Skip to content

One Week

October 28, 2008

We have one week to go, folks.
One week from today, the polls will open and they will close. And? We
will have new leaders.

You all know who I hope it is. But really? I just hope everything
turns out alright. It’s going to suck for awhile, the economy, the
housing market, the job market, inflation… and maybe our civil
rights will suffer. But in the end, it’s all going to be okay.

I know this because I believe in the good of PEOPLE. I may not believe
in a single doctrine or dogma, but I believe that when people are
given the opportunity to make something better, to change it for good,
they will do it to the best of their ability. Not because it pays
well, not because it wins them accolades, but because it is the RIGHT
thing for other people.

I believe in people because it’s the only thing that keeps me from
running scared into the woods and living Thoreau style.

In my short career in politics, I’ve seen and experienced a lot. I’ve
been told that someone I represent should be tarred and feathered for
endorsing a certain candidate. I’ve answered the phones to racists
and homophobes and Bible pushers. I’ve been hung up on repeatedly.
I’ve been judged. I’ve been told I’d “grow out of this liberalism.”
But I’ve also seen good. I spoke to an older lady who I’m convinced
is an angel. She told me to keep fighting for the cause. I see the
same hardworking men and women volunteer their time to make phone
calls for us every week. I’ve heard the frustrated voices, I’ve seen
the stress of real people. But those real people are still willing to
dedicate their time to what they believe in. For every person I’ve
cold called to take a survey or volunteer who have violently hung up
on me, I’ve gotten a “thank you” or a “call back after dinner and I’ll
be glad to talk.” And it’s genuine.

It’s the genuine people I believe in. And I want to believe everyone
is genuine.
I see sparks of it. Let’s ignite.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. jessica maria permalink
    October 28, 2008 8:39 pm

    love the positivity; i get nervous about the election, but like you, i try to remember that people are generally good.

  2. jessica maria permalink
    October 28, 2008 8:39 pm

    love the positivity; i get nervous about the election, but like you, i try to remember that people are generally good.

  3. Ashley permalink
    October 28, 2008 8:45 pm

    I think we’re all emerging into a peaceful sort of positivity these last few days.

    You do hard work, Renee, and I SO admire that. 🙂

  4. Ashley permalink
    October 28, 2008 8:45 pm

    I think we’re all emerging into a peaceful sort of positivity these last few days.

    You do hard work, Renee, and I SO admire that. 🙂

  5. Deutlich permalink
    October 28, 2008 9:00 pm

    people such as yourself amaze me

    I couldn’t stomach all that criticism.

    on the other note – SEVEN MORE DAYS!

    WOOHOO!

  6. Deutlich permalink
    October 28, 2008 9:00 pm

    people such as yourself amaze me

    I couldn’t stomach all that criticism.

    on the other note – SEVEN MORE DAYS!

    WOOHOO!

  7. Katelin permalink
    October 28, 2008 11:10 pm

    i can’t believe there’s only a week left. it’s crazy.

  8. Katelin permalink
    October 28, 2008 11:10 pm

    i can’t believe there’s only a week left. it’s crazy.

  9. hannah elizabeth permalink
    October 29, 2008 12:18 am

    i’ve been severely tempted to run into the woods and hide as a hermit also. but the woods are SUPAH cold right now…

  10. hannah elizabeth permalink
    October 29, 2008 12:18 am

    i’ve been severely tempted to run into the woods and hide as a hermit also. but the woods are SUPAH cold right now…

  11. Nate Ring permalink
    October 31, 2008 2:32 am

    You can do it! Just one week!

    and in 2 you get to see the likes of me…:-D

  12. Nate Ring permalink
    October 31, 2008 2:32 am

    You can do it! Just one week!

    and in 2 you get to see the likes of me…:-D

  13. Cecelia permalink
    October 31, 2008 9:41 am

    if everyone had the same beautiful view of things like you, this world would be a much prettier place!

  14. Cecelia permalink
    October 31, 2008 9:41 am

    if everyone had the same beautiful view of things like you, this world would be a much prettier place!

Leave a Reply

