Skip to content

Mawage is what bwings us togeder tooooday

September 24, 2008

We’re gettin’ hitched. Is it time to completely freak out yet?

I’d had a pretty crappy weekend. And when that happens, I tend to take it out on the Beau Named Joe. So Monday, he sent me an IM while I was at work asking if I’d had dinner yet. I said I hadn’t so he told me he’d “whip something up.” Pretty sure I responded with, “Okay, wifey.”

Ha.

I got home just before 10pm and found TBNJoe in the kitchen, slaving over the oven. He greeted me and said he had a surprise and pulled out a bouquet of roses. Awwww… he’s kind of a sap like that. And I totally thought it was because I’d just been having a rough couple of days. You know, because dinner and a bouquet of roses didn’t seem fishy to me at all.

So he sat me down at the table and served a late dinner of chicken, couscous, and peas. As we were finishing he said, “I’m going to put some shorts on. It’s hot in here.” Yeah, the oven tends to heat up the apartment like nobody’s business (note to self: save on heating bills by constantly baking in the winter). He proceeded to demand I refrain from cleaning up. I’m pretty notorious for putting away dishes even when he insists on doing it. I stayed put because I was exhausted and Joe went into the bedroom.

Joe returned to the dining room and said, “Oh, I forgot something.” He handed me one more rose… with a ring tied to it. Handing it to me, he asked those ridiculously cliche and traditional words: “Will you marry me?” Being the absolutely classy broad I am, I told him to shut up.

Yep.
I answered the question: “Will you marry me?” with “Shut up.”

But I think the question was answered when I pretty much attacked his face. TMI? Whatever, you would’ve done it, too. Between kisses, he told me, “You didn’t answer my question!” (Shit, busted.) That’s when I finally squealed, “Of course!!!”

Oh, and the ring? Fucking beautiful. HUGE. Super sparkly. Please refer to the Captain Planet photo at the end of post.

So there you go, blogosphere. That’s the story. I’ve surprisingly become super shy about the whole ordeal and I don’t know why. (Maybe it had something to do with telling my mother and then having to repeat “I got engaged last night” to every. single. person. she ran into in the hallway at her school. Okay, Mom, enough embarrassment already. I don’t even know who these people are!) I liked those 12 hours when no one knew but us… I like the fact that it is our engagement, not something to broadcast. We haven’t told many people yet, just his family, my parents, and a few of my closest friends… and now, total strangers online. I just don’t want all of the attention at the moment… because it’s not about our friends, it’s about us. And everyone else is going to hound us with stupid ass questions, “Have you set a date?” “When are you going dress shopping?” “Where are you going to register?” And then when I hint to the fact that we don’t exactly want the traditional Catholic white wedding, I’m scared of being disappointing.

So that’s that, folks. The Beau Named Joe is no longer just my beau, he’s my fiance. But that doesn’t rhyme, so we’ll stick with the Beau. This isn’t going to become a crazy wedding blog just yet… he told me I’m not allowed to start wedding planning until after the election. He’s completely right because I have NO FREE TIME as it is.

And, in an attempt to take a good picture to send to the fam, this is what we ended up with:

“Oh my gaaaaaaaaaaaaad!”
“Why can’t we get this right?!”
Proof I am actually 600 lbs and Joe is mentally unstable.
Finally, a decent one.
Captain Planet! He’s our hero! Gonna take pollution down to zero!
I’m totally Heart.
48 Comments leave one →
  1. Liam permalink
    September 24, 2008 3:17 pm

    For the record: “Shut up!” is generally not the correct answer to “Will you marry me?” =)

    Congratulations…

  2. Ashley permalink
    September 24, 2008 3:19 pm

    YAY!

    When Mike proposed the first thing out of my mouth was “Did you STEAL this!?”

    As in “Where the heck did you get the money to buy it!?”

    Ah, classy women we are. šŸ™‚

  3. Ashley permalink
    September 24, 2008 3:20 pm

    Oh! I just saw the title of your post and was tickled.

    The movie is great, but SO IS THE BOOK! šŸ™‚ Oh,Princess Bride. Sigh.

