Skip to content

Beer Me

May 13, 2008


I love beer. I hate cheap-ass nasty beer. No, I’m a beer snob. I’m the girl who judges you and your MGD. I judge your Coors Light and your Bud Select. I even judge your Killian’s.

Why? Because I’m convinced I have really good taste in beer.
(Other things I’m convinced I have really good taste in: movies, politics, espresso, margaritas, computers/computer accessories, shoes)

Trying new beers is a bit of an addiction for the Beau Named Joe and me. I think this started during my semester in Rome. Beer and wine were cheaper than water. When I wasn’t ordering Spankings (peach vodka + Sprite) or Bailey’s coladas, I opted for Guinness or Nastro Azzuro. (I now realize my mistake with Nastro Azzuro… it means “Blue Ribbon” in Italian, like Pabst Blue Ribbon… and that’s what it tastes like. Gross.)

Seasonal beers are my favorite. The local brewery makes THE BEST seasonal beer I’ve ever tasted. They have a pumpkin ale that is TO DIE FOR. Blue Moon also makes a pretty decent fall seasonal beer called Harvest Moon. Their spring seasonal, called Honey Moon, is only alright. I made a mental note to try Sam Adams’ summer seasonal variety pack after seeing it in Target today…

Giving the local pumpkin ale a run for its money is Leinenkugel’s Summer Shandy. I’ve looked into this… apparently shandy is a lemonade/beer mix meant for children. And I can imagine why; this shit is delicious. I know what you’re thinking: “Lemonade and beer? I bet that tastes like Pinesol.” Au contraire, rather than tasting like you’ve just licked the floor of a gas station restroom, this Summer Shandy tastes like a zesty party in your mouth. First you taste lemony goodness and then you taste a light wheat brew and then you get an aftertaste of heaven. It goes down too easily. In the words of my mother, the first one tastes like another. It’s crisp and refreshing and if you drink it, I won’t judge you.

In other news, I’m graduating in five days. Holy shit. My school and the university across the street give their seniors a week to fuck around on campus after finals week. They plan all sorts of nice events, but what I’m most looking forward to is the party on the island. We have a little lake with a little island and apparently the administration thinks it’s a good idea to throw a kegger on it. That’s tomorrow. I’m sure there will be pictures.
And that red dress in recent entries? I’m wearing it again for the beau’s commencement ball on Wednesday. That dress is so hot. I can’t wait. I’m sure there will be pictures from that, too.
The past three nights, I’ve dreamed about getting engaged. On top of that, last night I dreamed all my hair fell out when I brushed it. I looked this stuff up in a dream dictionary at Barnes & Noble today and it wasn’t good. And because last night’s dream consisted of an emerald engagement ring, it was really really not good. WTF? But if all my hair falls out? I’m sure there WON’T be pictures.

23 Comments leave one →
  1. Megan permalink
    May 13, 2008 4:17 am

    I am totally with you on the beer snobbery! If I can buy a 6-pack for less than $5, you just know it’s gonna be bad news.

    Oh, also, congratulations on being almost graduated!

  2. Megan permalink
    May 13, 2008 4:17 am

    I am totally with you on the beer snobbery! If I can buy a 6-pack for less than $5, you just know it’s gonna be bad news.

    Oh, also, congratulations on being almost graduated!

  3. Phil permalink
    May 13, 2008 7:58 am

    You can judge my Killian’s but only if I can judge your Guinness. However, my drink of choice these days has been margaritas, I can’t seem to get enough of them.

  4. Phil permalink
    May 13, 2008 7:58 am

    You can judge my Killian’s but only if I can judge your Guinness. However, my drink of choice these days has been margaritas, I can’t seem to get enough of them.

  5. Traci Anne permalink
    May 13, 2008 5:21 pm

    I drink cheapass beer (or cider) up here, but when I’m at home, I’m all about the Lone Star and Shiner Bock. Trust me, you’ll add Shiner to your awesome list!

    Eeeee almost there! And hey, if your hair falls out, you’ll get to wear some hot wigs, you know?

  6. Traci Anne permalink
    May 13, 2008 5:21 pm

    I drink cheapass beer (or cider) up here, but when I’m at home, I’m all about the Lone Star and Shiner Bock. Trust me, you’ll add Shiner to your awesome list!

    Eeeee almost there! And hey, if your hair falls out, you’ll get to wear some hot wigs, you know?

