Skip to content

Another day in the Reenaeborhood

May 9, 2008

My name is Renee.
R-E-N-E-E.
The traditional spelling. Not so hard, right?

Wrong.
Trips to Panera are a treat, not just for the delicious black bean soup, but because the person at the register always asks my name. Then they attempt to spell it on my receipt.

I really need to start collecting these receipts.

I’m pretty used to misspellings of “Rene” and “Renae,” I’ve even received a “Renay.” Okay, all of these are still understandable. I mean, at least “Renae” and “Renay” are phonetic. And “Rene” is the masculine spelling. Fine and dandy. However, tonight? Wow, tonight was special:
Renee: “I’d like a half and half combo with the Mediterranean Veggie sandwich and black bean soup.”
Register Doofus: “Can I get your name, ma’am?”
(Did he REALLY just call me “ma’am”???)
Renee: “It’s Renee.”

Then I watched him attempt to spell my name. Now, I couldn’t see the screen, but I was certain there were NOT two E’s at the end. Something went amiss.
Doofus hands me my receipt. Rather, he hands “Reenae” her receipt.
R-E-E-N-A-E
How is this even possible?!

It’s as if that nurse at the podiatrist’s office who calls me “Ree-Nee” spoke a further bastardized version of my name to Doofus and he butchered it even more. I think that’s the worst it’s ever been spelled.
Any similar stories, friends?

42 Comments leave one →
  1. sandy permalink
    May 9, 2008 1:38 am

    Wow, yeah, um.. how could be possibly think THAT is how you spell it? I find it funny when people overspell words. You know, add extra letters in, make it more complicated than it needs to be. Seriously, just sound it out. I’ve had some similar experiences, and I actually came close to writing them down, until I realized I’d be giving up my real name. Ha. I’m a doofus (and a potentially bad anonymous blogger)

  2. sandy permalink
    May 9, 2008 1:38 am

    Wow, yeah, um.. how could be possibly think THAT is how you spell it? I find it funny when people overspell words. You know, add extra letters in, make it more complicated than it needs to be. Seriously, just sound it out. I’ve had some similar experiences, and I actually came close to writing them down, until I realized I’d be giving up my real name. Ha. I’m a doofus (and a potentially bad anonymous blogger)

  3. Arielle permalink
    May 9, 2008 1:47 am

    I’ve had people spell my name with 2 “r”s. One person somehow managed to throw an “h” in there. I don’t even know, but I feel your pain.

  4. Arielle permalink
    May 9, 2008 1:47 am

    I’ve had people spell my name with 2 “r”s. One person somehow managed to throw an “h” in there. I don’t even know, but I feel your pain.

  5. Deutlich permalink
    May 9, 2008 1:53 am

    Random note: Renee is my middle name!

  6. Deutlich permalink
    May 9, 2008 1:53 am

    Random note: Renee is my middle name!

  7. May 9, 2008 2:55 am

    Oh, wow. My name has been horribly misspelled, too. Aaron, Erinn, Aren, Urn. Yes, Urn. Like a vase.

    I know how you feel. And I don’t think either of our names are extremely hard to spell.

  8. May 9, 2008 2:55 am

    Oh, wow. My name has been horribly misspelled, too. Aaron, Erinn, Aren, Urn. Yes, Urn. Like a vase.

    I know how you feel. And I don’t think either of our names are extremely hard to spell.

  9. theedeeter permalink
    May 9, 2008 3:06 am

    Story. Of. My. Life.

    I say :”It’s Carole with an E”…and I’ve gotten Careol, Caroel, Carroll, Car-what?

    Yeah, it fucks people up to spell Carol with an E on the end. I used to hate it. Recently, I’ve started to love it 🙂

    ALso, explaining being called Deet is fun sometimes too

  10. theedeeter permalink
    May 9, 2008 3:06 am

    Story. Of. My. Life.

    I say :”It’s Carole with an E”…and I’ve gotten Careol, Caroel, Carroll, Car-what?

    Yeah, it fucks people up to spell Carol with an E on the end. I used to hate it. Recently, I’ve started to love it 🙂

    ALso, explaining being called Deet is fun sometimes too

  11. Phil permalink
    May 9, 2008 3:42 am

    You could always really mess with the heads of people who spell it right, just for fun. “Um, yeah, it’s ReneLLe. The l’s are silent.”

  12. Phil permalink
    May 9, 2008 3:42 am

    You could always really mess with the heads of people who spell it right, just for fun. “Um, yeah, it’s ReneLLe. The l’s are silent.”

  13. Megan permalink
    May 9, 2008 4:29 am

    So, this is more of a last-name thing (although people have called me “meee-gan” before, but I blame that on people bastardizing their own names and confusing things further), but my surname is essentially a compound word. Really, it’s made up of two common words, but something in that combination just makes people lose their minds. “Strand-idge? Stan-rich? Straw-bridge?” Jesus H. Christ! It is NOT that hard.

  14. Megan permalink
    May 9, 2008 4:29 am

    So, this is more of a last-name thing (although people have called me “meee-gan” before, but I blame that on people bastardizing their own names and confusing things further), but my surname is essentially a compound word. Really, it’s made up of two common words, but something in that combination just makes people lose their minds. “Strand-idge? Stan-rich? Straw-bridge?” Jesus H. Christ! It is NOT that hard.

