Skip to content

Bittersweet

May 19, 2008

I am officially a college graduate. I officially have a Bachelor of Arts in Communication Studies and Women’s Studies. I am officially a SMC alumna.

It feels strange, surreal. It hasn’t sunken in that I don’t live on campus anymore. I don’t have to attend classes anymore. I don’t have homework or a GPA to stress over.
Then again, I also don’t have my best friends downstairs and my boyfriend down the street. I don’t have my mentors just across the quad or badass internet in my bed.

I don’t believe any of it yet. What do you mean I don’t have class tomorrow? What do you mean I won’t see my friends for months? What do you mean I don’t have a project due next week?

Sad face. The beau named Joe is literally halfway across the world for two weeks, visiting China and Japan with the Notre Dame band. My best friends are working hours away. And I’m stuck at home, where I use a Compaq desktop with dial-up internet, where my mom keeps the temperature around 64 degrees, where the stuff in the fridge isn’t mine, where I live out of boxes and laundry bags.

Happy face. The beau named Joe returns June 1 to stay with me before heading back to Minneapolis, his home. My best friends are only a phone call away. And I’m living at home, where my bed is soft and queen sized, where I sleep in and wake up to my bird chirping, where I play with the Yorkie puppy across the street, where my cat Gus whines if I don’t pet him, where I can play with my graduation present– a red Kitchen Aid mixer!

My graduation present to myself? A day at the spa. I think I’m going to go here. Any suggestions on what I should get done. The sky is the limit because I deserve it.

Edited to add: I won’t be commenting on other blogs as much as I have in the past because of the frustration of dial up. I’ll keep up as much as possible, though!

13 Comments leave one →
  1. Katelin permalink
    May 19, 2008 8:30 pm

    i definitely went through that same wave of disbelief. i graduated two years ago and i still haven’t fully adjusted, don’t know if i ever will. but definitely embrace email and phone calls with your friends, it’s always nice to know they’re only that far away.

  2. jessica maria permalink
    May 19, 2008 8:45 pm

    Aw, my boyfs came to me from Minneapolis, too! (Though, that’s not his “hometown” – he just lived there for five years before moving to NYC for me!)

    Sweet mixer present!! June 1st is SO SOON! That’s pretty much the next time I see Jesse, too.

    Yay no homework! ha

  3. ~Angela~ permalink
    May 19, 2008 8:51 pm

    Congratulations!

    For me, it took about 6 months to sink in. It was when I went back to visit and see a mainstage in November after graduating that I was like “Huh. Look at this place.”, instead of “I still belong here.” And suddenly, the $6 all-you-could-eat dining hall seemed like a gourmet bargain. Weird.

  4. Traci Anne permalink
    May 19, 2008 9:19 pm

    I agree with every single thing Katelin says, except that I graduated three(!!!!) years ago.

    That said, when I go back to Baylor campus, I immediately turn back into my squealy sorority girl self. It’s like I never left! Oh yes, and re: the spa – skip the facial. Feels ok but totally pointless. Go for the massage, and if they have one of those packages where they use scrub on you all over, DO IT. You will feel like heaven!

  5. sandy permalink
    May 19, 2008 11:10 pm

    Aw! Well congrats on graduating anyway. I can see why it would be such a hard, huge adjustment to make. I’m still in school, but living at home. So my life? Will change drastically once I finally go away somewhere different. Keep your head up, enjoy living at home for the time being (until it gets crazy annoying) and try your best to keep in touch with the friends. AND? Enjoy the no homework/project, and keep in mind that I’m incredibly jealous =)

  6. Tipp permalink
    May 20, 2008 12:08 am

    A facial, massage and a mani/pedi are the musts!

    ENJOY!!

  7. Jenn permalink
    May 20, 2008 12:42 am

    A day at the spa seems like a perfect way to celebrate graduation.

  8. Nate Ring permalink
    May 20, 2008 12:28 pm

    Oh becky hasn’t actually developed her blog…but i know she will talk about the waggling of the finger. Mostly because it is a funny topic. if she doesn’t cover it, I will.

    Yeah, a lot of my friends have left too…sadly. I do have a few in town though–including yourself.

    And as for colfax spa, heated river rock therapy, or a deep tissue massage. My sister use to give me those when she was training to be a massage therapist.

  9. ZenDenizen permalink
    May 20, 2008 9:30 pm

    Wow, people in Indiana get Brazilians!

  10. Amanda permalink
    May 20, 2008 10:33 pm

    Woo, kitchen aid mixers rock! My mom used to promise to buy me one for my wedding, but lately this is seeming a distant prospect, so perhaps a graduation gift as well?? Who says only married people can bake?

    Oh, and of course, congratulations!

  11. andrea permalink
    May 21, 2008 1:13 am

    Its nice to know through your comments that I’m not the only one who’s not adjusted. I graduated a year ago and I’m still getting used to it. It’s definitely weird not going by the school calendar.

  12. Holly permalink
    May 21, 2008 6:37 am

    Congratulations on your graduation! 🙂

  13. Becky permalink
    May 22, 2008 1:08 am

    I vote facial for your day at the spa.

    ps. I MISS YOU!

Leave a Reply

