Skip to content

Can I get sappy for a minute?

November 17, 2008

I don’t think I’ve spent much time drooling over my lovely fiance on this blog. My readers probably just know Joe as that guy I live with who occasionally shows up in pictures. He did guest blog that one time, proving that he is not only a goofball but a pretty great writer as well. But why on earth did this political feminist decide she wants to marry that enginerd, especially at such a young age?

The facts are these.
He does all the household chores I HATE: litter box duty, dishwashing, and toilet cleaning. And he doesn’t complain. Much.
He used to send me goofy pictures of stuff we got in the mail while I was working like a fool. Seriously.
He encourages us to be exotic in our vegetable purchases and then doesn’t bat an eye when we realize we don’t know how to cook those brussels sprouts we just brought home sooo he calls his parents.
He gets PISSED about civil rights infringements, yells at bigots on television, calls out sexism, and wears a gay pride ribbon on the messenger bag he takes to work. (He calls it his “I Heart Gay People ribbon.”)
He calls me during his lunch to see how my day is going. He gets super excited when I finally say my day has been “good!” as opposed to “sucky.” He actually remembers when I tell him my day has been sucky.
He volunteered his weekends with my campaign just to see me and spend time with me. He won points with my coworkers with his subtle charm at dinner parties.
He encourages me to scarf down my entire Chipotle burrito instead of being disgusted that I finished mine before he finished his.
His weakness is deep dish pizza and beer. And so is mine.
He warms up my icy feet cheerfully, even when he wants to sleep instead.
He gave me $100 to shop with this weekend because I was feeling really down and out (and poor). He reassures me of our financial security even when I’m freaking out about being unemployed.
He’s an infinite well of patience, even when I’m freaking out about being unemployed.
He calls me beautiful even when I’m still in my pajamas and haven’t showered in two days and I’m covered in craft glue.
He brings me flowers when I’ve had a crappy day. Yes, he really does.
His hugs make bad days good again, his kisses still make me melt, and when he holds my hand, I’m certain everything is going to be okay.

Any questions?

60 Comments leave one →
  1. Rachel permalink
    November 17, 2008 8:55 pm

    That was so sweet. If everything goes right you, you will be saying the same thing 6 years from now.

    I know I am šŸ˜€

  2. Rachel permalink
    November 17, 2008 8:55 pm

    That was so sweet. If everything goes right you, you will be saying the same thing 6 years from now.

    I know I am šŸ˜€

  3. Mermanda permalink
    November 17, 2008 8:59 pm

    This guy sounds like a gem! I say, keep him. šŸ™‚

  4. Mermanda permalink
    November 17, 2008 8:59 pm

    This guy sounds like a gem! I say, keep him. šŸ™‚

  5. brandy permalink
    November 17, 2008 9:00 pm

    Aww. Seriously? This was fantastic. And if we quit life to go drink fruity drinks and cheer on Josh Lyman, I will be insanely happy. And after reading how great he is- the Beau is definitely welcome. I like people who yell at people who deserve to be yelled at.

  6. brandy permalink
    November 17, 2008 9:00 pm

    Aww. Seriously? This was fantastic. And if we quit life to go drink fruity drinks and cheer on Josh Lyman, I will be insanely happy. And after reading how great he is- the Beau is definitely welcome. I like people who yell at people who deserve to be yelled at.

  7. ANG* permalink
    November 17, 2008 9:08 pm

    i want one.

  8. ANG* permalink
    November 17, 2008 9:08 pm

    i want one.

  9. Deutlich permalink
    November 17, 2008 9:10 pm

    where can I find one just like that?

  10. Deutlich permalink
    November 17, 2008 9:10 pm

    where can I find one just like that?

  11. jessica maria permalink
    November 17, 2008 9:24 pm

    I’m not gonna lie, he sounds amazing. And totally reminds me of my Jesse šŸ™‚

    Yay for sappiness! (In my world, it’s the Barftime, obvs.)

  12. jessica maria permalink
    November 17, 2008 9:24 pm

    I’m not gonna lie, he sounds amazing. And totally reminds me of my Jesse šŸ™‚

    Yay for sappiness! (In my world, it’s the Barftime, obvs.)

