Skip to content

Writing as Therapy

April 24, 2008

I’m having a crappy day. So, instead of complaining, I’m celebrating what I love.

I love the laughter of children. I love hugs from toddlers. I love being comforted by a held hand, the strong reassurance of a mentor who’s been there.

I love getting mail, especially packages. I love handwritten letters. I love sending cards for no reason. I love new stamps and free address labels from charities I’ve donated to.

I love hot tea. I love iced tea. I love hot coffee with special creamers. I love chai. I love lattes, especially with caramel or raspberry flavoring. I love whipped cream. I love real Italian cappuccinos. I love hot tea in the evening.

I love food. I love popcorn with M&Ms when the M&Ms get warm and soft. I love sweet and salty things together. I love chocolate covered pretzels and pretzels dipped in yogurt. I love expensive ice cream. I love gelato with real whipped cream. I love fresh fruit, blood oranges, granny smith apples, pineapple, coconut, and things flavored with real banana. I love summer vegetables, sauteed squash and mushrooms, and grilled zucchini. I love asparagus and snap peas. I love pasta with lots of meat in the sauce. I love mashed potatoes and gravy, especially served with Polish dinners. I love grilled salmon on a bed of rice. I love expensive food that you have to eat slowly because the portions are small, but it fills you up anyways because you’re slowly savoring every bite.

I love flavored rum in fruit juice. I love margaritas with lots of salt and a side of tortilla chips. I love cranberry wine and sweet riesling. I love Irish car bombs and Irish car bomb sundaes. I love specialty beers, especially citrus or pumpkin flavors. I love trying new beers.

I love my bed. I love crawling into bed when I’m exhausted and the room is cold but it’s warm under the covers. I love waking up and laying in bed when I don’t have anything to do that morning.

I love new shoes (OMG I LOVE new shoes). I love the way my heels click on pavement. I love the power I feel in pointy stilettos. I love matching outfits to shoes, instead of shoes to outfits.
I love when my mascara turns out just right. I love big funky earrings. I love jeans and yoga pants. I love my French cross necklace. I love tan lines. I love wearing lipstick to important things. I love my $15 organic lavender lotion and my $1 Target lotion.

I love crossing things off my To Do lists. I love throwing away completed To Do lists. I love when there is no To Do list.

I love fuzzy animals. I love when my cat curls up on my lap and nuzzles me. I love watching the birds in my backyard. I love that I can name all sorts of birds. I love puppies and small yappy dogs.

I love television. I love Jim & Pam. I love Turk & JD. I love Chuck & Ned. I love unique, smart comedies. I love marathons of my favorite shows. I love the Food Network. I love Comedy Central’s reruns of The Daily Show, The Colbert Report, and Scrubs. I love CNN. I love knowing I can name nearly all of the correspondents on CNN. I love Don Lemon, Campbell Brown, Anderson Cooper, and Larry King’s outrageous suspenders.

I love laughing so hard I cry. I love sharing moments. I love snuggling, spooning, and laying my head on his chest. I love kisses on the forehead. I love warm days and cool nights. I love the sun, I love an endless sky of stars, I love driving in the rain with loud music. I love becoming obsessed with new CDs. I love music I can sing along to. I love music with a good message.

I love politics. I love fighting for civil rights for everyone. I love recycling. I love feminist men. I love working towards a greater good. I love believing in people rather than dogma.

I love the color red. I love surprises. I love biographies. I love my school. I love football. I love hockey. I love flowers. I love sparkly things. I love my computer. I love blogs. I love comments. 😉

32 Comments leave one →
  1. Katelin permalink
    April 24, 2008 11:46 pm

    I absolutely love real mail, like seriously I’m obsessed. And little kids, yeah I’m a sucker for them too 🙂

  2. Katelin permalink
    April 24, 2008 11:46 pm

    I absolutely love real mail, like seriously I’m obsessed. And little kids, yeah I’m a sucker for them too 🙂

  3. Ashley D permalink
    April 25, 2008 12:13 am

    I love sending cards for no reason, too. As in I just bought a card for a friend earlier today. And I love margaritas with salt, laying in bed, and expensive food. 🙂

  4. Ashley D permalink
    April 25, 2008 12:13 am

    I love sending cards for no reason, too. As in I just bought a card for a friend earlier today. And I love margaritas with salt, laying in bed, and expensive food. 🙂

  5. andrea permalink
    April 25, 2008 12:41 am

    I love these blog… I love almost everything on your list!