  4. jamie permalink
    September 24, 2008 3:21 pm

    ahahah I would totally have a shut up reaction if I got asked that.

    Renee I’m so so happy for you! Your ring looks so pretty. I just couldn’t stop smiling while reading this!

    Congrats!!

  5. Rachel permalink
    September 24, 2008 3:21 pm

    You are my favorite person of the day since you posted that Captain Planet pic

  6. ANG* permalink
    September 24, 2008 3:25 pm

    awwwww you are adorable! i was watching all the tweets about it yesterday. but i’m glad you posted. congrats šŸ™‚

  7. jessica maria permalink
    September 24, 2008 3:38 pm

    CONGRATS! I totally know how you are with the whole fielding-the-questions thing. Headache! And engagement/wedding planning is definitely somewhat private, but I had to tell the blogosphere too šŸ™‚ I just keep most of the wedding stuff to myself though.

    CONGRATS! ENJOY! YAY! SHUT UP! šŸ™‚

  8. Deutlich permalink
    September 24, 2008 3:38 pm

    so… have you set a date?!?!

    hahaha, j/k! i swear!

    but I AM super excited for you!!!!!!!!!!! CONGRATS!

  9. The Ex permalink
    September 24, 2008 3:43 pm

    Dude! That is beautiful. Congrats šŸ™‚

  10. rachel elizabeth permalink
    September 24, 2008 3:46 pm

    such a cute story! i’m so happy for you guys, you sooo deserve it! xoxo

  11. erica permalink
    September 24, 2008 3:50 pm

    Awww! Congrats!! My fiance gave me a “you may not plan until” date as well. Glad to know I’m not alone (though my date is long past!).

  12. Mandy permalink
    September 24, 2008 3:52 pm

    Congratulations!! The Captain Plant pic made my day…

  13. carrie lea permalink
    September 24, 2008 4:00 pm

    Congratulations!

  14. Amanda permalink
    September 24, 2008 4:25 pm

    I think “Shut Up” the the perfect reaction! Adorable šŸ™‚

    Congratulations!!!!

  15. Nate Ring permalink
    September 24, 2008 4:31 pm

    I’m so happy for you both! I’d wish you luck but I highly doubt you two will need it, so you will get a emphatic CONGRATULATIONS! Becky and I totally miss you two (that’s why we took the brilliant photobooth photos :-P.

  16. sandra permalink
    September 24, 2008 4:37 pm

    When my boyfriend proposes, I imagine I’ll have a very similar reaction.

    Congratulations!

  17. Ben permalink
    September 24, 2008 5:37 pm

    That’s amazing! Congratulations!!

  18. Arielle permalink
    September 24, 2008 5:47 pm

    That’s such a cute story, congrats!! You look super happy (and ready to save the planet) in those pics.

  19. Bayjb permalink
    September 24, 2008 6:13 pm

    I LOVE the title of your post. Hilarious. Congratulations!

  20. Susie permalink
    September 24, 2008 6:59 pm

    Yayyy!!! I love your “Shut up!” Classic. And will be a lovely story to tell for years to come šŸ™‚

  21. Chris permalink
    September 24, 2008 7:01 pm

    Whoa, that’s a rock! Congrats!!! šŸ˜€

  22. Jenn permalink
    September 24, 2008 7:15 pm

    You’re adorable! I love that you said shut up šŸ˜›

    Congrats to the both of you šŸ™‚

  23. Vanessa permalink
    September 24, 2008 7:35 pm

    Super huge congratulations! That ring is gorgeous and I love the pictures of the two of you, you both glow with happiness.

  24. theedeeter permalink
    September 24, 2008 7:52 pm

    oh my GOOOOSH!!! congratulations!!

    I’m so happy for you two!

    Also, I know TONS of people who woulda replied with SHUT UP! So no judgment from this end šŸ™‚

  25. Gooseberried permalink
    September 24, 2008 8:13 pm

    Congrats girl! I admire you for taking the idea of marriage in stride because if I were in your position right now, I’d be shitting my pants.

    Am I invited to the wedding!? Hardeehar.

