Skip to content

Back Home Again in Illinois

November 29, 2008

I made it back alive. Thanksgiving was… interesting. I made killer deviled eggs, if I can brag for a moment. Typical fare was served and was followed by atypical pudding shots — like jello shots only pudding-y-er. (Substitute half the milk with Bailey’s or Kahlua. Fold in some whipped cream. Voila!) Add a newborn baby, a never before seen engagement ring, a missing fiance, thousands of politically incorrect references, and my mother’s pathetic Christmas tree, and you have my Thanksgiving in a nutshell.

I learned that family will never change, even if you do. I learned that bouncing a colicky newborn around the house is a great way to get exercise. I learned that pudding shots are even better with whipped cream on top. And I learned that four cups of coffee in the afternoon will stay in your system until your 3:30am Black Friday alarm goes off… and you haven’t slept a wink.

So, about that Black Friday thing… I secretly love Black Friday. I know I know, capitalism really isn’t my thing but I’m a total bargain shopper at heart. I can’t pass up a good deal. And when I saw the perfect present for Joe in a flier for half off? Well, I had to be there when the doors opened at 4, by golly! (In reality, my mom and I were giggling at Starbucks at 4am because no sleep and peppermint mochas will do that.) But the fun didn’t stop there. There were some great online sales that I hit before leaving to come back to Illinois. (Joe, don’t open any of my mail over the course of the next couple weeks. Especially that package that may or may not be coming from Apple.) And once my mother and I got into Illinois, we had to hit up even more sales. World Market had great deals (and you guys will love it, Nate and Becky!) and Cabela’s was perfect for my uncles.

Aside from stocking stuffers, I’m done Christmas shopping. And I CAN’T WAIT to start wrapping and decorating and baking!!!

Tomorrow, my mom and I are headed to see The Rockettes. If I were to ever send in a PostSecret card, it would probably be about my unrelenting desire to become a Rockette… but I’m an inch too short.

26 Comments leave one →
  1. Mandy permalink
    November 29, 2008 5:44 am

    Pudding shots? Who knew, and now that I do know, I must try them! Glad that you survived the holidays and have a fantastic time at the Rockettes!

  2. Mandy permalink
    November 29, 2008 5:44 am

    Pudding shots? Who knew, and now that I do know, I must try them! Glad that you survived the holidays and have a fantastic time at the Rockettes!

  3. jenniferalaine permalink
    November 29, 2008 1:28 pm

    Yeah, I’m definitely going to have to try these pudding shots! Black Friday sounds like a success – I’ve never shopped on Black Friday! Maybe next year when I’m back in the States… Oh, and if you REALLY want to be a Rockette – start doing Pilates… I “grew” an inch in a few months because it corrected my posture so much! Haha

  4. jenniferalaine permalink
    November 29, 2008 1:28 pm

    Yeah, I’m definitely going to have to try these pudding shots! Black Friday sounds like a success – I’ve never shopped on Black Friday! Maybe next year when I’m back in the States… Oh, and if you REALLY want to be a Rockette – start doing Pilates… I “grew” an inch in a few months because it corrected my posture so much! Haha

  5. Erin permalink
    November 29, 2008 4:07 pm

    MMM, pudding shots.

    I can’t believe you are done Christmas shopping! I have some done, but I’m still waiting for Employee Appreciation Days at Borders so we can get 40% off of everything in the store. When you have a family as big as mine, Christmas shopping takes months!

  6. Erin permalink
    November 29, 2008 4:07 pm

    MMM, pudding shots.

    I can’t believe you are done Christmas shopping! I have some done, but I’m still waiting for Employee Appreciation Days at Borders so we can get 40% off of everything in the store. When you have a family as big as mine, Christmas shopping takes months!

  7. Ashley D permalink
    November 29, 2008 5:14 pm

    I have a secret desire to be a Rockette, too. Have fun at the show!

  8. Ashley D permalink
    November 29, 2008 5:14 pm

    I have a secret desire to be a Rockette, too. Have fun at the show!

  9. Phil permalink
    November 29, 2008 7:45 pm

    I’m a total bargain hunter too! It stems from constantly being a poor, broke graduate student, but I doubt it’ll change much in the future. I’m a dedicated stimulator of the economy.

  10. Phil permalink
    November 29, 2008 7:45 pm

    I’m a total bargain hunter too! It stems from constantly being a poor, broke graduate student, but I doubt it’ll change much in the future. I’m a dedicated stimulator of the economy.

