Skip to content

Minnesotans do not talk funny. True or false?

June 11, 2008

I just returned from Minnesota after visiting the Beau Named Joe. Or, if you are of the Minnesotan persuasion, you might say that I just returned from Minnesoooota after visiting the Beauuuu Named Jooooooe. He is firm in his stance that Minneapolites (Minneapolitans?) don’t speak that way. In his defense, he surely does not speak funny (unless he’s on the phone with his ‘rents)… but, as we were having this conversation for the ten thousandth time (conveniently as we walked around one of the ten thousand lakes), two girls on bikes rode by. One said, “Shoooooooot.” The other replied, “I knooooow.” See, Jooooe? It’s not just from the movie Fargoooo.

Anyways, my time in Minneapolis was lovely. When he wasn’t kicking my ass in Gin and when I wasn’t returning the favor in Egyptian Ratscrew, he made me try new things. For instance, I’d never had jicama before. It tastes like sweet raw potato… not to be confused with raw sweet potato. Just try it. With hummus. And you won’t believe the three places I experienced for the first time: Trader Joe’s, Jamba Juice, and Noodles and Company. That’s right folks, I’d never been to any of these places before this week. They are now pretty much my favorite things ever. Included in the new things was blueberry beer and hard green apple cider, both from Trader Joe’s, and pad thai from Noodles and Co. I really love thai food, but I’d never had ye ol’ standby, pad thai. Delish. But, you all know how I’m a beer connoisseur, right? Blueberry beer sounds kinda gross but just try it. It’s crisp and light and probably goes well with breakfast.

(Now reread the previous paragraph in a Minnesotan accent. I assure you it’s a good time.)

Did you guys hear about the new iPhone? I’m seriously considering upgrading. Seriously. I can afford $199!! Must… wait… until… contract… is… up….

And finally, I’m on a serious guacamole kick. Anyone have a good recipe?

24 Comments leave one →
  1. Laura permalink
    June 11, 2008 2:11 am

    Wow there were wayyyy too many of my favorite things for one post. Trader Joes, Pad Thai, Hard Green Apple Cider, and guacamole.. OH MY!!
    One at a time.. Traders Joes is the best, and I try to do the majority of my grocery shopping there. I’m inlove with the eggplant hummus. I eat it as a spread on turkey sandwiches, with carrots and celery, and crackers too (and sometimes with salami) and when all else fails (or runs out) i’ve been known to eat it with just my fingers (although this usually involves alcohol).

    Since we seem to have the same taste I now must try blueberry beer.. I’ll be looking out for it!!

  2. Jen permalink
    June 11, 2008 3:56 am

    Welcome Back! Ive never been to Trader Joes or Noodles and Company. i went to Jamba Juice once last summer, and i love it.

    Egyptian Ratscrew is like my favorite card game. Its weird, cuz i always have to teach people it so its pretty cool to me that you actually mentioned it in your post.

    Im looking forward to readingmore posts now that your back!

  3. Phil permalink
    June 11, 2008 4:00 am

    The person with the best Minnesota accent I ever met was actually from South Dakota.

  4. andrea permalink
    June 11, 2008 10:19 am

    Holy crap, Egytian Ratscrew… I haven’t played that since I was 16. I don’t even know if I remember how to play anymore, but I’ll never forget that name. Total flashback.

    I LOVE Trader Joe’s, even more than Whole Foods. The Pittsburgh store is super fun and they always have some cool, unusual food to sample (like pumkin carrot soup!).

    I wonder where that accent comes from. It’s not like a Southern accent that stretches across many state lines. Curious.

  5. Ashley permalink
    June 11, 2008 11:08 am

    YOU’D NEVER BEEN TO TRADER JOOOOOOE’S?!

    Oh, Renee. I’m so glad Joe remedied that.

    Here’s to many more trips and free samples!

  6. cassette45 permalink
    June 11, 2008 2:15 pm

    False. There might be a slight hint of an accent but it’s nothing compared to the yoopers in the UP. I lived w/ a MN roomie for 2 yrs in college, and she only sounded a bit different on some vowels.

