Skip to content

Truths and Confessions

November 20, 2008

I used to have a Maltese named Holly. I got her when I was 2 and she passed away when I was 19. I dream about her fairly regularly still and I hope I always will.

I was a cheerleader. I loved cheering but I didn’t always love the other girls. I would love to cheer or dance again if I didn’t have to deal with all the petty shit and sexism.

I will take vegetables over fruit any day.

I have a bucket list. I’ve crossed things off my bucket list including: Go to a concert where I know all the words. Be able to communicate in the mother tongue of a foreign country. Graduate from college.

We decided last night if the situation were to arise in which we were able to afford purchasing a brewery, we would quit our jobs and do it in a heartbeat.

I used to read a TON of celebrity gossip. At the same time, I had really low self esteem and terrible terrible body image issues. I feel like these two things were directly related.

I wish I were closer to my dad. I wish my parents were more civil.

I will judge you based on your favorite musical. If you prefer the Phantom of the Opera movie to the original cast recording, we canNOT be friends.

I think I’d make an excellent high school government teacher but I don’t want to spend the money and time to get my teaching certificate…

I’m very loyal to the kinds of lotions I use. Avalon Organics lavender hand and body lotion is my ultimate fave. In close second is Bath & Body’s Breathe Comfort vitamin lotion… smells SO good. Lastly, Bath & Body’s aromatherapy stress relief lotion in tranquil mint actually does relieve stress.

My argyle Camelbak water bottle motivates me to get on a treadmill. No seriously. It’s an excuse to use it. Water tastes better from it, I swear.

I absolutely love to grocery shop.

I’m really sick of the wedding industry already. I don’t want to be put in a bridal box. I don’t want a white, taffetta bridentity thrust upon me. I want to get married MY way and I want Joe to share ALL responsibilities.

Growing up, I thought for sure I would be famous some day. Nowadays, I still wonder if it’s possible. I wouldn’t mind being the star of an indie flick or have my own song on the radio.

In the same line of thinking, I’m convinced I would be a really great Broadway star/model/television anchor/talk show host if people would just GIVE ME A CHANCE!

Heels are my power accessory. I feel most powerful in heels. And because I’m Frugal Frannie, I don’t mean fancy schmancy Gucci heels. I’m talkin’ Payless pumps, jerks!

Getting mail is one of life’s simple pleasures.

Never have I ever read Harry Potter. Never do I plan on reading it. Never do I plan on reading the Twilight series, either. (Sorry, friends. Except I’m not sorry.)

“The Daily Show” and The American President are the reasons I got interested in politics. (And yesterday I searched On Demand for The American President because I love that movie SO MUCH.)

I miss my girlfriends. A lot. I wish I were much closer to them, geographically and emotionally.

If heaven exists, waiting for me is an endless bucket of fried chicken, eternal pans of warm Rice Krispie treats, and an everlasting variety of expensive beer.

Got something to get off your chest? Spill it.

48 Comments leave one →
  1. Arielle permalink
    November 20, 2008 10:09 pm

    I will never read that Twilight nonsense either. Though I do love Harry Potter. Ah well.

  2. Arielle permalink
    November 20, 2008 10:09 pm

    I will never read that Twilight nonsense either. Though I do love Harry Potter. Ah well.

  3. Mermanda permalink
    November 20, 2008 10:12 pm

    Your heaven sounds divine.

  4. Mermanda permalink
    November 20, 2008 10:12 pm

    Your heaven sounds divine.

  5. Kyla Bea permalink
    November 20, 2008 10:26 pm

    Oh I love this!

    Ditto on the mail, Phantom exclusivity & bridal boxery.

  6. Kyla Bea permalink
    November 20, 2008 10:26 pm

    Oh I love this!

    Ditto on the mail, Phantom exclusivity & bridal boxery.

  7. Erin permalink
    November 20, 2008 10:37 pm

    There are people who prefer the Phantom movie to the show? So, so sad.

  8. Erin permalink
    November 20, 2008 10:37 pm

    There are people who prefer the Phantom movie to the show? So, so sad.

  9. Heidi permalink
    November 20, 2008 10:40 pm

    yes to american president – it may have also had some effect on my interest in politics when i was 17. yes to teaching – i was initially going to become a high school civics teacher till i realized i couldn’t get into the school of education. i was a cheerleader in 7th grade – i got cut from the team in 8th. i’ve loathed cheerleaders since.

  10. Heidi permalink
    November 20, 2008 10:40 pm

    yes to american president – it may have also had some effect on my interest in politics when i was 17. yes to teaching – i was initially going to become a high school civics teacher till i realized i couldn’t get into the school of education. i was a cheerleader in 7th grade – i got cut from the team in 8th. i’ve loathed cheerleaders since.

  11. Ben permalink
    November 20, 2008 10:57 pm

    If you put a gun to my head and told me to hum the tune of any song by Dave Matthews Band or Coldplay, I wouldn’t be able to.

  12. Ben permalink
    November 20, 2008 10:57 pm

    If you put a gun to my head and told me to hum the tune of any song by Dave Matthews Band or Coldplay, I wouldn’t be able to.

