Skip to content

Letters to Life’s Editors

December 6, 2008

Dear Etsy,
I spend more money on you than I earn. And I’m okay with that. It’s Christmas, after all. The most brilliant idea I’ve ever had was to star all the things I love and then show the Beau Named Joe how to view my favorite items. Just because I’ve spent no less than 6 hours in the past two days doing this doesn’t mean I’m a loser, does it?
Love,
The Girl Who Will Be Sporting Some Sweet Homemade Jewelry on Dec. 26

Dear Jewish folks,
I really want a menorah. I’m a lax Catholic. Is this offensive to you? No, seriously, I want to know. If I were to buy a menorah (and use it correctly), would it be disrespectful?
Love,
The Girl Who Loves Holidays SO MUCH That She Wants to Observe All of Them

Dear People I Interviewed With,
Listen, I have no backup plans. You are my only network out here. It’s either this job or Welcome to Starbucks, what can I get for you? Please spare me the espresso burns. I’ve had them before and trust me, I’d rather talk to angry constituents.
Love,
You Owe Me

Dear West Wing Fans,
I get it. I finally get it. Don’t haze me for never seeing the West Wing until this week. (The Beau and I started watching season one.) It’s genius. And you’re all right, Josh Lyman is fabulous.
Love,
The Girl That No Longer Has to Pretend She Knows What Everyone is Talking About

Dear Notre Dame Hockey,
Thank you thank you thank you for hosting a tournament so close to me! I was super bummed about missing hockey season but instead I can pay twice as much for one ticket as I did for season tickets as a student. Granted, the tickets I bought today are “Club tickets” which essentially means we get comfy seats in the fourth row behind the penalty box. LOVE IT.
Love,
The Girl That Doesn’t Understand All of the Rules in Hockey but Loves to See the Players Beat the Snot Out of Each Other

Dear Apple Pie from Joe’s Dad,
Jesus tapdancing Christ, you are delicious.
Love,
The Girl Who Doesn’t Care Your Crust is Made with Fatty Lard

Dear Readers,
I’m writing for a new blog, Rockin’ the Suburbs. I’m worried people I know may find it and inevitably find this blog. What should I do? Advice, please.
Love,
The Girl Who Really Enjoys Her Semi-Anonymity (and Basically Doesn’t Want Employers or Co-Workers to Read This)

48 Comments leave one →
  1. Rachel permalink
    December 6, 2008 11:46 pm

    Thank you for finding that blog! You should be okay for a while on the anonymity factor.

  2. Rachel permalink
    December 6, 2008 11:46 pm

    Thank you for finding that blog! You should be okay for a while on the anonymity factor.

  3. rachel permalink
    December 7, 2008 12:13 am

    i’m not jewish, but if i was? i don’t think i’d be offended by you using a menorah. i’m just sayin. πŸ™‚

    i’m off to check out your new blog! xo

  4. rachel permalink
    December 7, 2008 12:13 am

    i’m not jewish, but if i was? i don’t think i’d be offended by you using a menorah. i’m just sayin. πŸ™‚

    i’m off to check out your new blog! xo

  5. Jamie permalink
    December 7, 2008 12:31 am

    I could have written that first one myself. My etsy blog is like a giant wishlist!

  6. Jamie permalink
    December 7, 2008 12:31 am

    I could have written that first one myself. My etsy blog is like a giant wishlist!

  7. Erin permalink
    December 7, 2008 4:02 am

    I guess I really should watch The West Wing.

    I struggle with the anonymity too since I also run a website for my private therapy business…and I don’t want client or families from my school to read my blog. I just make sure that you can’t find my blog by googling my first and last name.

  8. Erin permalink
    December 7, 2008 4:02 am

    I guess I really should watch The West Wing.

    I struggle with the anonymity too since I also run a website for my private therapy business…and I don’t want client or families from my school to read my blog. I just make sure that you can’t find my blog by googling my first and last name.

  9. jessica maria permalink
    December 7, 2008 5:44 am

    I feel bad for never watching the west wing, either. BUT I SHALL!

  10. jessica maria permalink
    December 7, 2008 5:44 am

    I feel bad for never watching the west wing, either. BUT I SHALL!

  11. Phil permalink
    December 7, 2008 6:37 am

    I’m Jewish and totally not offended. I say go for it!

    Re: The Blog, I love the title! I sang that song at karaoke once, and it was awesome, like I was channeling Ben Folds.