    I especially love mail… sending and receiving. Drop me an e-mail with your address and I’ll send you something! No joke.

  6. andrea permalink
    April 25, 2008 12:41 am

    I love these blog… I love almost everything on your list!

    I especially love mail… sending and receiving. Drop me an e-mail with your address and I’ll send you something! No joke.

  7. joe permalink
    April 25, 2008 12:50 am

    i love you.

  8. joe permalink
    April 25, 2008 12:50 am

    i love you.

  9. Jamie Lovely permalink
    April 25, 2008 1:36 am

    I love entries like this. It makes me feel good reading it.

  10. Jamie Lovely permalink
    April 25, 2008 1:36 am

    I love entries like this. It makes me feel good reading it.

  11. magda permalink
    April 25, 2008 3:24 am

    love love love! Such a happy post. The best kind of therapy out there, really 🙂

  12. magda permalink
    April 25, 2008 3:24 am

    love love love! Such a happy post. The best kind of therapy out there, really 🙂

  13. jessica maria permalink
    April 25, 2008 5:38 am

    I loooooove love…and love posts 😀 great job!

  14. jessica maria permalink
    April 25, 2008 5:38 am

    I loooooove love…and love posts 😀 great job!

  15. Jenn permalink
    April 25, 2008 4:16 pm

    I love yogurt covered pretzels, crossing things off of my to-do list and reading people’s “I Love” lists. I’m pretty sure we should be mail buddies.

    Hope your day is going well.

  16. Jenn permalink
    April 25, 2008 4:16 pm

    I love yogurt covered pretzels, crossing things off of my to-do list and reading people’s “I Love” lists. I’m pretty sure we should be mail buddies.

    Hope your day is going well.

  17. whatsthat permalink
    April 25, 2008 10:17 pm

    What a wonderful post, it made me realize that I love a lot of those things too and also I could really go for some tea!

  18. whatsthat permalink
    April 25, 2008 10:17 pm

    What a wonderful post, it made me realize that I love a lot of those things too and also I could really go for some tea!

  19. Nate Ring permalink
    April 25, 2008 11:28 pm

    I also love margaritas with a side of chips and salsa, but more over, I love spending that time with you and Kelly! – Becky

  20. Nate Ring permalink
    April 25, 2008 11:28 pm

    I also love margaritas with a side of chips and salsa, but more over, I love spending that time with you and Kelly! – Becky

  21. Nate Ring permalink
    April 25, 2008 11:32 pm

    There are a many great things to love, but I love good friends. I really enjoyed this blog post today. Maybe you can teach the theologians in my class how to just sit down and love something, not analyze it until its a heap of debate.

  22. Nate Ring permalink
    April 25, 2008 11:32 pm

    There are a many great things to love, but I love good friends. I really enjoyed this blog post today. Maybe you can teach the theologians in my class how to just sit down and love something, not analyze it until its a heap of debate.

  23. wishcake permalink
    April 26, 2008 4:32 pm

    What a lovely entry! It even gave me that warm and fuzzy feeling by reading it. 🙂

  24. wishcake permalink
    April 26, 2008 4:32 pm

    What a lovely entry! It even gave me that warm and fuzzy feeling by reading it. 🙂

  25. sandy permalink
    April 26, 2008 9:12 pm

    I love this entry 🙂 and I love margaritas with salt & chips on the side- in fact, that’s what I’ll be having all night..

  26. sandy permalink
    April 26, 2008 9:12 pm

    I love this entry 🙂 and I love margaritas with salt & chips on the side- in fact, that’s what I’ll be having all night..

  27. Elisabeth permalink
    April 27, 2008 7:42 pm

    Chuck and Ned are my favorite TV couple! I love your list.

  28. Elisabeth permalink
    April 27, 2008 7:42 pm

    Chuck and Ned are my favorite TV couple! I love your list.

  29. April 28, 2008 4:23 am

    Umm, I totally love your list and the fact that you wrote it on a crappy day. And we share a lot of loves.

  30. April 28, 2008 4:23 am

    Umm, I totally love your list and the fact that you wrote it on a crappy day. And we share a lot of loves.

  31. Holly permalink
    April 30, 2008 1:59 am

    Everyone seems to be doing these things lately! I think they’re awesome. 🙂

  32. Holly permalink
    April 30, 2008 1:59 am

    Everyone seems to be doing these things lately! I think they’re awesome. 🙂

Leave a Reply

