Skip to content

More letters to life’s editors

May 5, 2008

Dear Paper,
You are approximately one and a half months late as it is. If you weren’t one of two assignments for my independent study, I would probably neglect you entirely. But, since my completion of you is dependent upon graduating, I will eventually throw something together this evening. I mean, I read the books that you will be written on, but I’ve been so unmotivated to write you. The books were rather uninspiring. But I’ve already started graduation festivities and you, dear paper, are just getting in the way. It’s not like you’re extremely challenging. I know I’ll probably finish you in less than two hours, I just can’t muster the energy to spend time on you. I’m sorry.
Love,
Senioritis

Dear 2nd floor study room,
I think I’m really going to miss you. I’ve spent a lot of time with you this past semester. I like that I can look out your big ol’ window and watch people coming in and out of the building. I like that I can adjust your temperature and not bug anyone else. I like that you’re located next door to my apartment so it’s not too much of a hassle to bring my dinner over or run back to pee. I like that you’re almost always empty, like my own little study secret.
Love,
The Anti-Social

Dear Twitter,
Let me do my homework, OK???
Love,
Queen Procrastination

Dear Beau Named Joe,
Stop looking so cute across the table from me. I’m almost going to miss all that graph paper you use when we graduate.
Love,
Sappy McSapfest
P.S. Have you ever used a different pencil than that one?

Dear contest winners,
Your goodies are going to be sent out in the next few days! They’ll probably cost an arm and a leg to send (lucky you!!) but it’s so worth it.
Love,
Paying it forward

Dear Renee,
Congrats on winning the Women’s Studies Prize at the Honors Convocation today. You rock.
Love,
Yourself

28 Comments leave one →
  1. Gooseberried permalink
    May 5, 2008 6:27 am

    Congrats! Can’t wait to get my thingy! 🙂

  2. Gooseberried permalink
    May 5, 2008 6:27 am

    Congrats! Can’t wait to get my thingy! 🙂

  3. Holly permalink
    May 5, 2008 8:07 am

    Haha awesome, I like the one about the study room especially. 🙂

  4. Holly permalink
    May 5, 2008 8:07 am

    Haha awesome, I like the one about the study room especially. 🙂

  5. Ashley permalink
    May 5, 2008 3:32 pm

    Dear Paying It Forward,

    Thank you so much, I hope it’s not too much trouble. Enjoy your last few days.

    Love,
    Our Little Apartment

    Dear Yourself,
    CONGRATS!!!
    Love, Ashley

  6. Ashley permalink
    May 5, 2008 3:32 pm

    Dear Paying It Forward,

    Thank you so much, I hope it’s not too much trouble. Enjoy your last few days.

    Love,
    Our Little Apartment

    Dear Yourself,
    CONGRATS!!!
    Love, Ashley

  7. Amanda permalink
    May 5, 2008 3:38 pm

    First things first, congrats! Second, I feel you with the paper-writing. I’m not even a senior yet, but finishing up my internship paper this semester was like pulling teeth. When everything is ending, the last thing you want to do is write. Just remember, you are thisclose to being done!

  8. Amanda permalink
    May 5, 2008 3:38 pm

    First things first, congrats! Second, I feel you with the paper-writing. I’m not even a senior yet, but finishing up my internship paper this semester was like pulling teeth. When everything is ending, the last thing you want to do is write. Just remember, you are thisclose to being done!

  9. Traci Anne permalink
    May 5, 2008 5:29 pm

    Congratulations!!!!!

    Also, I miss college.

  10. Traci Anne permalink
    May 5, 2008 5:29 pm

    Congratulations!!!!!

    Also, I miss college.

  11. Jamie Lovely permalink
    May 5, 2008 5:40 pm

    CONGRATS!!!

  12. Jamie Lovely permalink
    May 5, 2008 5:40 pm

    CONGRATS!!!

  13. Katelin permalink
    May 5, 2008 6:55 pm

    Aw Congrats on the award, definitely a great way to end the school year!

  14. Katelin permalink
    May 5, 2008 6:55 pm

    Aw Congrats on the award, definitely a great way to end the school year!

  15. ~Angela~ permalink
    May 6, 2008 1:04 am

    To Renee,
    Congratulations on your award.
    Signed, Aiea

  16. ~Angela~ permalink
    May 6, 2008 1:04 am

    To Renee,
    Congratulations on your award.
    Signed, Aiea

  17. Phil permalink
    May 6, 2008 5:48 am

    Dear Renee,

    I heart you. Congrats and all that!

    ~Phil

  18. Phil permalink
    May 6, 2008 5:48 am

    Dear Renee,

    I heart you. Congrats and all that!

    ~Phil

  19. Chelsea Talks Smack permalink
    May 6, 2008 3:45 pm

    CONGRATS!!!

  20. Chelsea Talks Smack permalink
    May 6, 2008 3:45 pm

    CONGRATS!!!

  21. andrea permalink
    May 7, 2008 12:32 am

    Congrats on the award!

  22. andrea permalink
    May 7, 2008 12:32 am

    Congrats on the award!

  23. May 7, 2008 5:30 am

    I totally agree with the senioritis letter. I had issues finishing my last article because I just didn’t care. But the good thing is that we’re both done with these now, right?

    I’m looking forward to the Pay it Forward goodies! Yay!

    Congrats on your award!

  24. May 7, 2008 5:30 am

    I totally agree with the senioritis letter. I had issues finishing my last article because I just didn’t care. But the good thing is that we’re both done with these now, right?

    I’m looking forward to the Pay it Forward goodies! Yay!

    Congrats on your award!

  25. jessica maria permalink
    May 7, 2008 1:00 pm

    Congrats!! 😀

    Also, this was hilarious.

  26. jessica maria permalink
    May 7, 2008 1:00 pm

    Congrats!! 😀

    Also, this was hilarious.

  27. Tipp permalink
    May 8, 2008 1:38 am

    Aww, congrats on your award!!

  28. Tipp permalink
    May 8, 2008 1:38 am

    Aww, congrats on your award!!

Leave a Reply

