Skip to content

Overheard at Camp, Week 1, Edition 2

July 12, 2008


On the way to the Round Barn Theatre: “Does this BARN have air conditioning?!”

After writing their initials in glue on their hands: “Brooke told us to take the glue off our hands. She said it puts chemicals in our skin. We’re like, we don’t care, we’re kids!”

Me, to the camper with poker chips and dice on her flip flops: “I like your flip flops.”
Camper: “Thanks, I’m a hustler.”

At morning announcements, in front of the entire camp: “I found a penny in the toilet yesterday… and you know the song, ‘Find a penny, pick it up?’ Well, I didn’t want to get my hand dirty…”

On a card a camper made me: “Thank you for being my counselor! You were a blast! I am so happy that I had you! You always had a smile on your face and always had an answer! I really enjoyed camp this year!” (Aww!)

On the check-out surveys: “Who was your camp counselor?” “Renee, the best counselor, because she always lifted our spirits.” (Aww! x 100)

—–
Week One is officially over. I am in love with camp. I am in love with these kids. Can I make a career out of this? Should I go back to school for education? (I would have summers free for CAMP!) Could I handle being a teacher? What would I teach? Can I teach social studies without having to learn anything about Econ?

I think I’m going to give it a year and then decide.

Tomorrow = more campers = more great overheard phrases

—–
See fellow counselor Hannah’s blog for even more great camp stories!

20 Comments leave one →
  1. Amanda permalink
    July 12, 2008 7:48 pm

    And camp wins over another one. Welcome to my life!
    I can’t get through a week without logging onto my camp’s website and looking at pictures, wishing I was back there.

    Hope you get another great group of kids this week!

  2. sandy permalink
    July 12, 2008 8:37 pm

    Aww, how freaking adorable is that. Changing your career again, eh? I don’t blame you ;).
    And the “hustler”? Hilarious!

  3. tiedtogetherwithasmile permalink
    July 12, 2008 9:46 pm

    These kids sound adorable!

    I love the hustler comment and the penny in the toilet thing, I would have died laughing!

  4. Rachel permalink
    July 12, 2008 10:56 pm

    you should try to sneak the hustler kid home with you

  5. brandy permalink
    July 12, 2008 10:59 pm

    Dude, camp life rocks. I taught camp for 5 years and this is my first summer not doing anything camp related and I’m going through withdrawls. I try and talk my friends into a rowdy game of capture the flag but so far no one is into it.

    And yes, I think you could totally be a teacher!

  6. Gooseberried permalink
    July 13, 2008 12:28 am

    Aww! I miss camp!

  7. Jamie Lovely permalink
    July 13, 2008 12:55 am

    AW! I love it! Kids are hilarious.

  8. Sara permalink
    July 13, 2008 2:18 am

    Haha, I love kids. They make jobs not seem like jobs.

    ..and from my previous experience as a social studies education major, I needed to take one basic economics class.

  9. Nate Ring permalink
    July 13, 2008 7:21 am

    As I have said Renee, you would make a powerful professor! Maybe that is an option in your future? I truly hope so. Admittedly, college students are by far different than the 10-15 year-olds your working with in camp, but lets face it your a great teacher…

    By the by, I leave in 4 days. I’d love to see you before I take my first flight.

  10. July 13, 2008 12:20 pm

    I must say, reading this make me want to be a counselor again. So many random things happen and are said that it’s totally worth the unfun times (like dragging someone to the nurse or getting them to take showers.)

    I’m glad you’re having fun! Have a great week!

  11. Jenn permalink
    July 13, 2008 1:23 pm

    Kids can be so sweet. I’m glad you’re having such a great time at camp.

  12. tiedtogetherwithasmile permalink
    July 13, 2008 4:27 pm

    Just saw your comment about the male model from high school……WOW!!

  13. margottobed permalink
    July 13, 2008 6:52 pm

    i loove these! so adorable.

  14. Phil permalink
    July 13, 2008 6:54 pm

    I worked at summer camp for three summers. What started as a chance to escape my unhappy life at home became something I really, really loved. I haven’t gone for two summers, and do miss it, but since I’m going for speech pathology and I’ll probably work in the schools… camp is still definitely an option. As I tell everyone who questions their career… I say consider speech! 🙂

  15. Ben permalink
    July 13, 2008 8:45 pm

    The hustler is the best!

    And as the S.O. of a teacher? It’s not as fun as summer camp. Know that much.

  16. Bayjb permalink
    July 14, 2008 2:42 am

    I’m very intrigued by this camp. You’re a hustler and they ask how to best break a window? Interesting crowd.

  17. jessica maria permalink
    July 14, 2008 4:15 am

    These updates are always so adorable. 🙂

  18. Katelin permalink
    July 14, 2008 9:45 pm

    haha i love this, kids are so funny.

  19. wishcake permalink
    July 16, 2008 3:58 am

    Aw, I love all these random quotes! Kids are so hilarious. I miss living close to my youngest sisters because I can just hang out with them for hours and be completely entertained by the random things they say. Love it!

    Sounds like you’re having a great time at camp. I always wanted to be a counselor! What a great experience.

    I’m sure you ARE the best one, too! 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Life Lessons from Week 1 « Belle Renee

Leave a Reply

