Skip to content

Not-So-Deep Thoughts on a Friday

May 30, 2008

>> I’m currently obsessed with the song “I Stand” by Idina Menzel: I stand for the power to change/I live for the perfect day/I love till it hurts like crazy/I hope for a hero to save me/I stand for the strange and lonely/I believe there’s a better place/I don’t know if the sky is heaven/But I pray anyway.

>> Why is it that I love So You Think You Can Dance but hate American Idol? Is it because I’m a better singer than I am a dancer? I like to point out flaws in singers –because I can– but I’m always in awe of the dancers. As the least flexible member of the dance team, I can appreciate the lines I could never achieve.

>> I know the news is talking about the collapsed crane and everything, but I can’t keep myself from giggling when the press guy says “erection.”

>> If you haven’t sent me your address for the 20SB Postcard Exchange, you have about 12 more hours to do so! And if you have, spread the word! Remember: thereneeborhood (at) gmail (dot) com

>> I had two distinctly different tragic dreams last night. My dog made an appearance in both. She’s been dead since January 2005. What the hell? In the first dream, I was clutching her while I cried because my dad had just been stabbed. (I used to always hold her when I cried.) In the second dream, I was in the basement keeping her safe because there was a tornado upstairs. Seriously, why did I dream that shit last night? Awful. I prefer the engagement dreams, thank you.

>> I sent out thirteen resumes this week. Two of my former supervisors at congressional internships are pulling strings for me for another government job. I wish I could give more details, but the feds monitor that shit. I don’t want to get fired before I even start… kinda defeats the purpose.

>> The rerun of Scrubs that I watched the other day was the one with Colin Farrell. It reminded me of the time the Beau Named Joe and I were in Titanic the musical. He played the character Jim Farrell. I asked him, “Feral like a cat?” and he said, “No, Farrell like a Colin.” Still one of my favorite Joe-isms.

>> Speaking of TBNJoe, his triumphant return to the States is Sunday! He’s coming back to South Bend for a day or so to rest up and then we’re both headed to his home in Minneapolis. Kinda bittersweet, though, because after I leave him in Minneapolis, I don’t know the next time I’ll see him. 😦 Stupid growing up.

>> Why can’t I get my hair to look like this every day? (And why is Photo Booth such a fun program?)

>> I have had the same ache in my shoulder for over a week now. Is it my bed? My pillows? This chair? The lack of yoga? (duh)

>> I’m taking my beautiful MacBook Pro in to get the Airport card fixed today. I bought it refurbished in March and something’s wrong with the card. Total bummer. But warranties are wonderful and I’m so looking forward to wireless again! Look out, Panera, you and I are just a little fix away from rekindling our friendship. (Friendship = abusing free wireless privileges by buying one cup of coffee and surfing teh interwebs for 3 hours) I hope the people I take my computer in to don’t talk to me like I’m stupid. Maybe I should introduce myself as “Renee, the techie nerd.”

>> What’s on your mind, bloggy friends? Spill it.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Phil permalink
    May 30, 2008 5:38 pm

    I finally got Gabriel Iglesias’s DVD “Hot and Fluffy” in the mail yesterday. I’ve been dying to get it ever since I got to interpret his show in April. I’d link you to the entry I posted about that, but my website is currently down due to some pretty major server issues.

  2. Katelin permalink
    May 30, 2008 6:54 pm

    i love idina’s song too. basically i just love her, she is awesome.

    and i just can’t wait for 6:30 and my weekend to begin πŸ™‚

  3. Jenn permalink
    May 30, 2008 7:06 pm

    Not much is on my mind today. I do love that episode of Scrubs!

    I’m counting down the hours until I get to see SATC! (5, by the way)

  4. Amanda permalink
    May 30, 2008 7:18 pm

    It’s funny. I hate SYTYCD, but I love American Idol, but I think it’s for the same reason. I’m a much better dancer than I am a singer. Plus, I get to buy CD’s from the people who win American Idol, so maybe I care a little more…

  5. bFlat permalink
    May 30, 2008 8:28 pm

    Your hair looks awesome btw. I can’t wait for this postcard exchange! I’m so excited.

  6. sandy permalink
    May 30, 2008 11:32 pm

    My thoughts?
    I love your hair.
    Thank you for the postcard. You better believe you’ll be on the receiving end soon πŸ˜‰
    It’s muggy outside.
    I hate both of the shows you mentioned, unfortunately.
    And yay for your guy coming back home this weekend!

  7. May 30, 2008 11:46 pm

    I’m excited for you because your boy is coming home. I have about 10 days left, and the wait is killing me!

    Also, your hair looks awesome!

  8. Jen permalink
    May 31, 2008 4:36 am

    I’m soo excited for the postcard exhange. Good luck with the new government job!

  9. ~Angela~ permalink
    May 31, 2008 9:56 pm

    I think you know how much I love Photo Booth. Awesome program.

    And your hair? Lovely.

  10. jessica maria permalink
    June 2, 2008 7:00 pm

    The worst is when you don’t know “the next time” you’ll see your special someone. It gets to me if I don’t know that, and so I always try to make sure to have a trip planned or something beforehand. Or I’d pull my hair out πŸ™‚

  11. Lexiloo permalink
    June 2, 2008 8:18 pm

    I saw your blog linked from someone else’s and thought I’d say hi. I’m sad that I am too late for the postcard exchange…I LOVE sending mail!

  12. whatsthat permalink
    June 3, 2008 4:29 pm

    Cute hair! Too bad hair never falls in quite the same way

Leave a Reply