  11. Vanessa permalink
    November 29, 2008 10:38 pm

    Pudding shots? You have my attention! How did I never stumble across this idea before, I love pudding! (Headed to the pantry now)

  12. Vanessa permalink
    November 29, 2008 10:38 pm

    Pudding shots? You have my attention! How did I never stumble across this idea before, I love pudding! (Headed to the pantry now)

  13. Belle Ecrivaine permalink
    November 30, 2008 4:55 pm

    I totally finished all of my Christmas shopping yesterday. Today, I am going to be wrapping everything and loving every second of it!

  14. Belle Ecrivaine permalink
    November 30, 2008 4:55 pm

    I totally finished all of my Christmas shopping yesterday. Today, I am going to be wrapping everything and loving every second of it!

  15. andrea permalink
    December 1, 2008 3:56 am

    I just listened to a This American Life show from a few months ago called “Nobody’s Family Ever Changes.” Kinda interesting.

  16. andrea permalink
    December 1, 2008 3:56 am

    I just listened to a This American Life show from a few months ago called “Nobody’s Family Ever Changes.” Kinda interesting.

  17. December 1, 2008 4:35 pm

    I’ve never heard of pudding shots, but they sound dangerous. And something like I would enjoy if I were dealing with my family, too. *shrugs*

    I’m glad you and your mom had fun AND that you were able to get all your Christmas shopping done. I’m so jealous, you have no idea. Let me know when you start your baking and decorating because I will be on that, as well…

  18. December 1, 2008 4:35 pm

    I’ve never heard of pudding shots, but they sound dangerous. And something like I would enjoy if I were dealing with my family, too. *shrugs*

    I’m glad you and your mom had fun AND that you were able to get all your Christmas shopping done. I’m so jealous, you have no idea. Let me know when you start your baking and decorating because I will be on that, as well…

  19. Katelin permalink
    December 2, 2008 12:53 am

    i can’t believe you’re totally done with your shopping. i hit up some online stores but i am in no way finished, hopefully soon though.

  20. Katelin permalink
    December 2, 2008 12:53 am

    i can’t believe you’re totally done with your shopping. i hit up some online stores but i am in no way finished, hopefully soon though.

  21. Brandy permalink
    December 2, 2008 1:56 am

    I’m glad you got through it! I think Thanksgiving can be so tricky but there’s just SO MUCH going on at once- so many people, so much food, and usually people haven’t seen each other in a while so everyone needs to make sure that they are as offensive as possible in a really short time so everyone knows their views. Ahem. At least that’s what happens with my Thanksgiving some years!

    As for Black Friday, I guess it’s not as big of a deal in Canada, but I do know what you mean about loving a good deal. As a teenager I remember waking up on Boxing Day and getting dressed in the dark so I could go to the mall and buy Martha Stewart Home accessories at a good deal.

    I know. I was a WILD teenager.

  22. Brandy permalink
    December 2, 2008 1:56 am

    I’m glad you got through it! I think Thanksgiving can be so tricky but there’s just SO MUCH going on at once- so many people, so much food, and usually people haven’t seen each other in a while so everyone needs to make sure that they are as offensive as possible in a really short time so everyone knows their views. Ahem. At least that’s what happens with my Thanksgiving some years!

    As for Black Friday, I guess it’s not as big of a deal in Canada, but I do know what you mean about loving a good deal. As a teenager I remember waking up on Boxing Day and getting dressed in the dark so I could go to the mall and buy Martha Stewart Home accessories at a good deal.

    I know. I was a WILD teenager.

  23. That Girl permalink
    December 2, 2008 2:52 pm

    Wow. I’m amazed you’re done shopping. I just barely started. Of course, I spent my Black Friday watching a 4-year-old burn his hair on a lightbulb (long story) and driving to Indiana. So, hey. 🙂

    PS Pudding shots — brilliant!

  24. That Girl permalink
    December 2, 2008 2:52 pm

    Wow. I’m amazed you’re done shopping. I just barely started. Of course, I spent my Black Friday watching a 4-year-old burn his hair on a lightbulb (long story) and driving to Indiana. So, hey. 🙂

    PS Pudding shots — brilliant!

  25. Lexiloo permalink
    December 3, 2008 1:39 am

    deviled eggs are one of my favorite things ever. I plan on bringing them to two holiday parties this weekend….looooooove them! I have a deviled egg cookbook that I got as a gift one year…over 50 varieties!

  26. Lexiloo permalink
    December 3, 2008 1:39 am

    deviled eggs are one of my favorite things ever. I plan on bringing them to two holiday parties this weekend….looooooove them! I have a deviled egg cookbook that I got as a gift one year…over 50 varieties!

Leave a Reply