    Want a crazy accent? Listen to an Iowa native. Ask ’em to say ‘county’. Seriously. They say it like ‘cooow-n-tee’

  7. Nate Ring permalink
    June 11, 2008 3:20 pm

    OH i did see the new iPhone. Watch out…that contract is still uber high with AT&T.

    I’m by far more excited to get the iTouch with a laptop at this point. I’ll aim everything 😛

  8. Jenn permalink
    June 11, 2008 4:56 pm

    They do speak funny. It makes me giggle 🙂 Welcome back! I’m glad you had a good trip!

  9. jessica maria permalink
    June 11, 2008 5:56 pm

    I had my first Noodles & Co. experience in Minnesota toooooooo!

  10. Traci Anne permalink
    June 11, 2008 6:23 pm

    K’s pressuring me to get an iPhone so we can be on the same plan – however, seeing as how my parents still pay for my phone plan, I think that’s gonna have to wait!

  11. Katelin permalink
    June 11, 2008 6:29 pm

    glad you had such a great trip! and seriously trader joe’s and jamba juice are two of the greatest stores there are, yummm.

  12. sandy permalink
    June 11, 2008 8:33 pm

    Ah, I lovve Noodles & Co. Seriously- one of the best lunch places ever. Glad ya had a good time!

  13. June 12, 2008 1:53 am

    Haha! I’m happy you had a great time. And all the Minnosotans I have met speak like that. Hrm. But I guess that doesn’t mean they all do, huh?

  14. bFlat permalink
    June 12, 2008 2:07 am

    I love Noodles and Company! I’m so glad you had a great time in Minnesota. We have to catch up soon! I miss chattin’ it up with you!

  15. theedeeter permalink
    June 12, 2008 2:39 pm

    im working on getting a new phone too!!

    is the hard green apple cider woodchuck? it’s pretty much my fave. they make a STELLAR pear cider too

  16. Gretchen permalink
    June 12, 2008 5:26 pm

    I used to think avocados were gross until I actually tried one and fell in love. All guacamole needs is a ripe avocado, 1 Tsp. of sour cream, 2 Tsp. of really good salsa, lots of lime juice, and salt. Super easy and so tasty.

  17. bFlat permalink
    June 12, 2008 8:38 pm

    I’m workin, LAME! I don’t have a day off for the next two weeks….

  18. Renee permalink
    June 13, 2008 3:20 am

    Blueberry beer?

    Sweet! I didn’t know there was such a thing.

    Sounds like your trip was awesome!

  19. Vanessa permalink
    June 13, 2008 4:08 pm

    Oh how I miss Trader Joe’s! I shopped there for almost 10 years, then moved to a city that doesn’t have one. GAH! What have I done? The wine there? Cheap! Jamba Juice is great too. I like their peach juice. The Noodles I’m sure I’d love since pad thai is my favorite. Hmmm, they do talk funny, but maybe I should move! Also, a friend sent me here to inquire about postcards, can I get in on the fun?

  20. ZenDenizen permalink
    June 13, 2008 7:43 pm

    Blueberry anything rocks. I don’t care much for beer in general but since I love Blueberry vodka, the beer might not be so bad.

  21. Jamie permalink
    June 14, 2008 2:59 pm

    iPhone!!!! Yes! I can’t wait until July 11th. Seriously.

  22. Gooseberried permalink
    June 15, 2008 2:07 am

    I love the Minnesota accent!

  23. Kristen permalink
    June 15, 2008 9:44 pm

    I cant say I know the Minnesota accent and I have family there. I must not listen to them much!

    Uhmm Noodles & Co, Trader Joes, and Jamba Juice. They are on my top things I love. Im glad you were introduced.

  24. Crazy Daisy permalink
    June 17, 2008 6:42 am

    I’m from SD originally and don’t seem to notice the MN accent, though I have lived in MN for 6ish years. I have found the further north you go, northern mn, WI, MI etc and up into canada it is more frequent.

Leave a Reply