  15. Becky permalink
    May 9, 2008 3:03 pm

    No one spells my first name right, it something about that ‘H’ at the end that really throws them (rebeccaH) and then my last name is just redic. The best moments would be the time someone thought my last name was falafel or the time they announced my little brother at a football game as Daniel Fluff….

  16. Becky permalink
    May 9, 2008 3:03 pm

    No one spells my first name right, it something about that ‘H’ at the end that really throws them (rebeccaH) and then my last name is just redic. The best moments would be the time someone thought my last name was falafel or the time they announced my little brother at a football game as Daniel Fluff….

  17. carrie lea permalink
    May 9, 2008 3:20 pm

    This always happens to me!! I think I will always have to spell my name out for people. There are just too many versions of “Carrie” that actually do exist. Like Kerry, Carey, Keri, Karrie, and (my most hated) the VERB carry.

  18. carrie lea permalink
    May 9, 2008 3:20 pm

    This always happens to me!! I think I will always have to spell my name out for people. There are just too many versions of “Carrie” that actually do exist. Like Kerry, Carey, Keri, Karrie, and (my most hated) the VERB carry.

  19. Traci Anne permalink
    May 9, 2008 3:37 pm

    Tracie, Tracey, Tracy, Teresa (?), Tracee. I was born in the ’80s, put a fucking I on the end. Don’t even get me started on my (not that difficult) last name.

    The worst is when people do it in emails. See, in both of my email addresses (work OR gmail), it’s Traci.lastname@company.com or traciannelastname@gmail.com. You have to spell my first name correctly to send me an email. Then they misspell it in the body. Or when I spell it out to someone, say over the phone or something, then they tack on a y or an E and blame me when I don’t get their email. Idiots!

  20. Traci Anne permalink
    May 9, 2008 3:37 pm

    Tracie, Tracey, Tracy, Teresa (?), Tracee. I was born in the ’80s, put a fucking I on the end. Don’t even get me started on my (not that difficult) last name.

    The worst is when people do it in emails. See, in both of my email addresses (work OR gmail), it’s Traci.lastname@company.com or traciannelastname@gmail.com. You have to spell my first name correctly to send me an email. Then they misspell it in the body. Or when I spell it out to someone, say over the phone or something, then they tack on a y or an E and blame me when I don’t get their email. Idiots!

  21. Anonymous permalink
    May 9, 2008 3:53 pm

    Most people hear what they expect to hear – so when you’ve a name that isn’t that common, they think they heard the next nearest thing.

    “Hi! My name is Colleen”
    “Kelly?”
    “No, Colleen… Kah-LEEN”
    “Right, Kel-ly”
    “Yea sure whatever”

    (I really am a loyal reader! I just couldn’t justify giving up the anon of my blog.)

  22. Anonymous permalink
    May 9, 2008 3:53 pm

    Most people hear what they expect to hear – so when you’ve a name that isn’t that common, they think they heard the next nearest thing.

    “Hi! My name is Colleen”
    “Kelly?”
    “No, Colleen… Kah-LEEN”
    “Right, Kel-ly”
    “Yea sure whatever”

    (I really am a loyal reader! I just couldn’t justify giving up the anon of my blog.)

  23. Katelin permalink
    May 9, 2008 7:11 pm

    Haha wow that is definitely one weird way to spell your name. I’ve had Katelin spelled so many different ways I can’t even keep count anymore. However one of the all time best was Kayteline….ummm okay? Weirdo.

  24. Katelin permalink
    May 9, 2008 7:11 pm

    Haha wow that is definitely one weird way to spell your name. I’ve had Katelin spelled so many different ways I can’t even keep count anymore. However one of the all time best was Kayteline….ummm okay? Weirdo.

  25. whatsthat permalink
    May 10, 2008 1:17 am

    I know exactly how you feel, with the first name of Annette and the last name of LaVine….nobody gets either right. I’ve grown to accept it because it will never change.

  26. whatsthat permalink
    May 10, 2008 1:17 am

    I know exactly how you feel, with the first name of Annette and the last name of LaVine….nobody gets either right. I’ve grown to accept it because it will never change.

  27. ~Angela~ permalink
    May 10, 2008 2:47 pm

    I might actually be able to beat this. I had a friend back in the day who was a horrendous speller. She had classes with me. She saw my name written down on a regular basis. And Angela is a pretty standard name (when I was born, it was in the top 75 names in the country… and even now it’s like 119 or something).

    After being friends with her for about 2.5 years, she wrote me a note that she passed to me during break.

    “To Anjellah”

    Uh… What?

  28. ~Angela~ permalink
    May 10, 2008 2:47 pm

    I might actually be able to beat this. I had a friend back in the day who was a horrendous speller. She had classes with me. She saw my name written down on a regular basis. And Angela is a pretty standard name (when I was born, it was in the top 75 names in the country… and even now it’s like 119 or something).

    After being friends with her for about 2.5 years, she wrote me a note that she passed to me during break.

