Skip to content

Overheard at Camp, Week 2 sucks

July 18, 2008

First and foremost, this group sucks. At first it was dandy, then we all discovered that no one listens, the same stupid questions are asked again and again and again, no one knows how to keep time or stay on schedule, no one has a sense of humor… and there’s no token crazy girl to keep us all laughing. They have attitudes and homesickness and hypochondria and they’ve given us all headaches. They made ME cry. ME!

And today, ohhh today was the best day. After they made me cry last night, I tried to go to bed early. I was in bed by 10:30 (it was my night off) but sleep didn’t come. So today I was tired. Tired of their shit. So? OF COURSE today was the day someone decided to steal money from one of my girls, half of my group was in danger of being hit by a car, one girl arrives at our meeting time TWENTY minutes late (making the rest of our group fifteen minutes late for class), and finally? One of my girls discovers one of her shirts has been PEED ON. The smell tipped her off.

So, without further ado, here are this week’s best overheard comments. (Sorry it’s sparse, I can’t help it that these girls suck.)

After dropping their daughter off, parents wave goodbye to the counselors: “Don’t call us, we’ll call you!”

One group takes roll by counting off in Spanish: …”Cinco!” “Seis!” “Siete!” “No, I’m siete.” (It struck me as really funny at the time…)

During lunch in the dining hall: “Shannon! They have POPTARTS!!!!”

Camper 1: “Renee, why don’t you chew gum?”
Me: “It makes my teeth hurt.”
Camper 2: “You can’t just ask people personal questions like that, [redacted]!”

During dance class, when asked to demostrate part of a routine: “Sooo…. where do you want me to cut this rug?”

And, finally, Quote of the Year: “Renee? Someone PEED on my SHIRT.”
(Close runner up is the subsequent phone call I made to the director: “Soooo… what’s protocol for a camper urinating on another camper’s article of clothing?”)

—–
There IS light at the end of the tunnel. The Beau Named Joe had his first face-to-face interview this week and was offered the job that day. We’re going apartment hunting as soon as I leave hell. I mean, camp.

—–
Despite all of this nonsense, I still get these signs. —>

13 Comments leave one →
  1. hannah elizabeth permalink
    July 18, 2008 2:59 am

    i’m waiting until i can accurately describe my frustration and ability to cry at the drop of a hat, if provoked.
    ps: i edited my quotes.

  2. Phil permalink
    July 18, 2008 3:24 am

    Yay for apartment hunting! It’s a big ol’ drag sometimes, but this is such good news, it’s awesome! How many weeks left of camp?

  3. theedeeter permalink
    July 18, 2008 4:44 am

    that first paragraph sounds eerily like being a stage manager…hmmm…

    congrats to tbnj, and happy hunting!!!

  4. Ben permalink
    July 18, 2008 9:45 am

    “Cut this rug” and “Hustler” should be friends. Together, they would create ultimate camp coolness.

  5. July 18, 2008 1:38 pm

    EW. What would posess a child to pee on another child’s clothing? I guess not every group can be sunshine and lollipops! Damn. Hopefully the next group will be twice as great to make up for this group.

  6. bFlat permalink
    July 18, 2008 2:19 pm

    Tell Joe congrats!!! That is so wonderful. The whole camper peeing on someone one shirts sadly reminds me of Kelly. She would often threaten to pee on my bed…..

  7. Stephanie permalink
    July 18, 2008 5:48 pm

    Ew, pee on shirt. Sick.
    Yay for Joe’s new job and apartment hunting! 🙂

  8. jessica maria permalink
    July 18, 2008 7:58 pm

    Aw, I can’t believe they made you cry 😦

    Also, pee. Ew!

  9. Rachel permalink
    July 19, 2008 1:45 am

    pee….on a shirt….are you sure you are not a counselor at a fraternity

  10. July 19, 2008 12:22 pm

    I would totally LOVE you as a counselor, so no worries about this group sucking. Some groups are simply better than others.

    And YAY for TBNJoe and y’all getting an apartment! Exciting!

  11. Jamie Lovely permalink
    July 22, 2008 12:58 am

    Many many congrats on the job for TBNJ!

  12. tiedtogetherwithasmile permalink
    July 23, 2008 11:59 pm

    Don’t call us, we’ll call you…too funny! Also, who peed on a girl’s shirt?!

Trackbacks

  1. Life Lessons from Week 1 « Belle Renee

Leave a Reply

