Skip to content

Hurricane Oasis

August 26, 2008

You may remember my gorgeous goddaughter, Oasis, and her mother, Andrea. A little recap: Andrea and I have been best friends since junior high, when she realized my name backwards is Eener. From then on, we were inseparable… well, until she moved to Texas with her sister and now husband. She had a beautiful daughter (named Oasis Lynn) and has another on the way (named Owen Lawrence). We see each other once or twice a year now, but email one another almost every other day.

Andrea and Oasis visited Club Guac this weekend. And this blog entry really isn’t a story about how cute Oasis is when she wears Joe’s flip flops. (Although she’s pretty freaking cute, isn’t she?) And this isn’t a blog entry about how cute Oasis is when she explores a playground. (No, seriously, HOW CUTE IS SHE?) This is a blog entry an how her godmother can be a big dumbass sometimes.

You see, Oasis is 2 years old. She’s visiting our apartment which features a brand new suede-ish couch. I asked Andrea before her visit if she’d be offended if I covered our couch. I didn’t want any leaky sippy cups to stain it. So I painstakingly (well, it wasn’t that hard) covered our couch with a sheet. It was an eyesore, but at least I didn’t worry about Oasis staining it.

One night, while Andrea and Oasis were visiting family in the city, Joe and I were on the couch watching TV. I was working on my schedule for the upcoming week with a pen in my hair. The sheet had fallen from the back of the couch, but no big deal, right? Oasis wasn’t around.

Yesterday I noticed there was writing alllll over the back of the couch. In ink. From a pen. The pen in my hair. Son of a bitch. Here I am, with this sheet over the couch so the little girl in the apartment doesn’t stain it and she doesn’t even spend much time on the couch and then I’M the dumbass who writes all over the couch. Really? Really?!

In case you’re curious, Woolite’s OxyClean stuff works miracles. I texted the bad news to the Beau Named Joe (“I wrote all over the couch because I’m a flippin’ dill weed.”) but now I’m thinking I shouldn’t have. I mean, he never would known! However, I’m not condoning withholding truths from your loved ones. It felt good to be honest. πŸ™‚

Last but not least, I’m sorry for those of you who have been following me on Twitter in the past couple of weeks. I can’t help it if some people watch the same programming as I do and Twitter at the same time which makes ME want to get in on the conversation. See, it’s not my fault! Some of you are just enablers! (And I secretly love you for it.)

19 Comments leave one →
  1. Phil permalink
    August 26, 2008 11:27 pm

    I’ll have to remember the name of that stuff for when I do something like that to any furniture I may happen to acquire in the near future.

  2. Phil permalink
    August 26, 2008 11:27 pm

    I’ll have to remember the name of that stuff for when I do something like that to any furniture I may happen to acquire in the near future.

  3. Chris permalink
    August 27, 2008 5:19 pm

    Hahaha! Tony won’t let me eat on his mom’s suede couch but the other day he scribbled pen on it. I laughed. Then googled a remedy for him. πŸ™‚

    Also, the CAPCHA spells out “fsucle” today. Does anyone else think that’s funny? Just me? Dammit.

  4. Chris permalink
    August 27, 2008 5:19 pm

    Hahaha! Tony won’t let me eat on his mom’s suede couch but the other day he scribbled pen on it. I laughed. Then googled a remedy for him. πŸ™‚

    Also, the CAPCHA spells out “fsucle” today. Does anyone else think that’s funny? Just me? Dammit.

  5. Jenn permalink
    August 27, 2008 5:48 pm

    She’s cute πŸ™‚

    And the pen thing? Yeah…sounds like something I’d do.

  6. Jenn permalink
    August 27, 2008 5:48 pm

    She’s cute πŸ™‚

    And the pen thing? Yeah…sounds like something I’d do.

  7. Maxie permalink
    August 27, 2008 6:39 pm

    yes! and i will continue to enable for the rest of the week πŸ™‚

  8. Maxie permalink
    August 27, 2008 6:39 pm

    yes! and i will continue to enable for the rest of the week πŸ™‚

  9. Ashley permalink
    August 27, 2008 9:05 pm

    That’s a GREAT story, Renee! How funny!! πŸ™‚

  10. Ashley permalink
    August 27, 2008 9:05 pm

    That’s a GREAT story, Renee! How funny!! πŸ™‚

  11. Katelin permalink
    August 27, 2008 10:14 pm

    seriously she is so cute. love it all.

  12. Katelin permalink
    August 27, 2008 10:14 pm

    seriously she is so cute. love it all.

  13. August 27, 2008 11:36 pm

    She is absolutely precious! I hope y’all have been having fun. And the pen thing? Sounds like something I would do, too.

  14. August 27, 2008 11:36 pm

    She is absolutely precious! I hope y’all have been having fun. And the pen thing? Sounds like something I would do, too.

  15. Lorie permalink
    August 29, 2008 3:59 am

    One of my best friend’s name is Renee and I have called her “eener” since we met in 7th grade.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog.. let’s both cross our fingers that the boys at ND make us proud this year. Can’t wait to go to next Saturday’s game.

  16. Lorie permalink
    August 29, 2008 3:59 am

    One of my best friend’s name is Renee and I have called her “eener” since we met in 7th grade.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog.. let’s both cross our fingers that the boys at ND make us proud this year. Can’t wait to go to next Saturday’s game.

  17. brandy permalink
    August 29, 2008 7:43 pm

    She’s so damn cute I want to keep her!

    Also, if I enable you in any way- I’m definitely not sorry. Your tweets are among my favorites.

  18. brandy permalink
    August 29, 2008 7:43 pm

    She’s so damn cute I want to keep her!

    Also, if I enable you in any way- I’m definitely not sorry. Your tweets are among my favorites.

  19. The former Andrea Logan permalink
    September 25, 2008 6:48 pm

    LOL, i saw this post and thought it was going to be the top ten list of reasons you don’t want kids, thanks to oasis. i love the photos btw, oasis and i had fun.

    i hope your neighbor isn’t scared of you, he came out and caught oasis saying hi to his cat and went inside. sorry.

Leave a Reply