    Re: the anonymity, I’m not sure… stick to a first-name basis? Note that you have a personal website but don’t like it? I dunno. Not much help there, am I? Sorry. 😦

  12. Phil permalink
    December 7, 2008 6:37 am

    I’m Jewish and totally not offended. I say go for it!

    Re: The Blog, I love the title! I sang that song at karaoke once, and it was awesome, like I was channeling Ben Folds.

    Re: the anonymity, I’m not sure… stick to a first-name basis? Note that you have a personal website but don’t like it? I dunno. Not much help there, am I? Sorry. 😦

  13. Arielle permalink
    December 7, 2008 2:10 pm

    Definitely not offended that you want to have a Menorah! Go for it!

  14. Arielle permalink
    December 7, 2008 2:10 pm

    Definitely not offended that you want to have a Menorah! Go for it!

  15. Maxie permalink
    December 7, 2008 5:09 pm

    I have The West Wing on my list of things I need to watch. This is just more encouragement!

  16. Maxie permalink
    December 7, 2008 5:09 pm

    I have The West Wing on my list of things I need to watch. This is just more encouragement!

  17. Amanda permalink
    December 7, 2008 5:53 pm

    I swear all my sister and I did over Thanksgiving break was watch “The West Wing.” Fantastic πŸ™‚

  18. Amanda permalink
    December 7, 2008 5:53 pm

    I swear all my sister and I did over Thanksgiving break was watch “The West Wing.” Fantastic πŸ™‚

  19. December 7, 2008 8:48 pm

    I’ve been doing the same thing on Etsy. Loves it! And I’ve bought quite a few Christmas presents from there.

    I hope you get the job! And as for keeping up with the anonymity, maybe just use your first name? *shrugs* I’m working on that for myself, but I find that when I share certain stories, anyone who knew me who read them would know it was me.

  20. December 7, 2008 8:48 pm

    I’ve been doing the same thing on Etsy. Loves it! And I’ve bought quite a few Christmas presents from there.

    I hope you get the job! And as for keeping up with the anonymity, maybe just use your first name? *shrugs* I’m working on that for myself, but I find that when I share certain stories, anyone who knew me who read them would know it was me.

  21. Katrina permalink
    December 7, 2008 10:01 pm

    I’m Jewish and also not at all offended! Hannukah is all about celebrating miracles and ALL of us can and should do that. Plus, there is something just so beautiful and … warming about the tradition and ritual of it. And the more people who get to welcome some of that light into their cold winter nights, the better :).

  22. Katrina permalink
    December 7, 2008 10:01 pm

    I’m Jewish and also not at all offended! Hannukah is all about celebrating miracles and ALL of us can and should do that. Plus, there is something just so beautiful and … warming about the tradition and ritual of it. And the more people who get to welcome some of that light into their cold winter nights, the better :).

  23. Heidi RenΓ©e permalink
    December 7, 2008 10:46 pm

    West Wing and hockey? Yeeeeessss! I got my mom the whole series on DVD for Christmas. And I am super-sad that I missed the MSU hockey team’s one trip to Massachusetts, which essentially means I won’t get to see them play this season. Boo.

    I keep meaning to add you to my reader… There, done.

  24. Heidi RenΓ©e permalink
    December 7, 2008 10:46 pm

    West Wing and hockey? Yeeeeessss! I got my mom the whole series on DVD for Christmas. And I am super-sad that I missed the MSU hockey team’s one trip to Massachusetts, which essentially means I won’t get to see them play this season. Boo.

    I keep meaning to add you to my reader… There, done.

  25. Mandy permalink
    December 8, 2008 12:03 am

    There are some Etsy shops that I have fallen in love with, the jewelry ones are my favorite. I’m not Jewish, but I have a menorah and have participated in a lot of Jewish holidays. I think Hanukkah and the story, tradition is very beautiful. AS for the new blog, use your first name and not your last name? Hope you enjoyed Wicked today!

  26. Mandy permalink
    December 8, 2008 12:03 am

    There are some Etsy shops that I have fallen in love with, the jewelry ones are my favorite. I’m not Jewish, but I have a menorah and have participated in a lot of Jewish holidays. I think Hanukkah and the story, tradition is very beautiful. AS for the new blog, use your first name and not your last name? Hope you enjoyed Wicked today!

  27. bFlat permalink
    December 8, 2008 1:18 am

    The etsy link in my blog is my big wish list. I hope Nate gets the hint….

    I’ve never seen West Wing but I will definitely have to start watching soon.

    Can’t wait for the bridal updates!

  28. bFlat permalink
    December 8, 2008 1:18 am

    The etsy link in my blog is my big wish list. I hope Nate gets the hint….

