 pm

    I’m with you- one friend just recently got married, and 2 are engaged. But Jim and Pam? I don’t care. They’re so fricken cute that I don’t mind adding another engaged couple to the mix!
    Also, I completely slept through the earthquake. I was SO pissed! But there was one a few years back in the middle of the night, a much smaller one, that I felt. So. At least I’ve felt one!

  22. sandy permalink
    April 24, 2008 7:53 pm

    I’m with you- one friend just recently got married, and 2 are engaged. But Jim and Pam? I don’t care. They’re so fricken cute that I don’t mind adding another engaged couple to the mix!
    Also, I completely slept through the earthquake. I was SO pissed! But there was one a few years back in the middle of the night, a much smaller one, that I felt. So. At least I’ve felt one!

Leave a Reply

