Skip to content

Things I Have an Unhealthy Addiction To

July 20, 2008

1. So You Think You Can Dance. I love this show far more than I should. I know I’ve mentioned it before, but let me just share my favorite moment so far. It features Chelsie, a ballroom dancer, and Mark, a contemporary dancer doing a lyrical hip hop routine to Bleeding Love.

I love them so much it hurts.

2. My family’s hometown. I can’t help it. It may be Super Conservative Farmtown, USA where the locals hit up WalMart for a good time… but my family is there. However, we stay out of the town at our little lake and drink Landshark beer on our pontoon. But there’s a new movie coming out, American Teen, which was filmed at the high school there. It was the high school my parents attended, as well as all of my aunts and uncles on both sides of the family, and a good chunk of my cousins. It was the high school I visited for football games, where I competed in Quiz Bowl, where I saw my cousins graduate. And now there’s a movie? Bizarre.

3. The other counselors. I love these people. We make a fantastic family of 13. I love learning their stories, seeing their talents, having lunch with them, sitting up late with them, depending on them. The support system I’ve had at camp is what has made the past two weeks and upcoming final week worthwhile.

4. Obsessing about moving. The Beau Named Joe has a start date- Aug 11… which means the Big Move is coming oh so soon… which means we need to find an apartment to which we can make the Big Move. Quickly quickly.

5. Performing. Shit, I’d almost forgotten how much I love an audience. Thank you, Fine Arts Camp, for rekindling that unhealthy addiction. Let’s hope the new ‘burb has a civic theatre…

16 Comments leave one →
  1. Arielle permalink
    July 20, 2008 1:48 pm

    Oh my gosh I also loved that dance from So You Think You Can Dance! It was hotttt

  2. Rachel permalink
    July 20, 2008 2:45 pm

    I am really interested in seeing that movie now…

  3. theedeeter permalink
    July 20, 2008 3:01 pm

    omg i LOVED that dance b/c im obsessed with that song!!!

    i may or may not be an idiot, but where did tbnj get his job??

  4. Tasha permalink
    July 20, 2008 3:28 pm

    That was totally my favorite routine on the show as well! Tabitha and Napoleon are just amazing at everything they do. I also loved the number from the first week of the actual show (not auditions) that they choreographed that Katee and Joshua did to “No Air.”

  5. Phil permalink
    July 20, 2008 4:20 pm

    Hope your last week at camp is awesome! Can’t wait to hear about Chicago. And theater. Woohoo!

  6. Gooseberried permalink
    July 20, 2008 6:59 pm

    That was a pretty cool dance, I must say.

  7. Lacey Bean permalink
    July 20, 2008 7:11 pm

    I loooved that dance from SYTYCD! It seriously gave me chills= I love Chelsie!!

  8. Katelin permalink
    July 22, 2008 12:04 am

    what a cool dance! i don’t ever watch that show, but it’s pretty schnazzy 🙂

  9. Amanda permalink
    July 22, 2008 12:20 am

    1) That dance was amazing. You may have convinced me to watch SYTYCD.
    2) It is SO COOL that American Teen was filmed in your family’s town. Now I can pretend to be connected to the film! hah
    3) The staff is one of the best parts of camp. I miss my camp buds a ridiculous amount.
    4) You work at a Fine Arts Camp? That is super cool. Yay Theater!

  10. July 22, 2008 12:51 pm

    Isn’t camp the best? I loved my fellow counselors SO much and relearned my love of having an audience.

    Yay for the big move, too!

  11. Jenn permalink
    July 22, 2008 4:23 pm

    I keep forgetting to watch So You Think You Can Dance!

  12. Bayjb permalink
    July 22, 2008 7:32 pm

    I feel like I’m missing out by not watching that show. I need to add that to my DVR

  13. brandy permalink
    July 24, 2008 3:25 am

    This may or may not be the third time I’ve visited your blog today just to re-watch that first youtube clip.

    Just thought you would know why I keep creeping over here…

    Seriously? I want to dance like that.

  14. ~Angela~ permalink
    July 26, 2008 7:01 pm

    Dude, I now want to see that American Teen flick.

  15. Nate Ring permalink
    July 28, 2008 1:37 pm

    Holy shit! a movie about Warsaw! your fucking kidding me!

    I have a feeling like they will do South Bend before too long then 😛 christ

  16. WomensDaily permalink
    August 7, 2008 3:18 am

    I love the show So You Think You Can Dance soooo much, it’s ridiculous. I’ve watched it since it started.

Leave a Reply

