Skip to content

Overheard at Camp, Week 1, Edition 1

July 8, 2008


“Thursday is Pajama/Clash Day. Does this mean I can’t wear matching pajamas? Because I have High School Musical pants and a Hannah Montana shirt and they TOTALLY match.”

Camper One: “Who would you rather go on a date with, Chuck Norris or John Travolta?”
Camper Two: “Who is Chuck Norris?”
Camper One: “Walker, Texas Ranger???”
Me: “How do you know that show?”
Camper One: “My grandma watches it.”
Me: “I feel old.”

Campers see me on Skype with Joe: “Oooh, he’s cute! Don’t tell him I said that!!!” “Are y’all married?!”

Favorite ‘Ask-A-Counselor’ Questions:
“What’s your favorite way to break a window?”
“What’s your favorite setting on a garden hose?” (both asked by the same girl)

“Renee is the cool counselor!” “Yeah, well Pauline is the SWEET counselor. And the nice counselor.” “Renee is the mean counselor!”

18 Comments leave one →
  1. tiedtogetherwithasmile permalink
    July 9, 2008 4:12 am

    Whats your favorite way to break a window……love it. I would have been like with my foot, try it. I hope there are more posts like this to come, it made my day!!

  2. Phil permalink
    July 9, 2008 5:01 am

    I’m appalled that anyone would take Chuck Norris over John Travolta. What’s going on? And you go, mean counselor!

  3. Ben permalink
    July 9, 2008 9:43 am

    Oh my god…I need more!

    Plus, I’m sorry to hear how quickly the last conversation turned on you. Kids can be so cruel

  4. Maxie permalink
    July 9, 2008 12:21 pm

    What did you answer to your favorite way to break the window?!

  5. Alexa permalink
    July 9, 2008 1:31 pm

    im keep reading about you camp experience and it is making me very jealous.

    going to camp was some of the best memories of my childhood!

    have so much fun!

  6. jessica maria permalink
    July 9, 2008 1:43 pm

    AW! LOVE IT!!! πŸ™‚

  7. July 9, 2008 1:53 pm

    “What’s your favorite way to break a window?” is a lot more creative than, “What’s your favourite colour/food/music.” It’s a little creative, if disturbing, for a kid! Props to her, and to you, Bestest Counselor!

  8. sandy permalink
    July 9, 2008 4:30 pm

    Hilarious! And you’re the mean counselor, huh? Never woulda guessed. πŸ™‚

  9. Jenn permalink
    July 9, 2008 5:02 pm

    So what is your favorite setting on a garden hose?

  10. Katelin permalink
    July 9, 2008 7:03 pm

    haha i love kids, they seriously say the craziest things.

  11. Lauren permalink
    July 9, 2008 8:54 pm

    I had a student ask me if I saw this REALLY REALLY hold film called “The Neverending Story” once.

    I almost cried. I’m not THAT old!

  12. margottobed permalink
    July 9, 2008 9:03 pm

    haha i love: “What’s your favorite setting on a garden hose?”

  13. theedeeter permalink
    July 9, 2008 9:37 pm

    I’m not gonna lie, I may or may not be an idiot and read the first quote about the jammies not noticing the quotes on either end, and thought it was an actual thought from you. To which I thought “more power to ya”.

    you know what makes me feel old? the shows that they have on Nick at Night now…from our childhood.

  14. Bayjb permalink
    July 10, 2008 1:13 am

    What kind of question is that, “what is the best way to break a window?” That’s an interesting one. Knowing Walker Texas Ranger does not make you old!

  15. July 10, 2008 2:19 am

    Haha. I absolutely LOVE kids for the things they say.

    Have SO much fun with them! They’re hilarious.

  16. Traci Anne permalink
    July 10, 2008 8:46 pm

    Um, Hannah Montana and HSM TOTES don’t match, kids. What are they thinking?!

  17. Rachel permalink
    July 11, 2008 7:02 pm

    I love this!

    *sits in front of computer refusing to move, waiting for the next one*

Trackbacks

  1. Life Lessons from Week 1 « Belle Renee

Leave a Reply