  7. Nate Ring permalink
    May 13, 2008 6:33 pm

    comming from the fella who studies psychology, let me deem you sane…unless you start pulling your hair out when your stressed. Then you might have trichotillomania.

    And about the beer…I’m too much of a puss to buy beer that will suck. I’d rather go with what I know is good. Although, if you find something fantastic, let me know…I like beer…a lot

  8. Nate Ring permalink
    May 13, 2008 6:33 pm

    comming from the fella who studies psychology, let me deem you sane…unless you start pulling your hair out when your stressed. Then you might have trichotillomania.

    And about the beer…I’m too much of a puss to buy beer that will suck. I’d rather go with what I know is good. Although, if you find something fantastic, let me know…I like beer…a lot

  9. jessica maria permalink
    May 13, 2008 6:50 pm

    yay! beer! and graduation! ha

  10. jessica maria permalink
    May 13, 2008 6:50 pm

    yay! beer! and graduation! ha

  11. Katelin permalink
    May 13, 2008 7:13 pm

    yeah i’m definitely not a beer snob, i don’t really like it. however i am a fan of blue moon, one of the few beers i’ll drink.

    and congrats on almost being done. enjoy your senior year. mine was one of the best weeks ever, i loved it.

  12. Katelin permalink
    May 13, 2008 7:13 pm

    yeah i’m definitely not a beer snob, i don’t really like it. however i am a fan of blue moon, one of the few beers i’ll drink.

    and congrats on almost being done. enjoy your senior year. mine was one of the best weeks ever, i loved it.

  13. May 13, 2008 11:47 pm

    I’m also a beer snob, and I definitely want to try some of that lemonade beer stuff. It sounds like something I would love. (I mean, I DO love strawberry beer…)

    Congrats on graduating soon! It’s crazy how fast the time flies by!

    Also, I got your Pay It Forward package today. Thanks so much! And be looking for a little letter in the mail sometime soon…

  14. May 13, 2008 11:47 pm

    I’m also a beer snob, and I definitely want to try some of that lemonade beer stuff. It sounds like something I would love. (I mean, I DO love strawberry beer…)

    Congrats on graduating soon! It’s crazy how fast the time flies by!

    Also, I got your Pay It Forward package today. Thanks so much! And be looking for a little letter in the mail sometime soon…

  15. Arielle permalink
    May 14, 2008 8:16 pm

    I totally drink cheap gross beer. And I love it. Ah well.

    I got the caption contest prize package today, thanks!! I totally started my diet like 2 days ago and now I’m going to ruin it but I can restart it next week =)

  16. Arielle permalink
    May 14, 2008 8:16 pm

    I totally drink cheap gross beer. And I love it. Ah well.

    I got the caption contest prize package today, thanks!! I totally started my diet like 2 days ago and now I’m going to ruin it but I can restart it next week =)

  17. Renee permalink
    May 15, 2008 7:32 pm

    I’m a beer snob too. I have got to get my hands on that pumpkin ale. I used to be able to get pumpkin ale here, but the brewery stopped making it. 😦

    Here is something that will break your beer-loving heart: while I was in Ireland and drinking Guinness as quickly as they could pour it, the locals were all paying premium prices for Budweiser.

    Very sad.

    Congrats on your awesome GPA! 😀

  18. Working Girl Two permalink
    May 15, 2008 11:22 pm

    wow, i wish i could say i was a beer snob. instead i am a lover of natty light (yikes, i know you probably just fainted at that since it is probably the cheapest of cheap beer). haha, and i loveeeeeeee cider.

  19. Jamie Lovely permalink
    May 16, 2008 12:46 am

    Sounds like an awesome week ahead. Yay for graduation!

  20. Laura permalink
    May 16, 2008 3:59 pm

    Blue Moon is definitely my favorite beer (with a slice or orange please!) And I’m graduating tomorrow, so congratulations to you (and me too)!!! Have fun this weekend!

  21. Love is Electric permalink
    May 16, 2008 4:49 pm

    I love beer as well.

    Congrats on graduating!

  22. ZenDenizen permalink
    May 16, 2008 6:31 pm

    I’m so envious that you’re going thru what is probably the most exciting time of your life.

  23. Nate Ring permalink
    May 19, 2008 2:58 pm

    Lets face it…my tastes in beer is poor at best….

Leave a Reply

