Skip to content

Overheard at Camp, Week 3, Edition 1

July 24, 2008

Ahh, I have tonight off. It’s been beautiful. The lovely Hannah and I had dinner with friends/professors, headed to Target, then met up again with the fantastic Jaclyn for some fine Irish music downtown.

…which brings us to Week 3, Edition 1 of Overheard at Camp! (Alternate blog post title: My Friend Crush on Counselor Hannah)

Tonight at the pub, our new friend (Dave? Dan? It was loud!) told Hannah she looks like the love child of Captain Jack Sparrow and Drew Barrymore. See for yourself.

After moving in, a camper takes her parents downstairs to say goodbye. She returns to the third floor and informs us: “I got rid of them.”

At orientation, our director means to tell the campers that their counselors will knock on their doors at 7am to wake them up. However, she says this instead: “At 7 o’clock, a counselor will come knock you up.”

At Ask-a-Counselor night, a camper asks Lauren something about pushing people off things. She responds, “I have pushed people off things before.” Camper asks, “Like what?” Lauren replies, “…bridges.”

We play the question game in drama class, in which you have to have a conversation using only questions. The following occurred yesterday:
Camper 1: “Do you have any siblings?”
Camper 2: “Haven’t you heard of my sister?”
Camper 1: “Didn’t you get her at Wal-Mart?”

And finally, I didn’t hear the context of this one: “Matthew McConaughey is way hotter than a jellyfish.”

Last but not least, Hannah introduced me to the PhotoBooth Game. This involves taking three random pictures on PhotoBooth and then creating a story. Here is ours:

Renee: “Do you hear that?”
Hannah: “Yeah, I think the people upstairs are having sex.”
Hannah: “EW, I’m disgusted!”
Renee: “Haha, I’m intrigued!”
Hannah doesn’t want to hear anymore.
Renee strains to hear better.
18 Comments leave one →
  1. Phil permalink
    July 24, 2008 3:59 am

    You’re the best! I like the Photobooth game. And I’ve played the improv question game and damn it’s definitely one of my favorites. Those girls of yours are brilliant at it.

  2. Sandy permalink
    July 24, 2008 4:01 am

    I’ve gotta say- the Matthew Mc comment has got me pretty intrigued.. how does one compare a man with a jelly fish? Hmm. Haha

  3. Ben permalink
    July 24, 2008 1:00 pm

    Hey, I got my brother at Walmart!! Don’t knock it til you try it!

  4. Ashley permalink
    July 24, 2008 1:03 pm

    Renee, this is a HILARIOUS post! Nice job. 🙂

    “A counselor will come to knock you up”…BWHAAHAHAHA. That’s awesome!

    I loved the question game, too! And your photobooth pics are great. I think you’re going to miss camp more than you imagine. 🙂

  5. Amanda permalink
    July 24, 2008 2:12 pm

    Hrmm…I may have to disagree with the campers. Jellyfish are pretty sexy, and Mathew McConaughey is a wee bit greasy for me. Hah.

  6. jessica maria permalink
    July 24, 2008 2:23 pm

    Drew Barrymore + Johnny Depp? I can see it…

    I love your camper quotes. 🙂

  7. ifiweretina permalink
    July 24, 2008 6:09 pm

    I totally thought for a second that that was a picture of Drew Barrymore!

  8. Jenn permalink
    July 24, 2008 8:19 pm

    “At 7 o’clock, a counselor will come knock you up.”

    That’s fantastic.

    I love the overheard at camp posts!

  9. Katelin permalink
    July 24, 2008 8:20 pm

    haha you crack me up. i love the ‘what’s been heard at camp’ posts, little kids seriously are hilarious.

    and i love the photo booth storyline, so funny.

  10. Stephanie permalink
    July 26, 2008 1:52 am

    Love the photobooth story. 🙂

  11. ~Angela~ permalink
    July 26, 2008 6:57 pm

    Nice photo story. 🙂

  12. Nate Ring permalink
    July 27, 2008 12:38 am

    Great post!

    Boy oh Boy am I looking forward to catching up with you when your done being Mrs. Camp Counselor

  13. Bayjb permalink
    July 27, 2008 7:52 pm

    Wow she does look like Drew Barrymore. I think we got my brother from Target, but I don’t want him to get a fat head thinking that.

  14. July 28, 2008 12:08 am

    Reading this makes me want to go back to camp. Seriously. I just love hearing what people say.

    I’ve never heard of the Photobooth game, but it looks fun!

  15. hannah elizabeth permalink
    July 28, 2008 2:33 am

    People actually think I look like Drew+Jack…how weird. I can’t believe I JUST read this . . . I missed the Matthew comment…but it sounds phenomenal.

    aww, camp.

  16. Susie permalink
    July 28, 2008 4:39 am

    Awww you’re making me miss my old camp days just a little bit. And my babysitting days at that.

    The kids are right though…Matthew is WAY hotter than a jellyfish. Duh.

  17. andrea permalink
    July 29, 2008 3:47 am

    Hahah, that’s great… your blog makes me wish I was a counselor.

Trackbacks

  1. Life Lessons from Week 1 « Belle Renee

Leave a Reply