  13. Angela permalink
    November 17, 2008 9:30 pm

    I love him.

  14. Angela permalink
    November 17, 2008 9:30 pm

    I love him.

  15. Vanessa permalink
    November 17, 2008 9:33 pm

    One question: Could you clone him and send one my way? šŸ˜‰ He sounds perfect!

  16. Vanessa permalink
    November 17, 2008 9:33 pm

    One question: Could you clone him and send one my way? šŸ˜‰ He sounds perfect!

  17. bFlat permalink
    November 17, 2008 9:35 pm

    How fricken adorable!

  18. bFlat permalink
    November 17, 2008 9:35 pm

    How fricken adorable!

  19. Erin permalink
    November 17, 2008 11:07 pm

    This is so sweet! He sounds like a keeper! šŸ™‚

  20. Erin permalink
    November 17, 2008 11:07 pm

    This is so sweet! He sounds like a keeper! šŸ™‚

  21. Nate Ring permalink
    November 18, 2008 12:34 am

    …too cute!

  22. Nate Ring permalink
    November 18, 2008 12:34 am

    …too cute!

  23. Miss Merry permalink
    November 18, 2008 1:56 am

    he’s definitely a keeper! i’m jealous. does he have any brothers?!

  24. Miss Merry permalink
    November 18, 2008 1:56 am

    he’s definitely a keeper! i’m jealous. does he have any brothers?!

  25. Alexa permalink
    November 18, 2008 2:30 am

    i want one of those too. and there is nothing wrong with love renee : )

  26. Alexa permalink
    November 18, 2008 2:30 am

    i want one of those too. and there is nothing wrong with love renee : )

  27. Holly permalink
    November 18, 2008 4:10 am

    I think you should marry him! šŸ˜‰

  28. Holly permalink
    November 18, 2008 4:10 am

    I think you should marry him! šŸ˜‰

  29. Kyla Bea permalink
    November 18, 2008 4:14 am

    So sweet – I adore this post = )

  30. Kyla Bea permalink
    November 18, 2008 4:14 am

    So sweet – I adore this post = )

  31. melissaisblogging permalink
    November 18, 2008 6:21 am

    Your post was so sweet! My hubby is just like that and BTW you guys look so cute together!! (AND YOU ARE GORGEOUS!!!)

  32. melissaisblogging permalink
    November 18, 2008 6:21 am

    Your post was so sweet! My hubby is just like that and BTW you guys look so cute together!! (AND YOU ARE GORGEOUS!!!)

  33. rachel permalink
    November 18, 2008 4:12 pm

    that was officially the best post ever. i am so happy for you guys. xo

  34. rachel permalink
    November 18, 2008 4:12 pm

    that was officially the best post ever. i am so happy for you guys. xo

  35. instatick permalink
    November 18, 2008 4:42 pm

    So sweet!

  36. instatick permalink
    November 18, 2008 4:42 pm

    So sweet!

  37. Jenn permalink
    November 18, 2008 5:14 pm

    I think you’re lucky to have each other šŸ™‚

  38. Jenn permalink
    November 18, 2008 5:14 pm

    I think you’re lucky to have each other šŸ™‚

  39. surviving myself permalink
    November 18, 2008 6:04 pm

    Does he leave the toilet seat up?

  40. surviving myself permalink
    November 18, 2008 6:04 pm

    Does he leave the toilet seat up?

  41. Katelin permalink
    November 19, 2008 1:26 am

    freaking adorable. sounds like a winner to me šŸ™‚

    nice job joe, woo.

  42. Katelin permalink
    November 19, 2008 1:26 am

    freaking adorable. sounds like a winner to me šŸ™‚

    nice job joe, woo.

  43. wishcake permalink
    November 19, 2008 2:12 am

    This post made me feel all warm and fuzzy inside. Heehee.

    And that photo of you two? Adorable. You even look great together. Must be fate.

    šŸ™‚

    Here’s to many more years filled with happy moments – including deep dish pizza and beer, of course.

  44. wishcake permalink
    November 19, 2008 2:12 am

    This post made me feel all warm and fuzzy inside. Heehee.