    “To Anjellah”

    Uh… What?

  29. Jamie Lovely permalink
    May 10, 2008 10:24 pm

    I get all kinds of spellings too: Jamie (the right way!), Jaime, Jaimie, Jayme

    What?

    JAMIE

  30. Jamie Lovely permalink
    May 10, 2008 10:24 pm

    I get all kinds of spellings too: Jamie (the right way!), Jaime, Jaimie, Jayme

    What?

    JAMIE

  31. Nate Ring permalink
    May 11, 2008 1:24 am

    You know how my name gets fucked all the time on campus…
    zach
    nick
    nate
    paul
    rick
    ryan–the actor…

    at least your name resembles itself at the end of the day

    seriously Zach?!

    fucking Sr. A

  32. Nate Ring permalink
    May 11, 2008 1:24 am

    You know how my name gets fucked all the time on campus…
    zach
    nick
    nate
    paul
    rick
    ryan–the actor…

    at least your name resembles itself at the end of the day

    seriously Zach?!

    fucking Sr. A

  33. andrea permalink
    May 11, 2008 3:13 am

    Wow, that’s pretty much horrible. That’s the only bad part about Panera.

    The absolute worst butchering I ever saw was in my high school yearbook. This kid, whom I had classes with all year, crowned me ‘Andereia.’ Maybe I would have forgiven him if five million other people hadn’t written my name all over the page CORRECTLY.

  34. andrea permalink
    May 11, 2008 3:13 am

    Wow, that’s pretty much horrible. That’s the only bad part about Panera.

    The absolute worst butchering I ever saw was in my high school yearbook. This kid, whom I had classes with all year, crowned me ‘Andereia.’ Maybe I would have forgiven him if five million other people hadn’t written my name all over the page CORRECTLY.

  35. brandy permalink
    May 11, 2008 11:38 pm

    I get this. My name is pretty common yet, people insist on spelling it B-R-A-N-D-I-E. And then when I explain that it’s just a “y” at the end, they act like I said it’s actually spelled with a “QGDFAGAD” at the end. Seriously.

  36. brandy permalink
    May 11, 2008 11:38 pm

    I get this. My name is pretty common yet, people insist on spelling it B-R-A-N-D-I-E. And then when I explain that it’s just a “y” at the end, they act like I said it’s actually spelled with a “QGDFAGAD” at the end. Seriously.

  37. Heidi Renée permalink
    May 12, 2008 5:30 pm

    My middle name is Renée, with an accent aigu on the first E after the N. Some people drop this because they don’t want to bother with French accents, while others think it is an apostrophe (don’t even get me started on those people–they deserve their own corner of hell). When I was born, my mom had a fit over how it was spelled on my birth certificate, because, if you are using the French spelling the accent needs to be there, the same as the unaccented letters need to be there. That’s how it is spelled. The birth certificate writer lady couldn’t type the accent with her typewriter, so my mom threw a fit until the lady allowed her to write the accent in (apparently not allowed).

    Surprisingly, people have a ridiculously difficult time with my first name, Heidi. My mother in law has never spelled it correctly, and has never spelled it (incorrectly) the same way twice. Seriously, it’s only five letters! I suspect she does it just to bother me because she doesn’t like me.

  38. Heidi Renée permalink
    May 12, 2008 5:30 pm

    My middle name is Renée, with an accent aigu on the first E after the N. Some people drop this because they don’t want to bother with French accents, while others think it is an apostrophe (don’t even get me started on those people–they deserve their own corner of hell). When I was born, my mom had a fit over how it was spelled on my birth certificate, because, if you are using the French spelling the accent needs to be there, the same as the unaccented letters need to be there. That’s how it is spelled. The birth certificate writer lady couldn’t type the accent with her typewriter, so my mom threw a fit until the lady allowed her to write the accent in (apparently not allowed).

    Surprisingly, people have a ridiculously difficult time with my first name, Heidi. My mother in law has never spelled it correctly, and has never spelled it (incorrectly) the same way twice. Seriously, it’s only five letters! I suspect she does it just to bother me because she doesn’t like me.

  39. fanfrickingtastic permalink
    May 13, 2008 12:04 am

    Panera might not be employing the smartest people on earth, but they definitely make some delicious black bean soup!

    Based on the level of intelligence in this comment…I could probably work at panera.

  40. fanfrickingtastic permalink
    May 13, 2008 12:04 am

    Panera might not be employing the smartest people on earth, but they definitely make some delicious black bean soup!

    Based on the level of intelligence in this comment…I could probably work at panera.

  41. Renee permalink
    May 15, 2008 7:36 pm

    as a fellow Renee – I feel your pain.

    My own grandmother doesn’t spell it right. I’ve seen it spelled Renay, Reenee, Rennee, Rene, Renae, Renne…the list goes on.

    Do you ever have people just give up and call you something else entirely? My old math teacher used to call me “Sunshine” because the name Renee gave him too much trouble.

  42. margottobed permalink
    May 16, 2008 9:02 pm

    i go through this all the time with margot…

    they get really nervous and stare at it and then say ‘margitt or margott’

    terrible.

Leave a Reply