    I’ve never seen West Wing but I will definitely have to start watching soon.

    Can’t wait for the bridal updates!

  29. lfar permalink
    December 8, 2008 3:00 pm

    If you dont want the blogs to be linked you have to write with different email sign-ins or else the blog will share the same profile and its a SUPER easy link.

  30. lfar permalink
    December 8, 2008 3:00 pm

    If you dont want the blogs to be linked you have to write with different email sign-ins or else the blog will share the same profile and its a SUPER easy link.

  31. Misty permalink
    December 8, 2008 5:23 pm

    your letters were great…

    Seriously, no word from the interview yet?

    What I haven’t handmade this Christmas has come from Etsy… At least it’s justifiable indulgence. πŸ™‚

    I gave you an award on my blog…

  32. Misty permalink
    December 8, 2008 5:23 pm

    your letters were great…

    Seriously, no word from the interview yet?

    What I haven’t handmade this Christmas has come from Etsy… At least it’s justifiable indulgence. πŸ™‚

    I gave you an award on my blog…

  33. Katelin permalink
    December 9, 2008 12:01 am

    i have become such an etsy fiend lately, and have definitely sent my wishlist to the bf πŸ™‚

  34. Katelin permalink
    December 9, 2008 12:01 am

    i have become such an etsy fiend lately, and have definitely sent my wishlist to the bf πŸ™‚

  35. Alexa permalink
    December 9, 2008 2:05 am

    you know, i haven’t bought a single thing on etsy before. i think that needs to change like pronto!

  36. Alexa permalink
    December 9, 2008 2:05 am

    you know, i haven’t bought a single thing on etsy before. i think that needs to change like pronto!

  37. surviving myself permalink
    December 9, 2008 8:00 pm

    Your a hockey fan? I played for about 10 years!

    I didn’t think there were any fans left.

  38. surviving myself permalink
    December 9, 2008 8:00 pm

    Your a hockey fan? I played for about 10 years!

    I didn’t think there were any fans left.

  39. andrea permalink
    December 10, 2008 2:11 am

    I think you should be okay with your anonymity. Use only your first name and no work place names. πŸ™‚

  40. andrea permalink
    December 10, 2008 2:11 am

    I think you should be okay with your anonymity. Use only your first name and no work place names. πŸ™‚

  41. brandy permalink
    December 10, 2008 3:58 am

    Renee,

    The West Wing letter? Yeah. You know how I feel about that.

    love,

    your chief of staff.

  42. brandy permalink
    December 10, 2008 3:58 am

    Renee,

    The West Wing letter? Yeah. You know how I feel about that.

    love,

    your chief of staff.

  43. Lily permalink
    December 12, 2008 10:24 pm

    I know what you mean about anonymity and writing for another blog. I blog under my real name (consult the second half of my twitter handle) on a site that local pubs pick up and my boss is aware of.

    I don’t care if peeps here know my real name, but I don’t necessarily want traffic in the opposite direction (my boss reading the occasional posts about hookups with sexy Chilean men or the vibrator my friend just brought me). Ya know? Sounds like you do. πŸ™‚

  44. Lily permalink
    December 12, 2008 10:24 pm

    I know what you mean about anonymity and writing for another blog. I blog under my real name (consult the second half of my twitter handle) on a site that local pubs pick up and my boss is aware of.

    I don’t care if peeps here know my real name, but I don’t necessarily want traffic in the opposite direction (my boss reading the occasional posts about hookups with sexy Chilean men or the vibrator my friend just brought me). Ya know? Sounds like you do. πŸ™‚

  45. Gooseberried permalink
    December 18, 2008 1:39 am

    Totally understand about wanting to remain anonymous to your co-workers. I just discovered that a co-worker (whom I loathe) has been reading for a while. Luckily, I haven’t said anything about work. But it’s really annoying. Sometimes she checks up to three times a day! WTF?!

  46. Gooseberried permalink
    December 18, 2008 1:39 am

    Totally understand about wanting to remain anonymous to your co-workers. I just discovered that a co-worker (whom I loathe) has been reading for a while. Luckily, I haven’t said anything about work. But it’s really annoying. Sometimes she checks up to three times a day! WTF?!

  47. ZenDenizen permalink
    December 20, 2008 9:22 pm

    Great idea for a blog post πŸ™‚

    Happy Holidays (yes, all of them!

  48. ZenDenizen permalink
    December 20, 2008 9:22 pm

    Great idea for a blog post πŸ™‚

    Happy Holidays (yes, all of them!

Leave a Reply

