Skip to content

We Drugged our Cat, Day 1

October 2, 2008

Joe and I have a cat. His name is Gus. He is six years old and I’ve had him since he was born. My mother and I took in a stray one winter because it was cold, she was hungry, and we can’t say no to a furry friend. Turns out our furry friend had even furrier buns in the oven and that summer we had a litter. There’s nothing cuter than kittens, so she let me keep one with one stipulation… Gus had to go when I moved out.
I moved out.
I acquired Gus.
He has NOT adjusted.

Nearly four weeks ago, Joe and I went back to South Bend to get Gus. He has hidden in our Lazy Boy ever since, venturing out only at night for a change of scenery and some food. Four weeks! For four weeks we’ve had a phantom cat who eats our food and shits in Joe’s closet. (oops)

Desperate times call for desperate measures. Tired of his hiding and hissing, we bought herbal remedies. Preserved with brandy, a couple drops of this stuff a day is supposed to give us our kitty back. Or just give us a drunk kitty with a balance problem. I put a couple drops in his food and water last night… and this morning? He hissed at me.

We’ll see if that 30 bucks was worth it. Plan B involves another kitten.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Bayjb permalink
    October 3, 2008 4:09 am

    Wow that is one determined cat. So you made him a “kitty cocktail?” Bad joke I know.

  2. jessica maria permalink
    October 3, 2008 1:48 pm

    Aw! Hope he straightens out…I’m getting kittens next week! YAY!

  3. October 4, 2008 2:51 pm

    Here’s to hoping things get better for Gus! I think that’s how my cat would act if I took her from my mom’s house.

Leave a Reply

