Skip to content

I suck at blogging… and other bullet points

June 18, 2008

1. I apologize. I am a crappy blogger as of late. But I CANNOT HANDLE this desktop and this dial-up. My MacBook Pro is STILL out to be fixed… actually, it’s beyond repair. It’s been to Apple twice and still isn’t working the way it should. Step 2 (is it 2? or 3? or 7?) is lobbying for a new machine completely.

2. Apple, you’re damn lucky your product is [usually] so great… because I’ve dealt with a lot of crap from you in the 4 years I’ve been a customer. Shame. I’m too loyal.

3. Speaking of loyal… today my boss was talking about her husband/partner/boyfriend (what do you call people over the age of 30 who are together but not married but have been together for decades?) and I asked out of nowhere if he was a Capricorn. She said she got chills when I asked because he is, indeed, a Capricorn. Are any of my readers Capricorns? You’re so easy to spot. Loyal to the point of recklessness. Don’t get me wrong, the Beau Named Joe is a Capricorn and I wouldn’t have it any other way. They make great husbands/partners/boyfriends/what-the-hell-evers.

4. Speaking of my boss… we traveled all over northern Indiana today. It was so fun. I actually ran into one of my cousins I haven’t seen in years. On the way back, we saw a sign for the lake where my family keeps a cottage and she decided she wanted to visit. Hysterical. My uncle was there and was surely surprised to see us!

5. My boss is less of a boss and more of a mentor. Do you ever meet someone and know IMMEDIATELY you’re going to get along? That’s how it was when I met her. Even though there are 35 years separating us, I consider her a great friend. It’s nice to have. But that immediate click? It’s only happened with three other people in my entire life– TBNJoe, bFlat, and my facebook wife. Okay, maybe it’s happened with other people, but I only started noticing the click when I was 18 or 19.

6. My cousin is getting married on Friday! I’m looking forward to the ceremony for multiple reasons. A) LOVE my family. B) SO happy for my cousin! C) TBNJoe’s coming in town for it! He’s getting in tomorrow night! But the weekend shall be lovely on the lake. The weather looks gorgeous for it.

7. I’ve decided to start an etsy shop. I’ve made four picture frames and a wooden “Welcome” sign for it already. I just can’t fathom trying to upload pictures for my products on this dial-up connection. The idea of it makes me irate. Please please please give me a new computer, Apple! I PROMISE to buy an iPhone eventually!!

8. I have an interview-ish sort of thing next Friday. Apparently this place doesn’t have any positions open but they want to talk to me and maybe steer me in the right direction. And yes, Chicago bloggers, it IS in your city! 🙂 In other Renee-Needs-a-Job News, there might be something opening that I reallllllllllllllllllly want and would maybe be considered for immediately. But that’s a huge MIGHT and MAYBE. I’m still wishing for it every chance I get. Want to help me wish? (YES it’s Chicagoland!)

9. Now Chicago needs to start coming through for TBNJoe. Anyone want to hire an engineer that can also play the tuba? (I bet he could do it at the same time if you asked nicely!)

10. And finally, congrats to California for legalizing gay marriage!

17 Comments leave one →
  1. Phil permalink
    June 18, 2008 5:50 am

    First, yay for #10! I’m totally stoked about. Second, I’m a Capricorn! A major one. Smile!

    Hope Apple pulls through for you! Maybe they’ll send you a new one or a “like new” one… I’ve always had good luck with Apple and am keeping my fingers crossed for you!

  2. andrea permalink
    June 18, 2008 10:40 am

    That’s a total bummer about your laptop. I was actually thinking about getting a Macbook next weekend too (not Pro, though).

    I definitely know what you mean about the click thing though. Its a rare but miraculous thing.

  3. June 18, 2008 12:54 pm

    I think having a dial up internet connection is MORE than enough of an explanation as to why you haven’t been around. I don’t blame you and I hope Apple sends you a new computer.

    It sounds like you’re having a great time at work, and the fact that your boss is more of a mentor is how I think things should be. Very cool.

    Yay for numbers 6,7,8 and 10! Good luck to you and TBNJoe finding jobs in the same town!

  4. sandy permalink
    June 18, 2008 5:39 pm

    MOVE TO CHICAGO NOOWWWW.

    Ahem, had to get that out.
    That sucks about your computer, & dial up. I’d go nuts, so I don’t blame you for not wanting to be on it much. Also- should I not get an apple? Because the way you talk about it makes me realllly want something else..

  5. Katelin permalink
    June 18, 2008 5:50 pm

    i really wish i had a boss that was more like a mentor, sounds like you ave a great relationship 🙂

  6. Jenn permalink
    June 18, 2008 6:33 pm

    I hope you get your computer back soon! If I had a need for an engineer that could play the Tuba, I’d hire him. Sadly, I do not.

    Fingers are crossed for the both of you!

  7. Stephanie permalink
    June 18, 2008 7:00 pm

    Ugh dialup. Poor thing.

  8. Vanessa permalink
    June 18, 2008 7:08 pm

    I’m not a Capricorn, I’m a Pisces. I can spot signs like that though and it freaks people out. Congrats on your Etsy shop! And for number 3? I just call him my significant other or SO. I mean, we have a house together and have lived in 3 different states together. That’s significant, right?

  9. Gooseberried permalink
    June 18, 2008 8:25 pm

    I love Capricorns! My dad’s one and he’s such a Cap! I get along with them really well caues I be a bull. Good luck on the interviews and stuff!

  10. bFlat permalink
    June 19, 2008 12:37 am

    I feel so loved and couldn’t agree more!! I just wish we had meet sooner in college.

    Dial-up, that sucks!

  11. whatsthat permalink
    June 19, 2008 6:05 am

    Dial up=sad

    Good luck with your computer, hope all is well. I know I’d be FREAKING out if mine spazzed out like that.

  12. Nate Ring permalink
    June 21, 2008 1:53 am

    I feel for you with your 56k blues.
    In regard to the click thing, I definitely know what you mean. I click with a number of people some some above and beyond all others. Becky, Dr. Van Auken, Dr. Verges, couple others out there i’ll refrain from mentioning. Anyway have fun at the wedding, and let me know if the fam decides at the last minute to change their mind…I’ve still got you “booked” for that day.

  13. Jamie permalink
    June 22, 2008 2:52 am

    I’m wishing for you! I hope you move here so we can finally hang out!

  14. Maxie permalink
    June 22, 2008 5:42 pm

    yay california! at least someone’s getting it right.

  15. Renee permalink
    June 23, 2008 4:43 pm

    Your boss sounds like she’s all kinds of awesome 😀 I wish everyone had a boss they could get along with so well!

    Also – I’m tagging you for a meme posted on my site in the hopes that Apple has sent you a shiny new computer.

  16. Wickedly Scarlett permalink
    June 24, 2008 6:17 am

    I’m so thrilled about California–I just hope it sticks! Also, my deepest condolences go out to you in your time of need. Dial up! Ack! Blech! Good luck with getting that fixed soon!

  17. B2G permalink
    July 2, 2008 3:54 pm

    Yay Capricorns!

Leave a Reply