  26. brandy permalink
    September 24, 2008 9:51 pm

    Ahhh! I’m so happy about this, and what a great bunch of photos. I especially love the last one. Congratulations!

  27. Katelin permalink
    September 24, 2008 10:34 pm

    aw renee congratulations! i love the pictures, you two crack me up. and i love that you said “shut up”, haha. awesome.

  28. Sandy permalink
    September 24, 2008 11:07 pm

    CONGRATULATIONS!!!! I’m so fricken excited for the two of you. I love that you said shut up, and the adorable pictures you guys took- because seriously? You both just look so happy.
    Yay! Congrats again! šŸ™‚

  29. Allison permalink
    September 24, 2008 11:08 pm

    Too cute. Congrats to the both of you. I want to be engaged. I love Princess Bride as you might notice from the name of my blog (As You Wish). That’s hilarious that you answered him with shut up.

  30. Stephanie permalink
    September 25, 2008 1:24 am

    Congrats again! You guys are too cute. The ring is gorgeous!

  31. amanda rae permalink
    September 25, 2008 1:50 am

    man, one of my friends from school got engaged a few days ago too.

    congratulations!

  32. Lacey Bean permalink
    September 25, 2008 2:17 am

    I would have immediately yelled “Shut Up!” too, the ring looks gorgeous, I LOVE the pictures, and Congrats!!

  33. andrea permalink
    September 25, 2008 3:13 am

    Congratulations! The ring is beautiful.

  34. michelle woo permalink
    September 25, 2008 6:15 am

    You two are adorable! Heart swelling now.

  35. Phil permalink
    September 25, 2008 6:23 am

    The Beau is da man! Congratulations, sweetie! This is just a guess, but judging by the that crazy huge smile on your face, seems those engagement dreams of your really have come true. YAAAAYY!!! Congrats!

  36. Joy @ Big Time Fancy permalink
    September 25, 2008 4:41 pm

    Shut up!!!!

    Congrats!

  37. The former Andrea Logan permalink
    September 25, 2008 6:40 pm

    i’m glad i knew before reading this (yes, i stalk you when avoiding my psyc homework, or when posting crazy rants about homebirthing on my blog. lol.) i’m all for doing the wedding dustin and andrea style, getting married, inviting two people (hmm. . .like me and dustin) and a photographer, and emailing everyone the pictures. that will insure inlaws and parents alike will never forgive you. šŸ™‚

  38. Megan permalink
    September 25, 2008 8:18 pm

    Congratulations! I am so in love with that Captain Planet picture, btw.

  39. **Melissa** permalink
    September 26, 2008 3:07 am

    OMG!!!!! CONGRATULATIONS! Married life is the best thing ever.
    The big questions is WHEN WHEN WHEN!!!

  40. Ashley D permalink
    September 26, 2008 7:44 pm

    I am so excited for you!!! Congratulations! WOO HOOO!!!!

  41. fragileheart permalink
    September 27, 2008 3:35 am

    Congratulations! Loving the pictures – looks like it’s going to be a fun wedding judging from those.

    Nice rock!

  42. Angela permalink
    September 27, 2008 12:18 pm

    Hehe. Captain Planet.

    Congratulations to you and your man. šŸ™‚

  43. Traci Anne permalink
    September 27, 2008 8:22 pm

    CONGRATULATIONS!!!

  44. hannah elizabeth permalink
    September 29, 2008 4:55 am

    YAAAAYYYY
    i’m so glad. so so so glad.

  45. Jen permalink
    September 29, 2008 8:20 pm

    Aww, congratulations!

  46. Renee permalink
    September 30, 2008 10:41 pm

    Congratulations!! šŸ˜€

    GORGEOUS ring too! TBNJoe has great taste.

  47. bigskygirl permalink
    October 1, 2008 4:42 am

    gorgeous ring for a gorgeous girl šŸ™‚ congrats, renee!! šŸ™‚

  48. October 5, 2008 5:25 am

    Woohoo! Yay for y’all! And I love the first words out of your mouth after the question.

    I’d totally say the same thing.

Leave a Reply

