Skip to content

Domesticated

August 13, 2008

I’m well aware that I haven’t written a Real Post in far too long. I constantly compose them in my head, I assure you that. However, when it comes to actually blogging, I end up posting pictures and announcing how I intend to make a couple extra dollars from old magazine clippings. (By the way, thanks to everyone who stopped by my etsy and linked to me. Love you!)

That being said, I bring you a Real Post.

In case you’re a little behind, I’ll reiterate that I moved to Chicagoland a week ago today. The Beau Named Joe began his Real Job on Monday. I was informed yesterday that my impending Real Job is set to hire September 1.

So what’s a stay-at-home-significant-other-without-a-vehicle supposed to do?

Well, folks, I opened an etsy (shut up already about your etsy, Renee!) and I’ve watched copious amounts of the Olympics while crafting. In the morning, I wake up with the Beau and pack his lunch. I rode my bike to the post office and Jewel Osco on Monday but my ass hurt too bad to do it again on Tuesday. I’ve been cooking quite a bit, too. My meatloaf turned out pretty damn good yesterday. I’ve been watching our birdfeeder (it’s always birdie dinner time at Club Guac!) and the people walking their puppies in the courtyard. I chat with my mom on the phone. I listen for the mail carrier and get excited to check the mail box. I read too many blogs and post too many tweets and bookmark too many recipe websites. And today? I took a nap.

In other words, I have become DOMESTIC.

Well, shit.

That was never my plan. My mother told me, “This was not the future I imagined for you.” Really, Mom? You didn’t think I’d be making turkey sandwiches for a boy at 7am, drinking hot tea and watching the Today Show by 8:30am, brainstorming dinner ideas by noon? You didn’t think my heart would melt at the sight of the beautiful Middle-Eastern children that ride their bikes outside my back door? You didn’t think I’d get such a kick out of grocery shopping or handwriting cards for my friends or spending my afternoons modge-podging or making plans to bake a pie?

Me neither. This was never the future I imagined for myself, either. Where’s the business suit and stilettos? Why don’t have a briefcase and a Blackberry yet? Where’s the downtown studio apartment with the pantry of Ramen and rum? Where’s the trashcan full of empty carry-out boxes? Whose life am I living and who stole mine?

So I take a moment… and I realize I’m absolutely ecstatic with my humble stay-at-home life, with my Olympics and iced coffee and comfy couch and crafts and MacBook Pro. In fact, I’m obsessed with the life I’ve only started. I love being in the kitchen when TBNJoe returns from work in his fancy slacks and polos. I love spending the afternoons covered head-to-toe in glue and ribbon. I love having the time to keep up with the internets.

I don’t think I’m cut out for the high-profile downtown cutthroat job. I’m perfectly happy as a suburbanite… and when my job comes calling September 1, I know I’ll ache by 2pm to be back in our little apartment… but I might stop at the grocery store first.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. Rachel permalink
    August 13, 2008 9:03 pm

    Nothing wrong with getting a taste domestic-ness, tell your mom that you are starting a new job soon….but until then, go buy yourself some bonbons ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. Ashley permalink
    August 13, 2008 9:06 pm

    After being out of college and in Real Jobs over a year, I realize I totally hate it.

    I want to stay at home.

    Boo.

  3. chickbug permalink
    August 13, 2008 9:59 pm

    the real world sucks. enjoy it! i’m jealous!

  4. Amanda permalink
    August 13, 2008 11:16 pm

    You aren’t the only one! After a long three days at work, I long for domesticity, and there is nothing wrong with that ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Sandy permalink
    August 13, 2008 11:54 pm

    Sometimes the life you plan for yourself turns out to be the worst possible fit. Enjoy the fact that you’re loving exactly where you are and what you’re doing! =)

  6. August 14, 2008 12:28 am

    Club Guac looks FAB! Also, as long as youre happy then who cares. Right?!

  7. wishcake permalink
    August 14, 2008 12:35 am

    I love this. You know, sometimes there’s just no knowing where life will take you! How boring would life be if it went exactly the way you’d always planned? That’s why I’ve pretty much given up planning. Because where I am right now? I would’ve never guessed I’d be here if I’d looked ahead even five years ago.

    And I love it.

    I’m quite jealous of your life right now, I must say! (Someday I’ll hopefully be a stay-at-home what-have-you.) What an adorable domestic goddess you make, too. Heehee. I think it feels good to explore different parts of you, anyway…you don’t have to be just one certain type of person. Does that make sense?

    Anyway, I’m so glad you are doing well! Adorable etsy goodies, by the way – great job!

  8. Katelin @ M80 permalink
    August 14, 2008 1:22 am

    oh man i would totally embrace the relaxing domestic life for now. it sounds amazing! and you know you’ll miss the lounging when your job starts up ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. August 14, 2008 2:37 am

    Aww. This makes ME want to stay home and bake and do domestic-y things while my boy is at law school.

    Y’all are so cute!

    Also, send me the new address! I have a card for you.

  10. Phil permalink
    August 14, 2008 3:06 am

    I can so relate to you right now! I’ve been equally domestic all summer, with the added bonus of playing “Nurse Honey” for my poor partner after his two surgeries. I’m not looking forward to having to go back to school and be two states away from my sweetie again, bug sigh… such is grad school sometimes.

  11. August 14, 2008 12:53 pm

    I think the whole “liking domesticated life” comes far out of left field for most people. I always thought I’d be one of those hard working office girls for life. Then I moved out on my own, and I love cooking and cleaning and organizing my living space and doing all the suburbanite little things for friends and neighbours. I’d gladly throw away the working girl’s life for a home to manage. Who knew?

  12. Nate Ring permalink
    August 14, 2008 6:23 pm

    You know, I loved staying home too for about…3 days. Now I’m tired of being home, but I’ve developed an affinity to cleaning everything. At least you can ride your bike around the stores which is super sweet!

    I can’t wait to see the new place

  13. Crazy Daisy permalink
    August 14, 2008 7:44 pm

    I too am trying to enjoy the life of being domestic. The difference is, I think my mom wanted and expected it! HA! Plus, our apartment is still a mess, and I stay up all night. OOps. Maybe I would be productive as you, if I had decent waking hours!

  14. Stephanie permalink
    August 14, 2008 11:51 pm

    I totally understand. Staying home can be pretty nice.

  15. ZenDenizen permalink
    August 25, 2008 7:30 pm

    You’re not missing a THING!

  16. ZenDenizen permalink
    August 25, 2008 7:30 pm

    You’re not missing a THING!

Leave a Reply