    And that photo of you two? Adorable. You even look great together. Must be fate.

    šŸ™‚

    Here’s to many more years filled with happy moments – including deep dish pizza and beer, of course.

  45. brandy permalink
    November 19, 2008 2:55 am

    I came back and read it again because it made me feel so good. I’m like a barnacle clinging on to happy posts today.

    That doesn’t really make sense I just have been itching to use the word ‘barnacle’ all day.

  46. brandy permalink
    November 19, 2008 2:55 am

    I came back and read it again because it made me feel so good. I’m like a barnacle clinging on to happy posts today.

    That doesn’t really make sense I just have been itching to use the word ‘barnacle’ all day.

  47. *~Dani~* permalink
    November 19, 2008 11:41 am

    A beautiful sappy post for your hubby!

  48. *~Dani~* permalink
    November 19, 2008 11:41 am

    A beautiful sappy post for your hubby!

  49. LuckLys permalink
    November 19, 2008 8:22 pm

    i have almost the exact same relationship with my boyfriend of 9 months. i was making a mental checklist of all the things you listed, and i have to say, its a little weird (but awesome!) that theres another person out there who gets to enjoy the luxury of love like i do!
    warming icy feet? every night
    cleaning gross things? check
    cheering my chipotle burrito eating on? check
    random flowers? oh yeah
    reassuring financial security? anytime i ask
    promises me im the most beautiful thing hes seen even after not showering for 2 days? sigh…yeah

    i’m happy for you, to say the very least šŸ™‚ lucky us!

  50. LuckLys permalink
    November 19, 2008 8:22 pm

    i have almost the exact same relationship with my boyfriend of 9 months. i was making a mental checklist of all the things you listed, and i have to say, its a little weird (but awesome!) that theres another person out there who gets to enjoy the luxury of love like i do!
    warming icy feet? every night
    cleaning gross things? check
    cheering my chipotle burrito eating on? check
    random flowers? oh yeah
    reassuring financial security? anytime i ask
    promises me im the most beautiful thing hes seen even after not showering for 2 days? sigh…yeah

    i’m happy for you, to say the very least šŸ™‚ lucky us!

  51. ablogofherown.wordpress.com permalink
    November 20, 2008 8:06 pm

    Damn, where have I been?
    I just read your last few posts and am chastising myself for not adding you to my reader soon.
    That shit? Fixed.

    Cute Cute Cute.
    Reminds me of The Boy. šŸ™‚

  52. ablogofherown.wordpress.com permalink
    November 20, 2008 8:06 pm

    Damn, where have I been?
    I just read your last few posts and am chastising myself for not adding you to my reader soon.
    That shit? Fixed.

    Cute Cute Cute.
    Reminds me of The Boy. šŸ™‚

  53. November 23, 2008 2:09 am

    Aww, this is SO sweet!
    I’m so happy y’all are getting married!

  54. November 23, 2008 2:09 am

    Aww, this is SO sweet!
    I’m so happy y’all are getting married!

  55. ZenDenizen permalink
    November 26, 2008 7:36 pm

    What a fine looking couple! I hope you guard this man and never let him out of your sight šŸ™‚

  56. ZenDenizen permalink
    November 26, 2008 7:36 pm

    What a fine looking couple! I hope you guard this man and never let him out of your sight šŸ™‚

  57. daria. permalink
    December 3, 2008 2:29 am

    He sounds perfect, for sure. Congrats on your engagement!:)

    Also, I’m so glad to see someone identify as feminist in this day and age. You don’t see that much anymore. Hooray!

  58. daria. permalink
    December 3, 2008 2:29 am

    He sounds perfect, for sure. Congrats on your engagement!:)

    Also, I’m so glad to see someone identify as feminist in this day and age. You don’t see that much anymore. Hooray!

  59. Lily permalink
    December 12, 2008 10:29 pm

    adorable! what a match made in heaven! šŸ™‚ I hardly know ya, but I’m finding myself very happy for you!!!

  60. Lily permalink
    December 12, 2008 10:29 pm

    adorable! what a match made in heaven! šŸ™‚ I hardly know ya, but I’m finding myself very happy for you!!!

Leave a Reply

