Skip to content

Feeling a bit vulnerable

August 21, 2008

You know, I just got back from my interview, kind of in a funk because they didn’t hand me a job on a silver platter like I was expecting (that’s the kind of person I am) and because if I DO get the job, I start SATURDAY… so anyways, I get back, kick off my heels, still in my suit, and catch up in teh interwebz and say to myself, “God, I hope something is funny.”
And then I click on LOLcats.

That made me snort. Look at that cat’s face! He’s so pissed! Aww, it’s okay, Garfield, I make those faces on the road, too.

Anywho, my interview was less than stellar. I wish I could divulge specifics, but the feds keep a close eye on me… well, I like to think they do because it makes me feel dangerous. The interviewer was Mr. Intimidating and even though I’m usually Miss Assertive-Pants, I could not keep up. This guy was just… I couldn’t read him, ya know? I’m usually really good at reading people and gauging how things are going but this guy seemed to come out of left field and verbally bitch slap the polite-yet-business-like smile off my face. I mean, I guess that’s how politicking is going to be, I guess I should’ve known this when I got into this business. I watch enough CNN, after all. Me and my women’s college manners just weren’t ready for this dude.

The good news is, my boss from my campus job just IMed me to say she was called for a reference and gave a great one. *phew*

Am I ready for this? Am I ready for long hours and 7 day work weeks and never seeing my beau and giving up my domestication and not staying on top of my blogs… for two crazy months? Am I ready to be fake nice and to order people around who have done this way longer than I have, who are twice my age? Am I ready to assert myself in this way? Am I ready to go without a paycheck until October 1??

And most importantly, am I ready to potentially work during Notre Dame football games instead of drinking and watching them lose play?

((P.S. Regarding our new car, we bought a Ford Taurus.))
((P.P.S. MY BEST FRIEND AND GODDAUGHTER ARE COMING TODAY!))

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Sandy permalink
    August 22, 2008 1:35 am

    Cheer up, I’m sure you did way better than you think 🙂
    Just keep reminding yourself that this is what you’ve been working for- you can do it! Keep me updated

  2. brandy permalink
    August 22, 2008 3:42 am

    I bet you did absolutely fantastic. Interviews are tricky, I think sometimes people purposely act strange to try and throw the interviewee off. My fingers are crossed for you, I will definitely be wishing you all the best!

  3. Phil permalink
    August 22, 2008 4:18 am

    I think the fact that you check yourself and ask these questions is a strong sign of your character, and that you bring something good to the table. Are we ever ready? Nah, but we all do what Tim Gunn says we should… make it work! Hang in there! I’m pulling for you.

    Oh, and yay for the Taurus! Should be an awesome car for you. 🙂

  4. Maxie permalink
    August 22, 2008 4:37 am

    good luck on the job!

  5. Susie permalink
    August 22, 2008 1:57 pm

    Uhhh I hate interviews when you walk away having nooo idea how you did. I’m sure you were fabulous though!!

    I used to have a Ford Taurus…it was a fabulous little car 🙂

  6. jessica maria permalink
    August 22, 2008 3:44 pm

    hope you hear back positively from the job!!! 🙂

  7. theedeeter permalink
    August 22, 2008 10:39 pm

    i feel ya on the amount of time spent at work. i’ll be working 6 outta 7 days a week for the next year…no football games for me either 😦

    but after only a week, and knowing that i have to work tomorrow (sat) too, i just know that it’s gonna be worth it.

  8. Nate Ring permalink
    August 23, 2008 4:19 pm

    I’m sure it’ll be odd for the first week, but you’ll fit that role quite nicely afterwards. Good luck!

  9. Nate Ring permalink
    August 23, 2008 4:20 pm

    oh and if it was anything like my interview with the feds, hopefully your fella had a much nicer name than “Rocko”…

  10. Stephanie permalink
    August 23, 2008 6:30 pm

    Gotta love LOLcats. I’ll be thinking of you and I certainly hope you get this position!

  11. August 23, 2008 7:45 pm

    I know you did just fine. Sometimes, interviews are tough when you can’t read the person. It happened to me on this interview, and here I am.

    I hope you’re having a great first day at work!

  12. Amanda permalink
    August 24, 2008 4:48 pm

    It’s such a tough spot, because you WANT a job (or you want to not be broke) but you know that once you have it, everything will change.

    I know that whatever happens you will do awesome! 🙂

Leave a Reply