  13. Your Ill-fitting Overcoat permalink
    November 20, 2008 11:02 pm

    Grocery shopping is one of my absolute favorite tasks.

    And though I haven’t been married, I’m already annoyed at the prospect! The industry just makes everything about moneymoneymoney and it’s all on the bride and it’s just offensive and sad. I’m so afraid of succumbing to that… and I don’t even have a boyfriend right now! Ha!

    And I agree on the celebrity/fashion magazines. I can’t read them. If I even pick one up in the doctor’s office, I’m stricken with body image issues for the next week. When I avoid them, I’m a happy girl.

  14. Your Ill-fitting Overcoat permalink
    November 20, 2008 11:02 pm

    Grocery shopping is one of my absolute favorite tasks.

    And though I haven’t been married, I’m already annoyed at the prospect! The industry just makes everything about moneymoneymoney and it’s all on the bride and it’s just offensive and sad. I’m so afraid of succumbing to that… and I don’t even have a boyfriend right now! Ha!

    And I agree on the celebrity/fashion magazines. I can’t read them. If I even pick one up in the doctor’s office, I’m stricken with body image issues for the next week. When I avoid them, I’m a happy girl.

  15. Mandy permalink
    November 20, 2008 11:05 pm

    I get sad when people tell me they love Phantom of the Opera the movie and I ask if they have seen the movie and they stare at me blankly and say “its a play?”

  16. Mandy permalink
    November 20, 2008 11:05 pm

    I get sad when people tell me they love Phantom of the Opera the movie and I ask if they have seen the movie and they stare at me blankly and say “its a play?”

  17. notthelifeiordered permalink
    November 20, 2008 11:08 pm

    I die a little inside when people think Phantom of the Opera the movie is SO GOOD and they’ve never seen the play. I also refuse to read Twilight. REFUSE.

    Your heaven sounds perfect!

  18. notthelifeiordered permalink
    November 20, 2008 11:08 pm

    I die a little inside when people think Phantom of the Opera the movie is SO GOOD and they’ve never seen the play. I also refuse to read Twilight. REFUSE.

    Your heaven sounds perfect!

  19. Katelin permalink
    November 21, 2008 12:58 am

    i need a bucket list. and i still plan on being famous, it’s just that ‘how’ part is getting in the way, haha.

  20. Katelin permalink
    November 21, 2008 12:58 am

    i need a bucket list. and i still plan on being famous, it’s just that ‘how’ part is getting in the way, haha.

  21. bFlat permalink
    November 21, 2008 1:07 am

    I also never plan to read Twilight, EVER! I wish we were closer too but I get to see you in a week!!!

  22. bFlat permalink
    November 21, 2008 1:07 am

    I also never plan to read Twilight, EVER! I wish we were closer too but I get to see you in a week!!!

  23. November 21, 2008 1:15 am

    I love this. Seriously! I love that if the opportunity arose, y’all would buy a brewery. That would be AWESOME!

    And while I have read HP and Twilight, I was strongly against them back in the day. I give in too easily, apparently. πŸ˜‰

  24. November 21, 2008 1:15 am

    I love this. Seriously! I love that if the opportunity arose, y’all would buy a brewery. That would be AWESOME!

    And while I have read HP and Twilight, I was strongly against them back in the day. I give in too easily, apparently. πŸ˜‰

  25. Stephanie permalink
    November 21, 2008 2:21 am

    I love grocery shopping too. Food in general = awesomeness to me.

  26. Stephanie permalink
    November 21, 2008 2:21 am

    I love grocery shopping too. Food in general = awesomeness to me.

  27. Alexa permalink
    November 21, 2008 3:49 am

    oh my gosh, so many things i can comment on! but my favorite is that i too love to grocery shop. i find it to be the most relaxing thing ever.

    in my crazy life, taking a half hour at the grocery store makes me feel very normal : )

  28. Alexa permalink
    November 21, 2008 3:49 am

    oh my gosh, so many things i can comment on! but my favorite is that i too love to grocery shop. i find it to be the most relaxing thing ever.

    in my crazy life, taking a half hour at the grocery store makes me feel very normal : )

  29. Belle Ecrivaine permalink
    November 21, 2008 1:51 pm

    I love grocery shopping, too. My friends and roommates think that’s odd. It doesn’t help that we literally live two doors down from a 24-hour grocery store, either.

    Ditto re: teaching/dad issues.

    I wish I had a magical water bottle that made me want to exercise.

  30. Belle Ecrivaine permalink
    November 21, 2008 1:51 pm

    I love grocery shopping, too. My friends and roommates think that’s odd. It doesn’t help that we literally live two doors down from a 24-hour grocery store, either.

    Ditto re: teaching/dad issues.

    I wish I had a magical water bottle that made me want to exercise.

  31. jessica maria permalink
    November 21, 2008 3:02 pm

    I can still think Gerard Butler is hot cause he’s all manly and sings though, right??

    AND I HATE THE WEDDING INDUSTRY TOO!

    Don’t ever read Twilight. I hate myself for going past the first book. I’ve never read Harry Potter, either.

  32. jessica maria permalink
    November 21, 2008 3:02 pm

    I can still think Gerard Butler is hot cause he’s all manly and sings though, right??

    AND I HATE THE WEDDING INDUSTRY TOO!

    Don’t ever read Twilight. I hate myself for going past the first book. I’ve never read Harry Potter, either.

  33. Vanessa permalink
    November 22, 2008 3:47 am

    I adore both grocery shopping and mail. I didn’t get any mail today, not even a circular. I was so sad about it, I almost blogged about it. I know, sad huh?

  34. Vanessa permalink
    November 22, 2008 3:47 am

    I adore both grocery shopping and mail. I didn’t get any mail today, not even a circular. I was so sad about it, I almost blogged about it. I know, sad huh?

  35. Anonymous permalink
    November 22, 2008 4:24 am

    I only cry in the shower because when I was little and cried, my mother would make me sit in front of a mirror to see how ugly people looked when they cried. Nobody can hear you in a shower.

  36. Anonymous permalink
    November 22, 2008 4:24 am

    I only cry in the shower because when I was little and cried, my mother would make me sit in front of a mirror to see how ugly people looked when they cried. Nobody can hear you in a shower.

  37. Amanda permalink
    November 22, 2008 4:48 am

    I definitely always used to think there was no way I wouldn’t be famous, and every time “The American President” is on television, I have to stop and watch it.

  38. Amanda permalink
    November 22, 2008 4:48 am

    I definitely always used to think there was no way I wouldn’t be famous, and every time “The American President” is on television, I have to stop and watch it.

  39. wishcake permalink
    November 22, 2008 5:59 pm

    I adore your confessions! These posts always make me appreciate people more and more. I love when people are honest and genuine. Which, of course, you totally are!

    So, I agree with you on the celebrity gossip/body image thing (for the record, you are incredibly adorable and amazing), the Phantom of the Opera thing (I think I stole my grandma’s copy of the original cast recording – muaha!), the wedding industry thing (oh, the things I would change, looking back – I fought most of the urges to conform, but there are still things I wish I’d done differently!) and the being famous thing (how about we make our own indie flick and star in it?).

    Oh, and I don’t judge you for judging me about the Twilight thing. I judge myself a little. It’s weird, because I used to laugh in the face of the Harry Potter crazies, and here I am all vampire fixated.

    What a world.

    PS: I win the longest comment award. Booyah.

  40. wishcake permalink
    November 22, 2008 5:59 pm

    I adore your confessions! These posts always make me appreciate people more and more. I love when people are honest and genuine. Which, of course, you totally are!

    So, I agree with you on the celebrity gossip/body image thing (for the record, you are incredibly adorable and amazing), the Phantom of the Opera thing (I think I stole my grandma’s copy of the original cast recording – muaha!), the wedding industry thing (oh, the things I would change, looking back – I fought most of the urges to conform, but there are still things I wish I’d done differently!) and the being famous thing (how about we make our own indie flick and star in it?).

    Oh, and I don’t judge you for judging me about the Twilight thing. I judge myself a little. It’s weird, because I used to laugh in the face of the Harry Potter crazies, and here I am all vampire fixated.

    What a world.

    PS: I win the longest comment award. Booyah.

  41. Susie permalink
    November 23, 2008 9:54 pm

    I love this post. I read Harry Potter mostly because I wanted to be included in all the hype. Twilight not so much. Harry Potter was good writing at least and I hear Twilight barely uses proper grammar. Noo thanks!

  42. Susie permalink
    November 23, 2008 9:54 pm

    I love this post. I read Harry Potter mostly because I wanted to be included in all the hype. Twilight not so much. Harry Potter was good writing at least and I hear Twilight barely uses proper grammar. Noo thanks!

  43. bigskygirl permalink
    November 24, 2008 5:19 am

    I LOVE THE AMERICAN PRESIDENT. Hands down, greatest movie ever. All funny and smart and Michael Douglas being dapper-like. Swoon.

    Seriously, if you ever want to have a movie-quoting fest with that one, i am your girl. πŸ™‚

  44. bigskygirl permalink
    November 24, 2008 5:19 am

    I LOVE THE AMERICAN PRESIDENT. Hands down, greatest movie ever. All funny and smart and Michael Douglas being dapper-like. Swoon.

    Seriously, if you ever want to have a movie-quoting fest with that one, i am your girl. πŸ™‚

  45. *~Dani~* permalink
    November 25, 2008 3:19 am

    Totally agree about the mail, Rice Krispie treats and the lack of reading Harry Potter.

    My heaven would also include caramel though. That’s a fact.

  46. *~Dani~* permalink
    November 25, 2008 3:19 am

    Totally agree about the mail, Rice Krispie treats and the lack of reading Harry Potter.

    My heaven would also include caramel though. That’s a fact.

  47. ZenDenizen permalink
    November 26, 2008 7:34 pm

    Payless pumps rock!

  48. ZenDenizen permalink
    November 26, 2008 7:34 pm

    Payless pumps rock!

Leave a Reply

